We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Hotel in the heart of the town.”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spacious and clean rooms. Staff was always helpful. A bit noisy from the bars and hotels around. Pool-cascade starts quite early and wakes you up. Lots of bars and restaurants within 200m footwalk. Great place to stay when you plan activities around Playa.
There are cheaper Hotels with similar service around but we would recommend the Lunasol anyways.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rettenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

5 of us stayed there for a night, but we also came back to return a hire car there later. Both times the people on reception (Roberto and Nancy) were cheerful and friendly, and they couldn't have been more helpful, despite some of our unusual requests.
It is a beautiful hotel, with great rooms (with outside terraces) nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, lovley planting, and a gorgeous pool , complete with a clean and well-equipped poolside kitchen for the guests to use. There is always drinking water available, and in the mornings, free coffee .
It would be hard to think of anything bad to say about this hotel, except that it's hard to drag yourself away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Lunasol Easter week 2012 and give it full marks.Its a small hotel with an excellent location,2 minutes from 5th ave.The pool area was very good with an outdoor kitchen so the kids can play while you prepare meals.The hotel,being small,also means there isn't to many people poolside.Rarely more than 3 or 4 people, so that's hard to beat.There's free coffee and that comes in handy for the early risers.The staff was one of the best in my many trips to Mexico,excellent English,very helpful and polite.There was always at least one in the front lobby,day and night.The price was very affordable for us,2 adults and 2 kids in one room.There was no noise issues at night due to location but still a very good area as local transportion,shopping and restaurants all within 2 or 3 blocks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sllim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is nice. Reminds me of a hotel I stayed in Costa Rica. The location is ideal, close to 5th, the beach, the ferry and Walmart or even better the large grocery just past Walmart.
Many good restaurants in the vacinity, both locals and tourist menus.
The pool area is quiet and restful, beautifully kept.
The community kitchen is a wonderful idea, I wish more had one.
I think my only gripe would be the towels which seemed to be stained, (probably makeup), and a little ragged.
Overall I rate this little hotel very highly and will stay again.

Room Tip: I liked the first floor on the pool. Walk out and slip in the water.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The price is more than interesting, ideally placed next to the 5th and 4th street ( The pumping heart of playa del carmen's night life) LunaSol has some of the frendliest personnel I've ever encountered, the room equipment could be better though, but the overall ambiance more than makes up for it , but then again if you go to playa Del carmen it's more than likely that you'll only be needing your hotel room to sleep at night ( or early in the morning ). I definitely recomend Lunasol.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordHenryWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have 3 young children and stayed at Hotel LunaSol in January. It was an awesome place to stay. I would definitely recommend it for the following reasons: We felt totally safe and secure, it is tastefully decorated, it is very clean and tidy, there is a great little pool/garden area, it is in perfect location, and the staff were absolutely amazing in that they were professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

While staying in Cozumel I visited Playa Del Carmen. I had planned to go for a day visit, but I enjoyed this Caribbean Beach Paradise so much that I stayed three days. To my good fortune, I found LunaSol Hotel, Fokes this place is the Bomb!!! Since I travel alone and on a budget, I was not expecting to find such an up scale, roomy and clean Hotel. My floor level room included a refrigerator, nice quite air conditioner safe, patio and a nice bathroom with seperate toliet and a walk-in shower large enough for three people. The patio included two chairs, table and over-looked a perfectly landscaped garden area. The entire Hotel was landscaped to perfection with shade trees, sitting areas and very, very clean. The Pool is exceptional!!! with two level water-fall and deep enough for diving. It included a childrens area and get this,was partly shaded with large shade trees and a complete community kitchen. This kitchen included a full size refrigerato, stove, micowave, tosters, blender, cooking untiles, dishes and silverware, sink and everyuthing you need for complete meals. I can't say enough good about this area to give it the justice it deserves. The service was also excellent. Eric the evening clerk was polite, knowledgeable of the area and helpful. This Hotel is about 2 1/2 blocks from the beach and 5th Street and Main tourist shopping area. Restauants, and services are all within walking distance. The price is less than a Motel Six in the states, This is my Place to stay from this visit forward. I highly recomend this Hotel. .

Room Tip: Discuss price and room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJess007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#75 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#32 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#64 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $76 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing