We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cielo, downtown Playa”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #15 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice small, clean hotel. Good a/c and shower. Front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area . Told us about a few beach clubs to check out.
Restaurant downstairs provided excellent food , drink and service. 2 blocks to beach

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackariah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you Zackariah for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

Thank you for the recommendations


Zackariah, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 869 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel based off all the wonderful reviews this place had on trip advisor, and everything that everyone has said about this place is true. The rooms where clean, the showers had hot water, strong wifi, and the beds were so comfortable. All three gentlemen who were running the hotel desk were very pleasent, and if we ran into an issue, they were very accommodating and had an answer to every question. Even when it came down to recommendations on places to visit on the strip or which excursion to go on, they pointed us in the right direction. It's located not even a 5 minuet walk from the bus stop (which is cheaper to take from the airport than a taxi, and much more comfortable) and the beach is within view from the street. If you are looking for some peace and quiet, and not located next to a club, then this is the place for you. With that being said, if you just so happen to want to check out the club scene, its within walking distance. There is also a restaurant located on the floor level called Carboncitos which is very delightful, and they also give you a discount during breakfast for staying at Hotel Cielo.The only complaint I would have, if you would even consider it one, is that the roof top was closed for renovation, but I'm sure when they are done it will look as beautiful as the rest of the hotel does. I would definitely come back and stay here again. Thank you Hotel Cielo for making my first time visit to Playa Del Carmen so wonderful. Keep up the good work!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tabatha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you Tabatha for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

Please accept our apologies about the roof top,we are doing our best to re open it

Thank you for the recommendations

Tabatha, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This was our ground zero Four days. The rooms are immaculate as are the grounds. Sheets and towels, soft,white, and fresh. Service couldn't be any better or helpful.
Five star room
Five star food
Five star service
Five star location
This is my 6th visit and I expected no less
Thanks Steve

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bizatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you Bizatl for taking the time to write your review

We love the fact that you feel Hotel Cielo is a 5 Star hotel....this is just what we strive for

It really means a lot to us when guests like your selves return, it lets us know that we are definitely headed in the right direction & thank you for noticing.

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for the recommendations

Bizatl, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel cielo was a great find. The staff were really helpful, the rooms well equipt and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located to 5th ave if that's your thing. Personally I didn't like playa del Carmen, but Hotel cielo provided a welcome and air conditioned respite from the trashiness of the area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank somedays_i_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you Somedays for taking the time to write your review

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy Playa de Carmen, we are just glad we were able to make you stay more enjoyable.....this really means a lot to us

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for the recommendations

Somedays, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my second time at Cielo, and it was every bit as wonderful as the first time! This time I went alone to try to find long term condo rentals. All the staff are still wonderful people especially Miguel and owner Steve. They were both so helpful on my Quest. I simply cannot say enough to express my gratitude!! You guys are THE BEST!!!! I had a different room than last time, it was also very charming! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #13. quieter room and awesome a/c!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you Laurie for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

It really means a lot to us when a guests like your self return, it lets us know that we are definitely headed in the right direction.

And no worries about helping you out.... it was our pleasure, we are just glad we were able to assist

Thank you for the recommendations

Laurie , we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I researched trip advisor for a hotel in Playa Del Carmen and came up with this little gem of a hotel which in my opinion deserves its high ranking.
If you arrive by taxi from Cancun the road the hotel is situated on is blocked off to traffic and you will have to travel the last 100 meters by foot.
We stayed for 3 nights and had a small double bedroom. We were lucky enough to have a selection of rooms and choose number 13 (not unlucky). This was on the first floor and to the rear of the hotel. I would imagine the front of the hotel could be quite noisy as the hotel is situated just off one of the main tourist streets. The top floor rooms could also be a good choice. For food there is a very good restaurant directly beside reception that is well worth a visit and if you mention your staying in the hotel they also provide a discount.
The reception staff spoke fluent English and were only too happy to assist with any enquiries.
We received a 20% discount for paying in cash, so try not to use your credit card.
If you're after a large hotel with lots of amenities then this is not for you.
If you want an economical, small, clean, well run hotel in the tourist centre then you couldn't choose much better than Hotel Cielo.

Room Tip: Read the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you Nigel for taking the time to write your review

We see that you traveled a great distance & we are delighted that we were able to add to your vacation experience

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

Thank you for sharing your experience for future travelers

Nigel, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My 4 friends and I had a an amazing time in Playa for our senior year of college spring break. We didn't want a typical spring break, but a place to relax, eat good food, be close to the beach, and not have to pay too much! Hotel Cielo fit everything we were looking for. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We stayed in one room with 5 people and our own bathroom, which was small, but it worked for us, and had lots of windows where we got nice cool breezes and woke up to the natural light! We also had a balcony overlooking the street, the beach, and were right above the restaurant Carboncitos.

Carboncitos had great deals for drinks and food if you stay at Hotel Cielo, and we didn't really get sick of the food there. Because Playa isn't very big, we wanted to walk to some other local (even better priced) places to eat, and the hotel staff had great recommendations.

The WATER jug dispensers were an AMAZING surprise at Cielo. When it's that hot, you need to keep drinking water, but that can also get pricey. We all brought our own reusable water bottles (or you can just buy a disposable one when you get there) and refilled several times throughout the day!

Overall, this was an excellent stay that I think a variety of people would be able to enjoy, not just college kids on a low budget. It was so beautiful, especially for the price we paid! I would definitely go back and recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for one along the street/with a balcony/ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you Hannah for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

We are just happy that you and your friends enjoyed your selves

Thank you for the recommendations

Hannah , we know there are many hotels / restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo / Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $96 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing