We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Grand Esmeralda to your Saves list
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15 % discount
Ranked #89 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just came back from the BBGE last night and our stay was wonderful! Here are some pro's:

Service: very good, the wait staff and the cleaning service were all there to help in the snap of a finger. We did tip the cleaning staff everyday, and received great service. Our room was cleaned everyday before 1-2 pm which was great because we were at the pool during this time. Bar staff was awesome and always there to suggest their fav drinks and shots!

Pool area: Very clean and I didn't find the pool to have many cracks. I know some people were complaining about the temp and it must have been the time of the year, because the temp was perfect!

Beach area: Again wonderful and really nice white sand. We found that the ocean was pretty clear about 2 days out of 7 days. We did go in on the clear days and enjoyed the warmth of the water. Other days, we took a stroll to the lagoon, which was to the left of the resort. Very nice!

My room tip: Be sure to email them if you have any specific wants. For instance, I emailed the hotel aboout a month before the trip and let them know that if possible I would like a higher level floor and I received it! The staff is really amazing, and I'm not sure why people complain so much.... .the vacation was pure paradise! Oh and food- never boring and the a la carte restaurants were superb!

Thanks for a great birthday stay Blue Bay!

Room Tip: Building 5 was a fantastic location, close to the main pool and beach. Ocean View from balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    2,828
    1,374
    664
    549
See reviews for
1,970
3,620
135
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,681)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Az.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited the BlueBay Esmeralda from Oct. 31 to Nov. 5. I found the service, cleanliness of room and pool area, grounds and friendliness of staff to be first rate. The Buffet foods were varied and plentiful but were average in flavor and type. Most of the dishes were rather bland and seemed to be "flavored/spiced down" in order to cater to tourists. The Mexican dishes, as example, were limted in number and not very tasty.
Other reviewers complained about the beach area being sandbagged and the water murkey. There was a certain amount of that, but the beach was still more than adequate in scope and the waters were somewhat stirred up from the currents, but a person can go to the pool. The lagoon/inlet that is a ten minute walk away is worth the walk.
The room was always well cleaned and the fridge stocked. The tub enclosure had an edge that was at least 1 1/2 feet high and would be impossibe to negotiate for any person with leg issues. Likewise the general architecture of the Sports Bar/Theater area is unattractive and poorly designed. The Theater is long and has a low ceiling, which is very unattractive. Speaking of evening shows, the quality is inferior to similar quality resorts.
In sum, the Esmeralda is a good resort for those who do not mind being six miles away from Playa del Carmen and who want to stay at a place that is low-keyed and relaxing. If you want to party, choose another resort or brace yourself for some hefty taxi fees. Day tours and excursions are available for booking at the resort. All in all, Esmeralda is a bargain with the limits in mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank johnlemonPayson_Az_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to bluebay at the end of October and had a wonderful time! After reading some of the reviews I was nervous about what to expect..Here is what we experienced...the enterance to the hotel starts the wow factor! It's beautiful and well manicured...we booked through rci as an exchange and were treated to VIP treatment..it was pretty cool...don't get me wrong,even without VIP we would have had the same great time..the only difference was we were allowed on a different section of the beach which we didn't use anyway...we were booked into a 2 bedroom in the coba building by the beach...really great rooms!! Loved being by the beach...there is the big pool...a quiet side and an activity side...we played water volleyball and had a blast! We went to one ala cart restaurant ...didnt like it! We much preferred the buffet! There is so much to choose from! We went to the lagoon down the beach..it was really pretty but it had super strong currents!! I recommend going into town a couple of nights and trying the restaurants there as well! There is a great little baked potato restaurant on the corner!! We loved it.. The service at the hotel was fantastic!!! We believe in tipping even though it's all inclusive..the people who work there work very hard and don't make a lot of money! The only place we didn't like very much was the swing bar! Go figure ...there was very little service and the bartenders seemed miserable! Not that big of a deal! My tips for anyone going there is to get a room by the beach...And treat people there kindly..they are working to make your vacation as excellent as possible! And definatly go downtown to playa del Carmen!!! Don't be afraid of the bad reviews! Some people just don't know how to enjoy a vacation! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank trixieandferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

At this all inclusive resort I found that the entertainment was STRONGLY lacking but everyone tried their best. If you are planning to eat at any of the restaurants make early reservations, all the food taste burned later on in the night. The breakfast buffet was my favorite meal. Bring money for excursions as they are plenty and fun. The hotels are beautiful and the beds are adorned with animal towels every morning by the courteous staff. BRING A LOT OF REPELLANT. Ladies beware of the sneaky guys that try to get you drunk at the bar. The grounds are very spacious and beautiful with wildlife roaming constantly. Very nice spa package.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be pretty much the same. There's a shuttle that will carry you in the dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekah718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First off I would like to say that Mexico is the best. Yes, you do need to stay in the resort and is not a locale where one who likes to explore the natives of the land would enjoy but Mexico is great. The service in Blue Bay was great. The workers diligently worked to make sure that you enjoyed your stay. They were very friendly and I felt that their kindness, their hard work, and generosity was sincere. I enjoyed every moment of it.

The resort is clean. There is a large amount of food and a large amount of drink choices. They also have a few a- la- carte restaurants which serve really great food. To give you an example of the service in regards to the food- my husband ordered a steak and he finished it and wanted another one. He ordered it and the food was ready for him in less than ten minutes. They did not show that they were upset about it or that it was out of the ordinary. They quickly serviced him. They also have a fancy French themed restaurant that served beautiful dishes that were very tasty. That restaurant requires you to dress nicer.

We went there during the holiday break and the hotel sent a bottle of tequila and two shot glasses for us for new year's eve. That was a nice and unexpected touch.

The only negative I had about Blue Bay was that the room was cold. There were also not a large amount of drinks in the fridge. However, the room was clean and was well maintained.

Blue Bay is definitely not a five star hotel (you have the Excellence resorts for that). However, considering the price I consider this place a definite definite bang for your buck. I would recommend someone to go there.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms do have the pools however I felt that they were not private. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to this resort for two weeks in march 2012. first time ever leaving canada..super nervous about buying package deal and gettig to resort and back to airport. AWESOME is not the world that we felt for the blue bay. staff were great!! very nice and helpful getting to excursions and back and forth from town. never felt lost or alne!!
huge resort!!! lots of walking to beach and up to main area!!!! BUT there is a shuttle train that drives all over the resort, catch a ride every 15min. we would just grab an extra drink and the shuttle would be there!! we liked the quietness of hugeness of the resort!! having two pools far apart was nice and spread out the guests. specially with the beach...not a huge huge beach BUT if u walk left and follow the beach u run into A LAGOON...most gorgeous, quiet, peaceful area EVER!! take a piece of bread from the buffet with you and you will see hundred of fish!!! BUY SNORKLE AND GOGGLES to go here. so beautiful!!!
i dont know how to say how wonderful this hotel was.. drinks were soo good, lots of food choices!! shade everywhere!! loved playing bingo for tequila,never won but had fun swimming drunk and playing bingo. everynight they show a entertainment musical. peter pan, micheal jackson...
ok anyways. the only neg: when it rains it POURS!! lol
blue bay has no timeshare ppl floating around DO NOT AGREE TO GOING TO THE PRESENTATION BY BLUE BAY! blue bay has there own timeshare company! dont go!!

Room Tip: we were away from beach on top floor.. two areas to resort!! noisier at beach cuz of disco and swing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NielsenFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the room type we had requested wasn't avalible however we were told we would move the next day. This was fine. Moving into our next room we had many problems. The main light didn't work along with the main bathroom light, the shower was loose and close to falling off the wall. The air conditioning also didn't work etc etc. We complained to our concierge and he said he would sort it. He never. Spoke to another concierge and again he never. Spoke to reception and one of the faults got sorted. Then complained to our rep so we had a meeting with the head of concierge. He said he would move us to a lovely better room with sea view. Arriving at our new room we yet again had problems. The hairdryer wire had been cut and was hanging in the sink. Extremely dangerous! Our sea view was ruined by duck tape crosses on the patio doors. The door was infact broken and being held together with a thin stick of wood. As I explained to the hotel this was advertising us as a target for theft. Especially being on the ground floor on the beach. The insisted the tape was due to a hurricane they'd had. However I checked all the other ground floor rooms and they never had this. After kicking up a massive fuss this was sorted by the time we had left reception to get to our room. If it was that easy why wasn't it done before?? We finally got a room that was satisfactory 2 days before we left after being messed around all holiday. Baring in mind we were here for two weeks. I was accussed of being too fussy. But safety of guests is paramount! We paid a lot of money for this holiday. We were avoided for days before it finally got sorted! Then one night I got threatened by a guest. After reporting to reception hysterical I demanded a manager and the bloke who claimed to be a manager turned his back. When I asked for one of their security to walk me back to my room he refused! Disgusting!
Apart from the trouble and bad experience we recieved at the bluebay it is actually a lovely hotel. The a la cate restaurants were outstanding and the waiters are amazing! A very good all inclusive! The beach was as bad as the reviews but the lagoon down the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benandlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.5 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,740 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#66 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Xcaret All Incl...
#64 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Suite...
#76 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 6,323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Property: BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#80 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing