We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeting from Ohio”
Review of Cocos Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocos Cabanas
Ranked #115 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
East Sparta Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greeting from Ohio”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Afraid to let this cat out of the bag! We stayed here feb 2014....we will b back! Great everything...food, staff, cabanas, and the other guests. Very charming

Close to beach and a short taxi ride to 5th ave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinlife1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    47
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
121
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Truly a hidden gem! A little hard to find but worth finding a cab driver who knows how to get there. We stayed here just a few nights between mega resorts and it was just what we wanted. Relaxing... True Mexican charm and hospitality. Sylvia, Helmet, Omar and Maria were all so friendly and helpful and the food was amazing!!! You have got to try the lobster pizza! Highly recommend. Water in rooms is a bit salty so remember to brush teeth with bottled water. Amazing stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oksumrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

we booked a couple of nights at coco's cabanas for our first few nights in mexico. we wanted somewhere away from the business of playa del carmen, that would be peaceful, close to the beach and good to acclimatise to a trip with young kids - coco's cabanas was almost perfect in all regards.

its a little bit tricky to find, but once you're there the gardens and grounds are lovely, the nice beach just a couple of minute walk away, and the people who run the place friendly and helpful.
fully recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joewscannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We walked here from our resort (Azul Fives) for lunch one day and were sooooo pleased. The atmosphere is awesome, the food was fantastic (two of us had fish tacos, one had a shrimp pasta plate and one had quesadilla - everything was great!)

It is definitely off the beaten path, but so charming and was a nice break from the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We did not stay here but we walked from Grand Sunset Princess to have a pizza lunch. The restaurant is nice and clean and outdoors with a grass roof, iy rained while we were there and we stayed nice and dry. The pizza was great, one of our pizza's went to another table that just sat down so we had to wait for them to make another, they didn't admit the mistake but you could see the cook was upset was the server. We had three pizza and three beers and is was just over $50 USD. Was a a nice short walk and a great break from the all inclusive which can get redundant at lunch

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesstamtam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent place right on the beach and 15 min by taxi. Very quite. The owners (Silvia & Helmut) are amazing and the restaurant is delicious! The only problem is that not every taxi in town knows the place so it is not easy to arrive and if it rains the road is really muddy. For the rest, super experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed for 7 nights over Xmas and New Year and was by myself. The staff made me feel very welcome and like part of the family.

Helmut is a chef supremo - I had one of the best meals of my life here - the whole grilled fish - give it a try!

The pizzas and other dishes are also excellent - top notch eating all round.

Silva is a very warm and caring person and made me feel at home and relaxed - just what you want on holiday.

The beach is also lovely and not crowded at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymac533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.8 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#94 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
821 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fives Hotel y Luxury Residences
The Fives Hotel y Luxury Residen...
#124 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
32 reviews
3.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Cabanas

Property: Cocos Cabanas
Address: Xcalacoco, Lte. 2 ,Punta Bete, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocos Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Cocos Cabanas has 6 cozy Bungalows (3 Queen ,1 King and 2 Junior suites), an outdoor Swimming pool and is just 10 minutes walking or 3 by bike from the beach. All bungalows have A/C, Ceiling Fans and iPod docking stations. The Junior suites come with King Bed and a Futon , Kitchenette, Fridge, Micro, Coffee-maker and all Boutique amenities .The bungalows are built in a typical local style with thatched roofs made of dried and woven palm-tree leaves. They all have tiled flooring and private bathrooms with a shower or bath. Cocos Cabanas offers both Mexican and international cuisine, including pizzas made in Coco's wood-fired oven(Lobster-Pizza), grilled Shrimp, Lobster and Steaks and a range of Mexican appetizers and Main dishes such as Mole poblano, Guacamole,Mixiote, Ceviche or Quesadillas. Guests can relax in the sun loungers or hammocks by the pool, go snorkeling or explore some of the nearby Mayan ruins, including Tulum or Chichen Itza. Ferries to the island of Cozumel leave from Playa del Carmen, about a 20-minute drive from the resort.Just Relax we do the rest!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cocos Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco`s Cabanas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cocos Cabanas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing