We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #27 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for over a week and loved it. The location is great, just off of 5th and a stones throw to the beach, yet quiet and peaceful. Miguel at the front desk was the best and really helped me out a bunch. Food next door was great. Rooms were nice, clean, and AC worked great. Everybody was always smiling and happy to help. Next time I come to Playa del Carmen I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Ted for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are a very important part of our success & is one of the many reasons we are a top contender here in Playa Del Carmen. Ted, we know there are many hotels to choose from, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    182
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
126
347
110
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bear Rain Forest B.C .Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Greeted By Your Name and Always Asked If I Needed Anything.....Couldn't feel any more at Home than Here at Hotel Cielo....The Rooms are Clean and Fresh with a Very Comfortable Bed. Staff Service was so Perfect and Freindly...Location of Hotel Cielo really couldn't be anymore Perfect. Close to All the Action that You want to Enjoy while in Playa del Carmen. The View from the Roof Top was gorgeous for an early sunrise coffee and Sunset Evening Margaritas....or Even Great For a Rooftop Wedding Reception... Tomorrow 13 May... Owner Steve and Alejandra get Married and I Would Like to Pass on My Congratulations to Them Both...and to Thank Them Again for Their Kindness and Helpfulness towards All of My Needs while I was Their Guest at Hotel Cielo and looking forward to my return again in November...Gracias Darellbear ps Thank You for late check out time that made my day so much easier...

Room Tip: They are All Beautiful Rooms here at Hotel Cielo...but prefered the one near the rooftop..rm 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darellbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Darrel for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. Thank you for the kind words & the wonderful review. Darrel, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you in Nov. when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Cielo, they offer more bottled water at no charge,the Internet was faster and the service, cleanliness and rooms were perfect ! The restaurant has made a few menu changes with a few table side dinners (for the good)
I will see you guys again in November upon my return to PDC !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Bizatl for taking the time to write your review. We see that you are an avid reviewer & a repeat guest so we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience . Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carboncitos, we are glad that you enjoyed your dining as well. Bizatl, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on her spring break from high school. Very unique hotel, great friendly service. Owner is from New York and bought hotel a few years ago. They were actually expecting us and greeted us by name without me telling them who we were when we arrived. A little noisy until about 10 at night, it's pretty quiet afterwards. Good air conditioning. Location can't be beat, one block from beach and 20 yards from 5th Avenue. Carbonitas is right next door, it's really good food but unfortunately has 5th Avenue prices, meaning too much for what you get. A couple will spend $50 for dinner, which too me is a bit much for Mexican food. However, the hotel gives a 50% off coupon to use there for breakfast, and that makes it a smoking hot deal. Best in town, actually. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request room in back of hotel away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runsum313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Runsum313 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you & your daughter enjoyed yourselves & had a great experience. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carconcitos glad you enjoyed it.

Runsum313 , we know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at Cielo in Feb 2009 and I had a nice time. It is centrally located on the main strip of restaurants, hotels, shops, and bus stop. It is a small hotel and they have an attached restaurant that served a great breakfast. Our hotel room had a little terrace that we sat out on and people watched below. We also had to go up a few flight of stairs to get to our room. Very relaxing views of the ocean from the terrace and from the rooftop, which you can access. We did switch hotels in the middle of our stay because we really wanted a pool, so we went to Hotel Aventura. Both places were nice to say, but I would not stay here if you want a big resort type of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armanicoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you Armanicoco for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't accommodate you with a pool, but our pool is The Caribbean sea less than a minute walk, but we understand some, of us do like pools. We are just glad you enjoyed you self & our restaurant Carboncitos. Armanicoco, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel Cielo was all I could want and more. Clean, friendly, water in the hallways, helpful and super friendly staff. The restaurant was an added convenience and delicous, the discount for guests is excellent. The hotel is so centrally located, walk to everything, the beach, the bus, all without being right on the noisy part of the strip. I was so pleased with my stay I extended it 3 more days. I cannot wait to go back, I feel like I found a steal. One of my best vacations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a wonderful vacation experience..... & we were delighted that you decided to stay 3 extra days.....it lets us know that we are on the right track. Jennifer, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from Playa del Carmen. Stayed here again because it was great the first time! Convenient to our scuba shop, 5th Ave., & the beach. Highly recommend this small but clean hotel. No pool, no "fitness center", the beach is right there!

Room Tip: No pool or "fitness center" needed, the beach is right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you lthomas for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. lthomas, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#85 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#78 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $69 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $109. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing