We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little hotel”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on her spring break from high school. Very unique hotel, great friendly service. Owner is from New York and bought hotel a few years ago. They were actually expecting us and greeted us by name without me telling them who we were when we arrived. A little noisy until about 10 at night, it's pretty quiet afterwards. Good air conditioning. Location can't be beat, one block from beach and 20 yards from 5th Avenue. Carbonitas is right next door, it's really good food but unfortunately has 5th Avenue prices, meaning too much for what you get. A couple will spend $50 for dinner, which too me is a bit much for Mexican food. However, the hotel gives a 50% off coupon to use there for breakfast, and that makes it a smoking hot deal. Best in town, actually. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request room in back of hotel away from street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runsum313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you Runsum313 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you & your daughter enjoyed yourselves & had a great experience. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carconcitos glad you enjoyed it.

Runsum313 , we know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cielo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 853 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at Cielo in Feb 2009 and I had a nice time. It is centrally located on the main strip of restaurants, hotels, shops, and bus stop. It is a small hotel and they have an attached restaurant that served a great breakfast. Our hotel room had a little terrace that we sat out on and people watched below. We also had to go up a few flight of stairs to get to our room. Very relaxing views of the ocean from the terrace and from the rooftop, which you can access. We did switch hotels in the middle of our stay because we really wanted a pool, so we went to Hotel Aventura. Both places were nice to say, but I would not stay here if you want a big resort type of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armanicoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you Armanicoco for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't accommodate you with a pool, but our pool is The Caribbean sea less than a minute walk, but we understand some, of us do like pools. We are just glad you enjoyed you self & our restaurant Carboncitos. Armanicoco, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel Cielo was all I could want and more. Clean, friendly, water in the hallways, helpful and super friendly staff. The restaurant was an added convenience and delicous, the discount for guests is excellent. The hotel is so centrally located, walk to everything, the beach, the bus, all without being right on the noisy part of the strip. I was so pleased with my stay I extended it 3 more days. I cannot wait to go back, I feel like I found a steal. One of my best vacations!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a wonderful vacation experience..... & we were delighted that you decided to stay 3 extra days.....it lets us know that we are on the right track. Jennifer, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from Playa del Carmen. Stayed here again because it was great the first time! Convenient to our scuba shop, 5th Ave., & the beach. Highly recommend this small but clean hotel. No pool, no "fitness center", the beach is right there!

Room Tip: No pool or "fitness center" needed, the beach is right there!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you lthomas for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. lthomas, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our first trip to Mexico, Hotel Ceilo was a lovely little place to stay. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given a choice of room which is always a good start. The Hotel is really central and the discount for breakfast and dinner at Carboncito's was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizzlybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Grizzly banana, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We know you traveled a long way for your vacation & we are delighted that you had a wonderful time & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. Grizzly banana, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & We hope in the future you will have a chance to travel back & visit us in the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The location cannot be beat. It's just off 5 avenue so a little less noisy than being right on the main drag, but still close to everything (ferry terminal, bus terminal, parking). The hotel has lots of charm and very friendly, helpful staff. Free cold filtered water is provided on every floor. Hotel guests get 50% of breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, which is a great deal compared to what you will pay on 5th avenue. The breakfast was huge and there was lots of variety (Mexican and American breakfasts).

The downsides:
For the price I would expect the hotel to provide hand towels and a hairdryer. The wifi did not work very well. We were on the 3rd floor and often had to go downstairs to the restaurant to get any reception. The TV in our room did not work either (not that we spent must time watching it).

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghana-go-quickly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you Ghana for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies about the hand towel & the wi fi, we have been working on this issue. Just so you know for the future, we do have hair dryers at reception. Thank you for mentioning the staff & our restaurant Carboncitos. Ghana, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Manager / Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

well i must say that we love staying at this great hotel.This is our 5th year and every time it only gets better,each year we bring more friends who equally fall in love with playa.The hotel staff is as good as it gets ,the food at carboncito's is excellent,and the drinks.......thank you for another great year.bobby b

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you Bobby B for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words, especially how we keep getting better . Thank you for mentioning Carboncitos & the staff, they are both a large part of our success. Bobby B, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#7 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $72 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing