We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was a great find. A couple of blocks from 5th ave meant that we avoided the noise that comes with late night revelry. A garden like enclosed courtyard offers a small pool and feels about 10 degrees cooler that outside. Very helpful staff, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    87
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
160
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We were given the worst rooms I think at the hotel. Rooms 9 and 12 facing the street. Now we know why you have to give the full amount which is very unusual in Mexico because seeing the rooms you would have gone elsewhere. We booked elsewhere in the same month and only had to give a deposit. We were brushed off by Rollande the first night of our stay and in the morning she totally ignored us which now makes sense. I guess she knew and did not want to deal with our complaints. I must say that the front desk staff and the location is the only positive thing about this "Hotel/Motel". For a $120.00 cdn. a night, this was a complete disaster.

We are suspicious about most of the ratings for this Hotel/Motel this was to good to be true. This is only a 2 star and not a five star like some of the reviews we read. They say that we are not treated as a number but we were treated as we did not exist.

The door of the room was full of cracks and openings. We were able to see the sun shining from he inside. Bugs were crawling from underneath. We left at 6 am the last day, we were infested with ants and other unknown bugs. We know this is a tropical climate and we know that bugs are frequently seen if you keep food in your room, that was not our case we did not have any food at all and we were on the second floor. Mildew on the shower floor and a run down shower head. Very dim room and a hook to keep the screen from opening. Very small room for the price which the sheets were clean but the cushions were stained and a hard mattress.

We sent an e-mail a few days before our arrival to make sure that they were expecting us with details of our arrival but they never answered back. We were suppose to say for 3 weeks but thank God we didn't. We know they will reply but let pictures speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Better hotels in Playa for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Gérant at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Rick and Louise,

We are very sorry that you didn't had a good stay with us.
Can we please ask you if you made a formal complain while you where here and to who?
We will really like to know this information to give the appropriate follow up.

If you didn't liked the location of your room, did you ask to change of room? I see that we had availability during your stay. It would have been our pleasure to change the location of the room to your convenience.

For your comment about Rollande... she wasn't inform of any complains from you so she couldn't intentionnaly have ignored you. You arrived at the begginning of the month... perhaps she was preoccupied about the accountancy...or about the new system programmation that she was working on. We are very sorry if you felt she didn't treat you right. She probably saw that the frontdesk clerk was taking good care of you and she didn't felt your need to have her taking care of you too. Again, we are very sorry about that.

For the ants, we do some fulmigation on a regular basis. If there was no food or dirty dishes, or sand from the beach in the room... I do not anderstand why you got some. We willl definitely make a full inspection of both rooms to be sure that there's no problem.

Hard matress: like we wrote before, we are taking care of this right now. By today, 11 of the 16 rooms have our new overmatress to make it softer. And in a few days all rooms must be done. If you had told the frontdesk about it, we would have put a foam on your matress.

For the shower head and tube: we actually changed some this week . We will make sure that the one you mentionned have been changed too.

For futur guests who read this comment, please, please..... if you have any suggestions or complains or need something extra during your stay.... please inform us at the moment so that we can take action and make your stay unforgettable and perfect. If you do not tell us, we cannot do nothing. It's at your advantage to tell us right away....so your vacations/stay won't be affected because we will definitely do everything in our power to make your stay as perfect as it should be.

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a 16 room hotel, with security, close to 5th Avenue, but away from the hustle. Friendly staff, eager to help, we stayed a total of 13 nights. Drinking water available at the front desk, and coffee supplied 8.00 a.m till noon. Rooms have fridges, and there is a kitchen close to the pool, which can be used by all the guests, we did not use it much, but was handy, and pretty well used by other guests. All rooms have individual air conditioners. Most rooms have two double beds, only 4 have king size beds, so when booking make sure you know what you are getting. The downside was the hard beds!! Although another guest let us know that toppers were available, which we asked for and got, not perfect, but better. A small amount of toiletteries are supplied, shampoo, conditioner, and a small block of soap, however not replaced, you have to ask at the front dest. A close walk to the beach, hotel supplies beach after leaving a refundable deposit. Wireless internet available throughout the hotel, although the connection was variable, sometimes very good, and other times very weak. Unfortunately we had a smoker in the room below us, so sitting out on the balcony the smoke came up. Overall an exellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Good and bad with each, personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Sheena,
Thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We took in note your comment about the beds and we are trying to get something that will stay on the beds but that will be removable if someone prefer an harder bed.
We look forward to welcome you again in our littel paradise.

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have traveled to PDC many times over the years and have transitioned from the all-inclusive resorts to the boutique hotels in the heart of town. Don't be intimidated to make this move if you really want to experience Mexico. You need to be careful of your choice though. The nearly world famous 5th Avenue can put forth a mild roar, even on weeknights. LunaSol, is just the right combination. Not too close, not too far. You will also be pleased with all of the great places right on the street: Diving - Playa Scuba, Dining - Carboncitos, Las Brisas, Manny's. You should also check out the C-store next door to north (Super Chiquitta?). You are also very close to the Collectivo stands on Calle 2 - maybe 100 meters.

Our room had 2 double beds sitting on the typical Mexican cement bases. The matresses are rather firm. Apparently they have foam toppers if requested, but we did not need them. The one thing in the entire stay I thought was substandard were the sheets. They are a little "crispy" compared to even average US standards, but this was a small blemish. Due to the spacious floor plan (we had #7 right by the pool), excellent water pressure, nice built-in cabinets, a safe, good lighting and fridge etc., we give the rooms high marks. I would note that our lower level room could be less private for some, so discuss this with the hotel. You may prefer a 2nd floor room or not right by the pool - ours was just a few steps from the pool and kitchen but just fine with us. I would also note there was NEVER a smell of mold or mildew which is a major problem in this climate.

The amenities are good, including the fully equipped shared palapa style kitchen, comlimentary water, coffee and beach towels (if you leave a deposit of $20 US per towel). We exchanged daily, but I believe you could do it more often if needed.

The staff is excellent. The front desk can help with tours and everything from taxis to dining or directions. The housekeeping is daily and spotless. The pool has nice furniture and was very clean during our stay. The waterfall helps nearly block all daytime noise as well. An under rated benefit not mentioned by many, is the nighttime guard who sits by the locked front gate. This isn't really an issue in PDC, but just another level of service.

I suppose you can find cheaper, but after nearly 15 stays in PDC, this is an ideal location a secure property, clean and comfortable rooms and an excellent staff. Unless you require a beach view, this one is a winner. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is closer to pool, 2nd level is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Tonyandk,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place. I guess that after 15 trips down here, you have a good idea of the accomodation here in Playa so it's an honnor for us to see how much you liked our place.

Thanks to mentionned our good location... 5th avenue can really be noisy and in LunaSol it's quiet and only 3 minutes walk from the 5th avenue.

For our matress, we are checking right now to find something to put permanently on the matress to make it softer....but also something that we can take off if someone require a harder matress.

For the sheets, we only use 250 hilos per inch bedding. Normally hotels use the 150 hilos per inch sheets. The 250 hilos sheets are higher quality, but it also means that they are thicker...
We also change all our beddings at the beginning of each year... a newer sheet may fell less soft then an old one.

I'm also glad that you wrote that there's no bad smell in our hotel. That's an issue that is very important for us with our tropical climate!

We really hope to welcome you again in our little paradise soon!

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the LunaSol for 8 nights and were completely happy with our choice. The hotel is well situated, not too close from the crazy 5th ave but close enough to reach the beach after a 5 minutes walk. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful while Nancy, the owner, is very charming. Rooms are clean. The hotel is quiet and the pool area with a fully equiped kitchenette is very convenient for pool side breakfasts. Finally, little details like free wi-fi, drinking water and even umbrellas when the weather turns bad make the LunaSol a great Hotel that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelPeteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear PixelPete,

Thanks to have took the time to write us a review!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also our service.

Hopefully next time you'll come it won't be rainy and you won't need the umbrellas! ;)

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

It is my 3rd time at the Hotel Lunasol and once again: WOW!

This is the perfect hotel when you come in Playa, it is without any hesitation the cleanest hotel I have been to. The staff is always there to help you. They brought us towel when we came back from the beach all wet from the rain, they even gave me a Bottle a wine on my B-day with a nice card, made our reservations in the restaurants. Really the staff is the best.

The kitchen in the garden in a paradise to have breakfast and late diner as well. The pool in the best place to relax after a day at the beach. What's better then a 5@7 (happy hour) at the pool with a delicious XX. Every room has a little fridge to keep your beer, wine, vodka cold. (It is good also for the milk and the juice for the morning :O)

This is THE BEST HOTEL in Playa, do not hesitate and book here. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: I love the room on the first floor by the pool the #5 is the best. (but has 2 bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Ms. Bernèche,

Thanks again for you perfect review!

I guess we will have to put your name on the door of a room here! ;)

We really appreciate your fidelity!

We looks forward to welcome you again to your mexican home!

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Booked on line through hotels.com then found out it is rated #1 in its class on Trip Advisor it is almost perfect for everything. We were greeted by friendly staff who were waiting for our arrival. Check in was flawless and we were helped to our room with our bags. We had room #6 which backs onto the pool court yard and made it really easy to take our supplies to the communal kitchen to cook. Lots of people used the kitchen but we never felt we could not go in and cook right along side others. I believe the communal kitchen plays a part in the whole experience we cooked and met some really great people one family went fishing and caught a 50lb Amber Jack then brought it back to the hotel and cooked for everyone that night. Thanks for sharing Michele and Patrick :D The hotel owners joined us for dinner that night both Rolland and Nancy are very friendly and welcoming.That then prompted another guest to put on an Italian dinner for everyone (very tricky with only 2 decent sized pots, lots of little pots but when cooking for 20 Jason you did a fantastic job) Many of the guests we met were repeat customers and I can see why. The staff is so friendly and always willing to help and look stuff up for you. The towel art is amazing the bedding is luxurious and crisp. Coffee is on every morning to start your day plus you can get hot and cold water purified at anytime. The pool was clean and refreshing but don't let the look of a hot tub fool you it is not heated it is just a jacuzzi. If you get there and wonder why the raised area in the middle we asked and found out there is a big rock under it and it could not be removed when they hand dug the pool. The little kitchen is awesome lots of cutlery and dishes. The stove is a ceran top and there is a large fridge(plus a little one in your room). The pantry has some communal supplies like salt and oil. There are 2 toasters and a blender plus a broiler pan. The no stick frying pans have seen better days not all people know how to clean them properly.

Luna sol is only 3 blocks to the water and has a beach club arrangement with Wicky's if you purchase 100 peso's of food per person you get a beach chair for the day for free (umbrella's extra) we did use this once but found the beach club right at the end of 4th on the left a better deal. It is closer we paid 100 peso's for 2 chairs and an umbrella for the whole day plus they did not pester you to buy something we then could walk back to the hotel and make lunch.

The collectivo stand is just one block over on 2 which is perfect for doing day trips only 30 peso's to go south to Akumal (free snorkeling from the beach if you have your own equipment) or Tulum only 57 peso entrance fee.

to go north to Puerto Moreles is only 20 peso's (worth the trip to snorlel the park)

Across the street is a fantastic little fish taco stand and if you need a good cup of coffee you can get it one block down towards the beach at Casa Tucan.
There is a little grocery store right next door for supplies and if you need veggies another one 2 doors down. But if you want bigger shopping Walmart ,Aqi and Mega are only 6 blocks away. Everything is walking distance from this perfect location. 5th Avenue is the big shopping touristy area lots of trendy restaurants and bars. We did look around at other hotels in the area but could not convince ourselves that we could stay in them. Lunasol is so clean. We normally go to a new destination each year but after going to Lunasol we are considering going there every second year that way we don't give up the idea of seeing the whole world but also would also get that awesome Lunasol experience again and again.

If there is a downfall I would say it was the beds they are quite hard but if you ask at the desk they will give you a topper it helps a bit but we missed our brand new pillowtop.

Room Tip: If you like to cook yourself room six has easy access to the kitchen plus the back door seems to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Cblakey,

This review is wonderful...so complete!

I'd like to let you know that we are seeing the issue of the beds right now so next time you'll come, it should feel softer!

We are glad that you enjoyed the ''family dinners''. This is why we did this kitchen. We love that people can meet there, share experiences, etc.

It also feel very flattering to read that you are now considering to come each 2 years when normally you change destination.

We really hope to see you in 2 years...or before!

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#66 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Property: Hotel LunaSol
Address: Calle 4 Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing