We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
176
224
124
57
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
224
124
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn express breakfast buffet nice pool short stay cab ride per night front desk staff excellent stay tortillas coffee maker lobby area fifth avenue pesos mexico pdc taxis bracelet
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 618 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2017

My experience at Wyndham Playa Del Carmen.
- No early check in. No exceptions.
(Although it states on their website as a hotel amenity, we did not find it to be accurate. (We had an overnight flight so arrived around 9am. I understand the room not being available that early, but we made a point to come back around 1pm, we were told there is no check in before 3 because 'that's when housekeeping does their reports.')) -I worked front desk/supervisor at a Hilton branded hotel for 4 years - I know how these things work
- The pool is smaller than at appears in the photos.
- We requested that our room NOT be serviced for one of our days. It was serviced anyway.
- The Shuttle is available from 10am-1pm and only drops off at one location on 10th Ave. (We ended up having to back track about 4 blocks.)
- If you purchase through a third party such as Expedia or Travelocity, make sure to verify your breakfast option if it is important to you. (We thought we had booked it but it turns out we did not.)
- Hotel is within walking distance of 5th Ave but will take the average person about 20-25 minutes.
- Beds were very comfortable.
- Desk staff was helpful with allowing us to make local phone calls to check on tours, etc.
- We rented bikes and the desk staff was nice in letting us keep them in our room over night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanaRose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

Even that is close to the central La calle Quinta. The service is terrible. The rooms are decent, but we have to ask for keys, towels or toilet paper all the time. The lights on the bathroom did not work or the one by the bed. The ice machine broken all the time. The swimming pool really small and not too clean. No bucket for the ice. no microwase or little fridge. Anyway don't waste your time here, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maria805l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

Well worth the 550SEK (approx 60USD) we payed for a King Size bed.
Takes about 10 minutes to walk into the central area of Playa del Carmen but if you get a deal as we did it's well worth the money.

Big rooms, clean, good WiFi, nice but small pool area and polite staff!

Only downside in my opinion is location..

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jontas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Been out of our room all day to come back at five p.m. and room not even made up. Unacceptable. Will not stay here again nor will I refer anyone to this chain or hotel. Sorry excuse for service. Can't believe it!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pattigardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

I visited Wyndam Gardens whilst they were transitioning from the Holiday Inn Express. Albeit not seamless the management handled the situation very well with a minimum disruption to guests.

An excellent breakfast to start the day with first class staff in attendance to ensure all the dishes were well presented and kept plentiful.

It was amazingly quiet at night for a resort hotel. The front desk was efficient and welcoming as were the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: Overlooking to pool would be an excellent choice
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews