We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return stay”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #24 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Return stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from Playa del Carmen. Stayed here again because it was great the first time! Convenient to our scuba shop, 5th Ave., & the beach. Highly recommend this small but clean hotel. No pool, no "fitness center", the beach is right there!

Room Tip: No pool or "fitness center" needed, the beach is right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you lthomas for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. lthomas, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    188
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
131
354
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our first trip to Mexico, Hotel Ceilo was a lovely little place to stay. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given a choice of room which is always a good start. The Hotel is really central and the discount for breakfast and dinner at Carboncito's was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzlybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Grizzly banana, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We know you traveled a long way for your vacation & we are delighted that you had a wonderful time & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. Grizzly banana, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & We hope in the future you will have a chance to travel back & visit us in the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The location cannot be beat. It's just off 5 avenue so a little less noisy than being right on the main drag, but still close to everything (ferry terminal, bus terminal, parking). The hotel has lots of charm and very friendly, helpful staff. Free cold filtered water is provided on every floor. Hotel guests get 50% of breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, which is a great deal compared to what you will pay on 5th avenue. The breakfast was huge and there was lots of variety (Mexican and American breakfasts).

The downsides:
For the price I would expect the hotel to provide hand towels and a hairdryer. The wifi did not work very well. We were on the 3rd floor and often had to go downstairs to the restaurant to get any reception. The TV in our room did not work either (not that we spent must time watching it).

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghana-go-quickly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you Ghana for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies about the hand towel & the wi fi, we have been working on this issue. Just so you know for the future, we do have hair dryers at reception. Thank you for mentioning the staff & our restaurant Carboncitos. Ghana, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Manager / Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

well i must say that we love staying at this great hotel.This is our 5th year and every time it only gets better,each year we bring more friends who equally fall in love with playa.The hotel staff is as good as it gets ,the food at carboncito's is excellent,and the drinks.......thank you for another great year.bobby b

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you Bobby B for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words, especially how we keep getting better . Thank you for mentioning Carboncitos & the staff, they are both a large part of our success. Bobby B, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Cielo on a vacation with friends. This hotel is chock full of Mexican charm. In addition, every staff person I came in contact with during my 7 day stay was warm, friendly & most of all provided service with a smile! Hotel Cielo made my first trip to Playa del Carmen something very special!

The attached restaurant, Carboncitos, was equally fantastic. We ate both Breakfast and Dinner there a few times and all 8 of us enjoyed our many meals there.

I would also like to thank Miguel for his amazing recommendation of a restaurant called El Nativo. I was looking for some good Molé and was not disapponted - in fact we all liked the food so much we went back a second time. Thank you, Miguel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rain0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you Rain for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they will be so happy when I read them the review & we are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant Carboncitos. Rain, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed only one night, a stopover on my way to Akumal. I really liked this place. It was unique, the rooms were all different and quirky. Comfy bed. The rooftop afforded a great view of the street scene and the ocean. The location was ideal--I walked from the ADO station effortlessly. The staff was great, Miguel was so polite and helpful. Very secure at night, there was an attendant at the only entrance. Great food at their restaurant, too. I had a great time in PDC, and Hotel Cielo was a big part of the enjoyment of my short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgoddess402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you snowgoddess for taking the time to write your review. We are so sorry you couldn't stay longer, maybe next time. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carboncitos & that enjoyed your stay. Snowgoddess, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Piccolo hotel sulla 4 e la 5 avenida. Nonostante la vicinanza con la strada della night life di playa è silenzioso e molto confortevole. Curato, con arredamento semplice ma di buon gusto e pulitissime. Forse l'unica mancanza è un frigobar in camera.Il personale è molto cortese e disponibile. Per la colazione si ha il 50% di sconto al ristorante sotto l'hotel dove con 50pesos si ha un'ottima colazione. Assolutamente da consigliare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Google Translation
Ringraziarla David D per portare che il tempo a scrivere la sua revisione. Per favore di perdonare il mio Italin ma provo. Siamo allettati che lei ha piaciuto il suo soggiorno & avuto una grande vacanza. Ringraziarla per menzionare il nostro Carboncitos di ristorante. David, sappiamo ci sono molti hotel nei Conducenti di del di Playa, dunque la ringrazia per scegliere di Cielo di Hotel & non vediamo l'ora di per vedere lei quando lei ritorna al bel maya di Riviera.
Il proprietario / il Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#83 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing