We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winning combination of character and location”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #15 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2009

This is a very charming boutique hotel. The staff is friendly and efficient. Our room, 23, faced the rear, so there wasn't much of a view, but it was quiet at night. The location was absolutely perfect. It was 2 blocks from the beach and less than a half a block from 5th avenue. The attached restaurant, Carboncitos, was delicious. In fact we ate there 4 times in our 5 days in the Playa area, even eating there while we were not staying at Hotel Cielo. The included breakfast at Carboncitos is delicious, don't miss it. The room was bright with a wall of windows, a comfortable enough queen sized mattress, and a very nice small cute bathroom. This hotel is great for everyone, the budget-minded vacationing college student like myself, and families too I would imagine. Definitely eat dinner on the roof one night. The sound of the ocean was intoxicating.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constant_traveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 869 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

Fantastic place.... perfect location in town, great room, very helpful staff, terrific restaurant that attracted plenty of people not even staying at the hotel, an amazing rooftop bar- couldn't have asked for more in a Playa experience.

This was our first time in Playa and not only will we be going back, we'll definitely plan on staying at the Cielo again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RomeoTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Cielo over the New Year's break. We had a deluxe room for 5 nights and then a standard room for the 6th night. Definitely go for the deluxe room - it's a bit noisy (being on the street) but much sunnier, more open and it's lovely to have a balcony.

The hotel is in a good location - about 2 blocks from the beach. The room prices rise considerably over the Christmas/New Year's period (as with all hotels in the area) but are still good value for money. The hotel is an especially good deal outside of that period.

Breakfast is provided by the next-door restaurant but it isn't great and I suggest going elsewhere (there's a bagel place 2 blocks away which is pretty good).

All of the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and speak great English. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My husband and I just stayed here and it was perfect for a young couple. The staff especially Henry and Roberto were amazing. They took care of everything you needed from great local restaurants to setting up taxis to the airport. The rooms were very clean and a great price. The rooftop has an awesome sunset view and just a great hang out spot. You are right in the middle of the main strip and a minute walk from the beach. It was a great location and I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Cielo and found the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself to have an excellent location and the rooms were great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBESeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Great staff, Great location, All round great time. Made to feel like we were at home.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I have nothing bad to say, hotel is great and more importantly the location! If you want a good priced hotel 2 blocks away from the beach, this is it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $96 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing