We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #25 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The staff were very helpfull and kind, the rooms were clean, big size bad, wi-fi, and all we needed. The hotel was at great location near av 5. The breakfast at the restaurant (50% off) was great also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you Eyal C for your review. We know that you traveled a great distance to come stay with us & we are delighted that you had a great vacation experience. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    182
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
122
345
110
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

me and my wife love this place. its a easy walk from bus station and always treated well and given a great room. the staff is always great and very helpful . we had room #16 and the a/c works great. this is always a must for us having great a/c. food is great as always and the service at the resturant very good. close to the beach and any thing else on 5th that you may wish to see or visit. hope to be back again in may 2013 as this is a must visit place for us.we have used this hotel for our starting point for our travels in the area and will do so in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nc-1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you nc-1traveler for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted that yet again you had a great vacation & enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you mentioning the staff, they are a huge part of our success & we are very thankful for this. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel just steps from all the nightlife and shopping along 5th. Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The staff is very outgoing and helpful. The hotel seems to have gone through a major renovation lately and the rooms are very finely appointed. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are very soft. It is not a fancy hotel but it is very clean and moderately priced. They even throw in 50% off breakfast at the very good restaurant next door.

Room Tip: If you do not like winding stairs, ask for one of the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skig8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you GOG8RS for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted that enjoyed your stay & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. And yes , we have done many upgrades this season, new curtains, new 300 count linens, new pillows, 700gram towels & really amazing mattresses, they are so comfortable I even bought one for myself. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Gosier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

For those who don't fancy all inclusive hotels, this place will work for you.
We (my wife, our 2 children and myself) stayed at El Cielo on august 2012 for the last night of a 11 days trip in Mexico before going to Cancun airport and get back home.
The receptionist was very kind and he helped us to carry our luggage from the car which was parked two blocks away. The registration took 3 minutes, restaurant list and WiFi code included.
The room was very cosy with a large balcony over the 4th street. I can't remember how were the beds because I slept like a baby.
The hotel is very close to the beach so that the best you have to do before having a breakfast is going for a bath in the caribbean sea or at least a walk on the beach when the sun rises.
I guess I couldn't make a better choice for our last night in this wonderful country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you Yann L for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted that enjoyed your stay wi & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. Please , it was our pleasure to be able to assist you with your luggage & its those mattresses....I think I going to start selling them, so happy that you slept like a baby..... its just want we want.
We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I just came back from Playa, after spending 10 days in August 2012 in this hotel, and I can tell you that it was a great place to stay, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the restaurant Carboncitos has really good food and the location could not be better, right in the middle of everything.

On top of all that, the service is excellent, Abraham at the front desk was polite and courteous and the entire staff was really nice, and of course the Desk Manager, Miguel Angel, was the reason I book there in the first place, from my initial phone contact from LA, he guided me to plan my trip better, gave me a great deal, recommended places, etc, really helpful guy.

I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Call Miguel Angel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Manager at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you Ivan G for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carboncitos, which we will be upgrading in the near future. And thanks for mentioning the staff, they really love it when I read them the reviews, it is then they really start to shine. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

we had the family room-- balcony, 3 beds, wonderful view of the ciudad.
the desayuno at carboncitos is such a deal! very affordable. hotel cielo has just what we were looking for. especially proximity to the quinta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well, myself, my wife and 3 year old daughter returned to Hotel Cielo exactly 1 year later this Aug 2012. My first impression is that the little things have greatly improved an already great hotel, such as the scented soaps and freshners in the bathroom that removed any musty smells, to the new beds, and the best was the wireless internet access. It is also obvious the owner Steve treats his staff well, as Miguel, the house keepers, etc are all still there with their smiles. The hotel is still only one block from the beach (ha, ha), and this year we ventured out more towards Steve's recommended restaurants to save a little cash. None of them let us down. Four to specifically visit are El Fagon's, Veracruz, Romeo's and Manny's. We became regulars at all of these restaurants, and ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, Carboncitas, every morning. I highly recommend the enfrijlados. I will end with a quote from my review last year. "Remember, this is not an all-inclusive Cancun hotel. This is for people like myself that like to use a hotel simply as a launching point to discover Mexico on their own."

Room Tip: Some rooms have one bed, some have three. Ask for a room that will fit your needs accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanChirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#77 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#79 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $69 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $109. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing