We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here after not being able to find the place we had planned to stay at. The Quebec and Canadian flags outside were what did it for us and who knew it was the top rated in this category.

The front staff are both very friendly and extremely helpful. We had just spent a week at a 5 star all inclusive resort and based on the service you couldn't tell the difference.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Clark_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Matt_Clark,

Thanks for your review!

Thanks to mentionned that we have the quality standar that you were looking for and also that you felt like our staff is as good as the 5 stars all-inclusive resort!
This means a lot to us!

We hope to welcome you again in our little paradise!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 381 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a hotel for a quiet vacation. The rooms were great, and the outdoor area, were lovely. Perfect size pool, and a outdoor kitchen. You do not need to go to any restaurants, just stay in an enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sphere68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I chose this hotel because it got good ratings on trip advisor and I wanted to make sure that my family and I would have a hassle free and relaxing vacation. It was a great choice and we enjoyed our stay tremendously, especially the exceptional attentiveness of the staff. We felt really taken care of and got great tips for visiting cenotes and beaches that interested us. Since we were there in off season we often had the pool all to ourselves when we came back from our excursions around the area. The pool was a big treat to be able to cool off and relax by its side.
Our rooms were quiet and very pleasant with really tasteful decor and the little balcony was a nice feature.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private, downstairs rooms poolside let you walk out of your room and jump in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMWWSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I sayed at LunaSol in August. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a large fridge in the room that came in handy for drinks etc. The pool area was very nice.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left by our cheerful maid.

We loved the location. Easy walk to the beach, 5th Ave and all the restaurants and bars, but also an easy walk back to 30th Ave where the authentic Mexican restaurants are located.
We took the ADO bus from Cancun to Playa Del Carmen this time. It only cost $11 each and the bus was very nice and air conditioned. The hotel was an easy three block walk from the bus station.

Last but not least, the hotel rates were very good.

Room Tip: I recommend getting one of the upper rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jgs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hotel LunaSol and it couldn't have been better. The hotel is set back the perfect from the main tourist street in Playa - maybe a 5 minute walk - so you can easily get to the tourist hot-spots, but far enough away so you don't have to. The staff is very friendly and helpful, often going out of their way to enhance our time there. The room was very smartly set up with everything you need and the courtyard is one of the most intimate and impressive outdoor spaces I have seen. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - if you are looking for a relaxing place with the best accessibility here is where you should be!

Thanks Nancy, Victor and Team we can't wait to be back!
Abbie & Zeb

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor - its so nice to be able to open your sliding glass door and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekyburro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed there twice. Very good place to stay. Only rooms but quiet garden with pool.
The staff (Victor) is very kind and helpful. We can recommend this place.
If you have more questions you can always mail the Netherlands: paultijdeman@home.nl. We stayed here with two teenagers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Propriétaire at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear Paul,
Thanks to have took the time to write your review.
We really appreciate it!
Sorry for the delay in the answer, I had to go for a few weeks in Canada...
We hope that you and your family had a good trip back home.
Repeat clients, like you, are the best advertising we can have so thanks again to have took the time to write a little something. It really means a lot to us!
When do you plan to come back?

We keep in touch to plan your next vacations!

Nancy and Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for more than 2 weeks at the LunaSol, and to say it in one sentence: it was from the beginning to the end just perfect.
It all begins with the friendly and competent staff at the reception (Victor, Aldon, Nancy), that gives you a warm welcome and who are there for you, no matter what you need (informations for restaurants, sight- seeing, taxi, etc). There are 16 rooms. Our room was very big (with 2 beds), clean, in a good condition, with a big shower made out of stones, with a big refridgerator, AC and fan. All rooms are very close to the nice and clean pool, that gets cleaned almost daily. Next to the pool, there are enough chairs for relaxation in the sun. Next to the pool there is also a nice open kitchen with a bar, that is very comfortable. There are toasters, an oven, and a big fridge for the guests. Also there are a lot of dishes, that can be used by the guests. At the reception you can get drinking water 24 hours.
The hotel is located about max 5 minutes from the beach, just go straight down the street and you´ll get to the beach. Around the hotel, there are a lot of different restaurants and bars (mexican, italian etc).
We really enjoyed our stay and we are happy that we´ve choosed the right hotel!!!
Thank you very very much!!!
David & Trinidad

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DATRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meancy, Propriétaire at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear David and Trinidad,
Thanks to have took the time to write a review.
I really appreciate it.
I'm sorry for the delay to answer, I was out of Mexico for a few weeks.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us!
It was nice to speak with you every day at the frontdesk about everything... life here, life in Europe, diving, etc.
We trully hope to welcome you again very soon!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#32 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#61 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $76 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing