We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Course.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club

El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Course.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

First off i have to say it is a beautiful Golf course, just beautiful. Then there is the staff, Outstanding. The women in the pro shop were so friendly and really welcoming. The gentlemen at the cart area were helpful and very nice. They had everything ready for us and took up to the #1 hole. This was my first time here but Joe had Played here before..I was awe struck at the first Hole..The course was very well maintained. We could not of asked for a better day. We will be back for sure...Great Job everyone and keep up the good work. This course goes beyond what is expected of a couse on the PGA tour!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear eH_11,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about El Camaleon, the friendliness of the staff and for praising their ward work to maintain the course under remarkable conditions. Sometimes I am still in awe when staring at the cenote on hole 1.
Your photos are beautiful, thanks for sharing them.
We hope to have you back for another round on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Fletrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    53
    22
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The desk staff were not too accomodating and the least helpful of all the resort staff. The prices to play are high, but it is a beautiful and enjoyable course to play. My son played the black tees and I played the red. He shot 86 and I shot a 96. Jonathan, at the Fairmont resort golf shop , was very helpful to get tee times and organize play for us before heading to the course.... Enjoy it!
Bring balls (although they do give you three free)...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear nancy c:
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at El Camaleon. Having read your comment I apologize for not receiving the attentive service we have been know for, however I’m also pleased to know that Jonathan was helpful on accommodating the tee times for you and your son and you enjoyed playing at our championship course.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Golfing in paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my second and third time playing El Camaleon Mayakoba - home of the PGA Tour stop in November. I love this course. Plenty of room to get in trouble, but the course is in wonderful shape. The views, the challenge, the service are all top notch. Played twice, and am looking forward to returning next year. My golf was arranged by Cheryl at Tee'd Off Golf and she made it so easy for us! Muchas Gracious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike_and_Sara12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great golf course by Greg Norman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I first visited this fantastic golf course last year during the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic. I truly liked the course, its design, location and how beautifully manicured it was. I returned this year to play it and it was great to see the course as good or even in better condition than it was at the tournament. I played from the back tees and found it playable notwithstanding the 20 to 25 miles per hour wind at some holes. It is truly a memorable course with great service and none of the red tape or stuffiness that you might expect at such a unique course. They seem genuinely happy that you are there. If you love golf do not miss this fantastic course. It is only a 40 minute drive from the Hotel Area in Cancun. About 5 miles from Playa del Carmen

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sosa_B_Eduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear a_B_Eduardo,
Thank you for your comments on El Camaleon. Reading your review is a wonderful testimony of the hard work that is done every day to keep the course in impeccable conditions. As you are familiar with the PGA event, we hope to welcome you back in November for this year’s edition of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba.
Sincerely.
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“gorgeous course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are someone who appreciates the game, this is a must course to play if you are in the area. Site of a PGA tour event, the Greg Norman course is literally carved out of the jungle with three holes on the ocean. Not cheap, but well worth the round if it is in your price range.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank forerichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear forerichard,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to El Camaleon. We are very happy that you consider it a must-visit golf course when in Riviera Maya and we look forward to welcome you back.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club also viewed

Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing