We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Ranked #100 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but too noisy”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good points:
1. Great food
2. Good infrastructure (gym, beach, pools, etc.)
3. Staff always willing to help

Bad impressions:
1. Too much noise coming from outside, the corridor and the neighbour rooms (we stayed on the 3rd floor of a 4 floor building, unit 6). The 2 and 3 floor buildings might be better.
2. Aweful cocktails (too sweat, with juices made from concentate...). General atmoshere in the bars is a bit cheesy
3. Bad experience with Canjet. Our flight was delayed with no valuable explanation for more than an hour for both in and out flights

Room Tip: Deluxe Garden View room are noisy. The 2 and 3 floor units seem to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,957
    3,466
    1,628
    781
    661
See reviews for
2,510
4,366
174
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,039)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Traveled from Calgary via Westjet from Dec 21 to Dec 28, 2013.

Pros: friendly staff, tasty food, lots of pool chairs, hot sun, fabulous bartenders/servers, DJ on the beach at night, fun times at the Swing Bar, live band at the sports bar, room cleaned well with towel art everyday (we also tip well everyday), fitness centre, and we felt safe the entire time.

Cons: Mold in the shower and on the curtains, ocean was rocky and murky.

We never got approached for time share, and we enjoyed the walk to and from the beach. Unless you are elderly or injured, it really isn't a far walk :)

Overall we had an amazing time. It is not a 5 star resort. It would score better if there wasn't mold in the shower and if the ocean was nicer to swim in.

Would I return? Absolutely.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank PEItoYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me and my buddies went last feb. The food was above average,the service was pretty good. The resort is pretty clean and the rooms. The beach are very bad lots of rocks and seaweeds. There's no disco bar so if you want to party you have to go to playa del carmen which is awesome nightlife, cab ride is 20$ one way. Also i didn't like the bus service in the resort,it was a long wait so you had to walk pretty far from point A to point B because it's a big resort.Our safe in our room was broken,it was locked with all our passports in it.Luckly they manage to get it open (that's how safe these thing are).The theater intertainement was pretty brutal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I highly recommend this resort to families, singles, couples... Everyone. I'm not a resort person , but came for a wedding and I have to say that it exceeded my expectations. I loved the food, service was professional respectful and friendly. The rooms are nice and never once did I feel unsafe. You read issues about safes being broken into etc...in reviews of other hotels, and not one person of the 75 guests that travelled for the wedding had this issue. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I definitely would never recommend this hotel to anyone especially a family. First the resort is way to big 9 buildings of rooms. From our room location it took over 5 minutes to walk to the beach.The beach was very disappointing, it was always covered in seaweed and garbage and there was only about 6 cabanas so no where to get out of the sun if you wanted too. The breakfast and lunch buffet weren't bad but the dinner one was always terrible. The a la carte's weren't the greatest either, we went to the sea food one and you had to pay $40 if you wanted a lobster tail which I think is ridiculous. We stayed in the garden view rooms which were always so noisy especially late at night with drunk people screaming and yelling constantly and the walls were paper thin you can hear everything in the room beside you!! There also is no disco or night club in the resort which I found very surprising since its such a big resort, so at night time theres nothing much to do besides sit in the sports lounge which will take you about 20 min to get a drink. There was also nothing to do when it rained besides sit in the sports bar which gets packed quickly, they aren't too prepared for the rain they should have some sort of entertainment or games to play while its raining. The hotel rooms only stock beer in the fridge which sucks if you don't drink beer and you have to pay for the bottles of vodka that are in the room if you use them. The only good thing about this resort was the staff they were always friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Instead of traveling to the Southeast for the holidays, we decided to meet our family at this resort. We had been to several resorts on the Riveria Maya and loved each one until this one. Unfortunately you can imagine our embarrassment when we chose this resort for our family.

We arrived late after traveling all day from California. We had added the travel agent transport at the last minute and ended up waiting over an hour for a van. When we arrived the check in desk was very disorganized and it was unclear where a line formed as several people kept cutting us off and going to speak with the agents. We finally figured out the line and checked in to find our "purchased" upgraded package was 2 double beds. We asked for anything, even further upgrades to get a king and were told there were no king beds remaining. They told us to come to check in at 9:30am the next morning to inquire about a king.

When we went to check our room we opened the door to be blasted by very intense bleach smell. We immediately opened the doors, turned the fan and air on to try to vent the room. In our opinion this room was worse than the ver low budget motel. Our bags still hadn't arrived so we went to dinner at the only available restaurant buffet. Bottom line, all the food was horrible. I couldn't finish my dinner after getting soap in my mouth from the lettuce in the salad.

It was a horrible night. We didn't get any sleep due to the bleach and how cold it was in 2 separate beds, tried to get in 1 double but it didn't work. We tiredly went to the concierge at the front of building 5 to inquire about another room and were told a king (or any other room)wouldn't be available for 3 more days. We wanted to cry as our family members were coming in that day send we wanted them to have a much better experience.

We still went to the front desk and asked for a king. By contrary the clerk said someone had just checked out of a suite if we wanted to take a look. He didn't tell us the price of the upgrade, but upon seeing it, we knew we had no other option but to upgrade. Ultimately this upgrade cost another $100 a night making the the total cost of our vacation exceed the cost of a recent 5 star at Valentin Imperial. The room still left much to be desired. We couldn't get the air to consistently work. The remote didn't work one Tv an we never got new coffee packets in our room refresh.

The food was the worst we have had, even at the restaurants. The alcohol must be watered down as even top shelf liquor produced poor quality drinks. There is also only one beer available at the whole resort and it is the quality of Budweiser. The quality of the food was further determined after we went to Playa and had fantastic food and drinks.

Bottom line, don't stay here, they don't care about their business and I only hope they finally read these reviews to understand how horrible their property is and should fell guilty about taking people's good earned money for such a terrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliDiver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Amazing resort We did it as an Apple Tour....great value !!
Pools and Spa was Excellent Really enjoyed both !!

Bars Excellent Top notch great name brand liquors. Can make any drink.

Rooms Very nice, clean good in room bar. Excellent

Theme Rest. Super Food and choices French was best!!. Buffet was great dessert very good

Room Tip: Water spa need some work. Things that worked were fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPMOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
20.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
6.8 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,284 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Property: BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing