We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it.”

El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

It is an expensive course, but worth it. The course is fair and not too much of a resort course. The course is in very very good shape.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank boski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    54
    22
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing course.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

While staying in Playa Del Carmen, a friend and I were looking for something to do while the girls were doing their thing. We came across El Camaleon at our resort and decided to take the opportunity to go play some golf. The practice areas were a great start. The course was in amazing condition. The views were beautiful. While on the course we met Elizabeth (sp?) who was working the drink cart. She found us on the front 9 and gave us some information about some of the holes and was very nice and helpful. When we got to the back 9 Elizabeth met up with again and while getting our drinks a storm came in. We all headed back to the clubhouse wherer we were given towels to dry off while some of the other staff cleaned and dried our clubs and cart. We headed right back out after the storm passed and enjoyed every second. This is a course that is worthy of every cent you pay. A+ staff and an A+ course.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcellentTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Director of Golf at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Hello ExcellentTime

Thank you for your review of El Camaleon Golf Club at Mayakoba. Our entire team, including Elizabeth, thanks you for playing golf here while on vacation. We strive to create memorable golf experiences for all of our golfers and doing little things like offering towels during rain storms and drying off your golf cars and clubs is what we pride ourselves in.

I hope you took home some great memories of our golf course and you are able to re-live them when you watch our PGA Tour Event, the Mayakoba Golf Classic, on TV this February. Thank you again from all of us here at El Camaleon Mayakoba.

Kevin Sebulski
Director of Golf
El Camaleon Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Love The Shark's golf course”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Designed by Greg Norman "The Shark". Played a round from the championship tees. Tough but georgous layout. Nice cool wash cloth at the end of the round. Staff were the greatest.

Stayed in the Cancun hotel zone and they provided free transportation to the golf course. A 50 minute trip one way. Nice.

The El Camaleón Golf Club measures 7,039-yards and the layout is unique - not just to México but to the entire golfing kingdom. The course bends through three distinct landscapes - tropical jungle, dense mangroves, and oceanfront stretches of sand with holes bisected by massive limestone canals. Beautiful.

El Camaleón is the first golf course to host an official PGA TOUR event in México and the first official PGA TOUR event ever held outside of the United States or Canada.

For more info: http://www.mayakobagolfclassic.com/index.php

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank bruizer_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Day @ Mayakoba”
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Played the El Cameleon course and true to its name we spotted more than a few of these guys hanging around the course. The course itself is in immaculate condition. Tee boxes, fairways, rough, and greens are all perfect and the sand in the sand traps is like baby powder, which took me a few shots to get used to (yes, unfortunately I had to make more than one shot from these!). The wind is very strong and you better be able to control your ball flight of you will lose more than a few in the mangroves or canal. The two par 3's on the water are short but the view more than makes up for it. Overall, very challenging course from the back tee's but course conditions are top notch.
I would like to see this course make it all inclusive including beverages, food, and on course snacks for the price they charge. They should also set up some sort of transportation system that you can add on to pick up from other resorts, as I and my playing partners had to take a cab to get to the resort, which in mexico, cabs don't have the largest trunk space! The group behind us hitting into us a few times wasn't exactly the most memorable part, and we were 10 minutes ahead of pace and had to keep waiting for the maintenance crew in front of us on the first few holes, but just because you can afford to play the course doesn't necessarily mean you have the CLASS to do so. A kind face to face warning kept them at bay for the remainder of the round. If you get the chance to play this course and don't mind the price tag, definitely do it! I would have prefered it not being the first round of the year for me, but what can you do!


Massi

Helpful?
2 Thank djmassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent course”
Reviewed June 9, 2007

There were 4-5 absolutly stunning an memorable holes on this course, and the rest were sort of ho-hum, kind of like all 18 holes on a Rees Jones design. This is the first Greg Norman designed course I have played, so I don't know if this is typical of his designs. Those couple of great holes make for an amazing experience and those holes could be the signature hole at any golf course anywhere. The maintenance is immaculate. The greens tend to break less than anyone in my foursome read. According to the other golfers I was paired with, this course is more forgiving than Playa Pariso.

There is good variety in the design of these holes, some layup par 4s and some good variety on the par 5s. The par 3s seem short and lack variety, although the view coming over the bridge to the last pae 3 (16?) is stunning, as this hole plays right along the beach. There aren't really any tricked up holes. Most play fairly straight and the golfer doesn't need to hit a variety of L->R or R->L shots, although its a good idea to have some kind of knock down shot as there are a number of holes which are close to the ocean or play into the prevailing breeze. Most hole look tight from the tee, and there isn't a lot of room off the fairways as the surrounding mangroves are very dense. Best case on a poor drive is to find your ball and take an unplayable lie, really bad drives are gone most of the time.

The club house is brand new and nicely appointed, although its a bit expensive, a bag tag, divot tool and sleeve of Titleist SoLo logo balls was like $65. The beverage cart seemed more reasonable. I didn't check out the restraunt. The grass driving range was very nice, as was the chipping and putting greens.

If your staying north of Playa del Carmen, this is the place you want to play.

Helpful?
8 Thank psuross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club also viewed

Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing