We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$252
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$356
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$371
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$385
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$421
$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$608
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$419
$250
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,509
$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
655
200
39
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
200
39
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsrestaurant carboncitoschose hotelthe hotel's restaurantquaint hotelbalcony roomado bus stationmexican charmstreet noiserooftop barhot waterrestaurants and shopsbeach towelsfifth avenueceiling fanminute walk to the beachferry to cozumel
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 920 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

this hotel gives the personal touch...the owner Steve is more than happy to share his knowledge of the area. He even took me to some local eateries even though he has a great restaurant at the hotel! !

Room Tip: tell them what you are looking for and they will accommodate the best they can
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oneworldpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thanks for this great compliment! It was a pleasure to meet you and to share with you our area. We appreciate the time you took to write this review since all are so important to us. We hope you enjoyed the Playa del Carmen area and that you will come back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Very nice Mexican Style Hotel.
Very confortable,clean & convenient to everywhere.
The staff very Professional at all times.
The Restaurant below "Carboncitos
Is the Best all around,great fresh Food all day and the staff also very Professional also. My 10 Days vacations from 1 to 10 in Hotel Cielo was a 10+ at all times.
I sincerely recommend it to everyone.
Also great views to the Beach & 1/2 a block away from the beautiful beach.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Milton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for these beautiful words! We are so glad you enjoyed your 10 days with us! This review is so important to let others know about us and what we have to offer. Thank you for mentioning our "Carbonictos". We very much look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for your time in writing this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after flying into Cancún. Having arrived late we weren't able to enjoy the hotel as we have liked but the hotel itself is really quirky and has a good vibe. The rooms are clean and there is a/c, fans and a hot shower.

We would stay here for longer if we planned to stay in playa del Carmen.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank TKandJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

We are so glad you popped in even if it was only for a night. We hope the next time you are in the area you will consider staying with us longer. We appreciate the time you took to write this review. Each review is so important to us and we are honored that you got to stay with us even for a short bit of time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

My room was very quiet, though the hotel is just a few steps off the 5th avenue with tons of people and music at every night. The AC was great, the bed was very comfortable, and the stuff was extremely accommodating and helpful. It also helped that the hotel is just 5-7 min. away from the bus station, where you could take buses to the Cancun airport, and do other trips. The closest beach might not be the best, but I ended up liking it, too. However, if you are willing to walk 10 min you could explore different beaches, just ask the hotel stuff. And of course, it's so many restaurants around, that it's just difficult to decide were to eat. Two different ice-cream places right at the corner.
All and all, I had a great vacation, both fun and healthy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

This is the exact type of review we strive for. This review included very important information for others who do not know us to see what we have to offer! We very much thank you for the time you took to write this. We are honored to have had you stay with us and hope to see you again on your next trip. Please remember to book directly with us to enjoy our extra incentives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Hotel Cielo's location is perfect! It is located just a few steps aways from 5th Ave and just a block from the beach. It is very convenient for travelers looking to spend time on the beach during the day and explore the 5th Ave shops, restaurants and clubs during the night. The hotel is also very close to the ADO & Collectivo bus stops, which makes it extremely easy to make day trips to Tulum, Akumal Beach, Dos Ojos, Xel-Ha & Xcaret. We preferred our time in Playa Del Carmen as compared to Cancun. The hotel staff made our experience truly wonderful with their warm hospitality and very helpful advise on things to do around Playa. I want to especially thanks Prax and Yosshian. They were both just wonderful hosts. The rooms are very clean as well. We will definitely stay at Hotel Cielo the next time we visit Playa.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank mitulsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for this very informative review. This opinion is very useful to your Trip Advisor peers because you really took the time to describe us and where we are. Sounds like you had an incredible vacation going to all those places and we are glad we could be of help to you. We truly appreciate the time you took to write this review and how carefully you thought it out. We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews