We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,469)
Filter reviews
10,469 results
Traveler rating
3,268
3,806
1,780
855
760
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,268
3,806
1,780
855
760
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue bayswing barwhite barsports barseafoodjaal haa la carte restaurantssmaller poolfestival buffetbeautiful lagoonfrench restaurantbreakfast and lunchmain poolstayed in buildingdinner showtime shareother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
4,124 - 4,129 of 10,469 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Bay for a week at the end of April 2013 for our honeymoon, we were a bit nervous about going after reading all the bad reviews. Once we arrived at the Blue Bay we were welcomed with drinks at check in and taken to our room. We were in building 5 on the 4th floor it was clean, the fridge was full (and replenished every day), the fixtures and fitting's weren't old or worn and a nice towel art was made on our bed every day. The pool was lovely and constantly being cleaned by the pool boy's, there was also plenty of sun loungers. We tried the Italian and steak house restaurant's they were both very nice every other night we went to the buffet that was also nice with a wide variety of foods to choose from. The staff at the hotel are all pleasant and friendly, they were constantly cleaning, tidying and asking if we needed anything. We didn't spend much time on the beach as the water was a little seaweedy the sand was ok tho.
At no point through out our stay at the Blue Bay did we feel that we had to tip no one made us feel we had to and we still got great service :)
We had an amazing holiday would definitely go back to the Blue Bay x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateKevWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda for a week at the end of April, 2013. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this resort. It was very well kept, staff was always cleaning everything! The rooms were cleaned and the refrigerator stocked every day. Staff was very friendly and polite. The food was awesome! Loved the themed restaurants - French, Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oriental. Very elegant dining. Men had to wear slacks and women got a bit fancy. It was fun to get dressed up for dinner for a change! The buffet for breakfast and lunch had so many things to choose from that we had a hard time deciding what to eat. Never got bored with the selection, which was a bit different every day. I think we both gained weight during our stay! The pool was fantastic! Just huge and plenty of chairs. Loved the swing bar by the beach! The beach is rather narrow and did have some debris in the water but that changes with the weather. Still very enjoyable. Also many lounge chairs on the beach and some welcome shade. jOverall, an awesome stay and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a building near the main pool. Loved it! It was fun to sit on the patio and watch the "tejones" and the people walking by.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This resort was amazing! The room, staff, food and drinks were definitely equal to this resort's star rating. I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever, the only downfall was the weather at the time of our trip, which no one can control. Looking forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I travelled with my wife and and another couple and we went the end of April. The food was delicous, we got to try all the al a carte except the french one. The buffet for the breakfast was great, I had omelettes all week, I had to go and tip the omelette girl at the end of the week. All I gotta say is everything was amazing, will definately be going back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great resort, except for the beaches small and kind of rocky.Food was average to good.....could have more sea food and traditional Mexican at the buffet.The Italian a la carte was very disappointing.The drink were pretty good, after I told them not put there sugary liquid in the drink...good selection of international brand.The whole site is spotless always someone cleaning....The staff are very kind and friendly!!!The place is kind of far to do excursion..You really have to be up early to do them,cause often the first resort to be pick-up by the tours operators.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slyberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews