We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveler rating
662
201
39
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
201
39
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant downstairs the hotel's restaurant quaint hotel mexican charm street noise hot water rooftop bar restaurants and shops beach towels fifth avenue ferry to cozumel minute walk to the beach the entire staff my favorite king bed carboncitos balcony
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 927 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at Hotel Cielo many times since 2008. An authentic Mexican hotel that is just a short walk to the beach and all the shops on 5th Avenue. The hotel staff are incredibly awesome, super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, including A/C , Flatscreen Tv’s, a combination safe,
Shampoo, conditioner, soap and body cream are provided. Each floor has a water cooler for your convenience. Beach towels are provided. The rooftop offers an amazing view and lounge chairs if you don’t want to go to the beach. And the best place to get breakfast with the best waiters is right down the stairs at Carboncito’s. Your coffee will be served with an Oreo cookie. Enjoy!!!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank judys862018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

We just love this review and the fact you come back so much! It truly is a testament that we are doing what we strive to do with our custome service. Playa del Carmen is growing vastly and we are not immune to know there is so much competition. This is why your review is so powerful. We thank you for your loyalty and for the time you took to write this. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip because we know we will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

I found this hotel and love it centrally located near %5th Ave and 1 block from the beach.
Charming and tastefully decorated..
I loved room with the balcony and partial ocean view.. ideal for quite evening.

Restaurant downstairs and ideal location in Playa del Carmen..

Room Tip: Best views from a balcony room..
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you for your recommendation of the balcony room. Your review means so much to us for the time you took to write it, as well as, the thoughtful details. We are very happy that you found us on your stay in Playa del Carmen. We are honored that you shared your experience with us with your other Trip Advisor peers. We hope to see you on your next visit to Playa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel!! Loved our room. Visit the rooftop with a nice beverage and enjoy the view. The bartender made us wonderful drinks which we took to the roof.

Carbonitos cannot be topped for breakfast or evening meal. The waiters are friendly and prices reasonable.

We are returning this year as well and look forward to visiting again

Thank you Hotel Cielo for an amazing experience

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

What a beautiful review from you. Thank you so much. We are thrilled you got to enjoy the rooftop. It is our secret hiding place. Thank you for mentioning Carboncitos and we are happy you got to enjoy the different meals there, not just breakfast. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit and thank you again for this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Everything about Hotel Cielo ticks the boxes. Great staff, clean functional cozy rooms, and a fantastic location (50 m off Playa del Carmen’s ‘Quinta Avenida’). A special thanks to ‘Alex’ who goes out of her way to share her passion, that people love/enjoy their stay at her property. I will definitely be recommending this property to my friends heading to Playa in the future.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank GarryVDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Thank you so much! we love that we fulfilled your expectations. We so appreciate that you write this review for us. Without the reviews, many people would not know about us. We very much look forward to having you on your future trips to Playa del Carmen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Cielo! The location was conveniently located to the main activity yet far enough away for a serene and quiet stay. The restaurant was so good that and we ended up having several meals there! The staff were helpful and very friendly and made us feel like old friends. Definitely a place we will visit again and again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Pepkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here with your Trip Advisor peers. We are honored that you chose us and that you took the time to write this for us. This feedback helps us to know that we are succeeding with our goal to give the best customer service ever! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews