We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Playa”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #17 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Cozy spanish style hotel located perfectly in Playa del Carmen to access shopping, the beach, food. Highly recommended - upgrade to a partial beach view with street view balcony room is worth the additional expense!

Room Tip: See above - upgrade to balcony room facing pedestrian only street and partial ocean view!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you Tavee2 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & that you had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the style of the hotel, probably important for future travelers & we are staying true to the Mexican Boutique Hacienda style..... I mean , after all , it is Mexico. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cielo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 853 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although I had to cancel 2 out of my 3 pre-scheduled nights in this hotel, I still could enjoy my peacful room at the 2nd flour, which was authenticaly decorated and have a decent relax after the long jurney.

sitting near the main promenade, the Quinta avenue, keeps you right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle Playa has to offer and yet, it gives you the quite place to spend when a nap is needed.

Just 3 minutes walk from Playa's main bus station - opposite to the ferry pier to Cozomel - makes it ideal for those who come and go by bus. Cross the Quinta down and walk to the closest sea shore, or, If you're a diver, get to know the Bull Sharks Diving Shop operations, just few footsteps away.

Thank you very much Mr. Miguel for the short time hospitality and kindness.

Room Tip: The room for two I got, might be somewhat small for a couple.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkOnRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you Shark On Rush for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience even though you had to leave us early, Maybe next time you can stay longer. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo. We hope to see you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here over Spring Break and had a wonderful time. The hotel is one block from the main street, so walking to everything is easy. The rooms upstairs are light and airy and the hotel is charming and clean. Our room was a cool sanctuary in the hot afternoons and the beds are super comfortable. Both Miguel and Abraham at the front desk are so friendly and helpful, and they put out refrigerated filtered water for the guests. The restaurant downstairs has wonderful breakfasts, and the hotel has a relationships with Wicky's on the beach, where you only need to order $20 worth of food/drinks and you can stay as long as you like. You will really enjoy this special little hotel. It doesn't feel like Disneyland, it feels like classy, relaxed Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you Theresa M for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Cielo & appreciate that you decided to share your experience with future travelers. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are really important part of the Cielo family & we appreciate them going out of their way to help create great a vacation experience. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here in mid January this year for two weeks. If you don't want to do the all inclusive thing, ( which we didnt - boring !) then this Hotel is for you. Perfect location : 2 mins walk to the beach and the same to fifth avenue where all the action is (yet just far enough away not to be noisy). Hotel spotlessly clean and rooms very comfortable with the restaurant attached being one of the best in Playa , charging very reasonable prices..We loved our time in Playa del Carmen and Hotel Cielo definitely contributed to that. We would 100% recommend this hotel to others and hope to return ourselves very soon. PS.The staff here deserve a special mention.. Miguel, xSimone and the others were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces with nothing ever being too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you ChrisC for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the "Superb Hotel" title & thank you for mentioning the staff, they have been working diligently so all or guests can have a great vacation experience & it is one of the reasons we are becoming so desirable. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Hotel Cielo had helpful and friendly service, fine rooms, and was really close to both the beach and ferry pier. Our room was a little noisy at night, due to the restaurant downstairs, but we enjoyed the half-price breakfast there in the morning with a view of the beach down the street. The price was reasonable, especially in expensive Playa, and we'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Matt883 for taking the time to write your review. Some times we experience a snafu here & there, I had looked in to this & found out the restaurant had forgot to close adjoining door which is done at 10:00 pm every night. so please accept our apologies. We are delighted that you enjoyed your the rest of you vacation, appreciate the kind words & thank you for the recommendation. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I chose Hotel Cielo based on my Tripadvisor research and I was completely happy with the experience. More than happy. There was a mix up about how many beds we required in one of our rooms so the staff gave us a free upgrade to the family room which was beautiful and overlooked the street. After staying in a cookie cutter resort in Playa del Carmen, the Hotel Cielo allowed me to experience real Mexico. I loved the small quaint design of the building, the beds were amazing, the staff was incredibly helpful, the location was a total surprise as it was central to all things bustling, and the restaurant made me fall in love with Mexican food and beer. We were shocked at how great their prices were and kicked ourselves for not booking more time there. I will absolutely stay at Hotel Cielo again next year and would recommend this spot to anyone who wants a great price in a central location with great food.

Room Tip: The family room was much louder than the interior rooms simply because it was right on the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shark_Girl_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you Shark Girl Ana for taking the time to write your review. We are delight ted that you enjoyed your stay & that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. Thank you for the recommendation & we hope that you get to stay longer next time. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cielo again this month and loved it! The location is perfect. The room was was very nice, with lovely tile decor, lots of storage space and a really comfortable king sized bed. There was a great cable television and free wifi too! The best feature of the hotel is the staff, they are awesome, super friendly and helpful. It was a quick three minute walk to the beach in the mornings, and lots of great restaurants within walking distance-if you feel the need to go beyond the great onsite Mexican restaurant. You can comfortably walk to the bus station from the airport, but taxi's are plentiful too. Overall a great experience. We will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you Kinich for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you yet again had a wonderful stay & we appreciate the kind words. As much as we appreciate the review, it is I that must say a few kind words about you. Just so everyone knows, Kinich is part of a veterinarian school that has been staying with us 2 times a year for the last 6 or 7 years (getting old, cant remember). They train down here with marine & canine, as part of the canine they help local dog & cat shelters that are overwhelmed, I was able to see them in action & it is really heartwarming how they care. And the few people like Sylvia the owner Byblos restaurant who also runs SOS el Arca, the people who run Cocos cat shelter & Peanuts animal shelter. We all know how they needed your help, so thank you for being so kind. And for all of you animal lovers out there…. they save the lives of Turtles & Dolphins that are in despair. We know there are many hotels to choose from in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for continually to choose Hotel Cielo & we will see you in July.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#7 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $72 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing