We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location for business and leisure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #131 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Texas City
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location for business and leisure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located just a few hundred yards from the 5ta. Avenida, where all the restaurant and cultural life takes place in Playa del Carmen. So it is very convenient for that sake. The hotel is business class minded, good breakfast in the morning, some evenings with tapa bar, all free. The wifi was just about to be upgraded so the rooms would have accessibility. At the time I was there it did not work yet, only in the lobby area. The rooms have little decoration and could be upgraded with little effort and cost. With a little additional effort this place could gain some more points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eraschle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    168
    97
    39
    23
See reviews for
150
141
19
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South America
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like most Holiday Inns, this manages to provide a good basic level of service at a democratic Price. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and well maintained. Although not the place to spend much time if you're in Playa Del Carmen as a tourist, unless you're just using it as a base, it's good value for either business or a short stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, the free breakfast and free wi-fi. It's a good place to stay if you want something somewhat "American-ized" and are just using it for a base, while spending your time out and about. They provide almost-hourly free shuttle to downtown/ferry/etc, otherwise cab ride back or cab ride during off hours is like $7. Pool looked clean, but not a lot of atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaInLakeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Overall - this is a great place. The pros include a friendly staff. (David - one of the breakfast attendants - was awesome). The staff in general worked with a sense of urgency and attentiveness that makes travelling to Mexico great. The front desk staff also speak great English.

I stayed 8 nights and had a car, so it was easy getting around to the downtown / beach area with ease... with is only about a 3 minute drive.

The hotel lets you rent bikes for free, has a great outdoor pool, and a business center on site.

Some of the cons include the phones not working during my entire stay. The night clerk had to come up to my room and knock on my door to "deliver" my wake-up call at 4am on my final morning of my stay, since they could not call my room. And the hotel does not have wireless internet available in all of the rooms. Also there is construction going on right store, so the noise level if you happen to get a room on one side of the hotel is quite unbearable in the mornings.

If I were come back, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the "Chichen" conference room: It will allow you to use the Wifi for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place is great if you are a seasoned traveller. Only serves breakfast through to around 11;00 thereafter you have to look after yourself, which is not an issue as loads of good places around. Has its own beach club about 10 minutes away. Own pool within the hotel grounds. Very friendly staff, most of whom speak decent English [far better than my Spanish]. Very reasonable room rates [less than 40$ dollars a night in total per room when we where there !!!!!!!!!!!!!]

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was admittedly some bad luck that soured my experience but this hotel just didn't work for me. It all started poorly with a 2-hour drive from the airport because of a completely clueless cab driver. Not the hotel's fault but what followed was: it has absolutely terrible ventilation. A shirt of mine got wet in the rain the first day and never dried - in six days! I will leave it for you to decide how hygenic that would make the bedding etc. Also, the maid staff seemed to make up their own mind when/if they would do the room and they never once cleaned up the dozen or so cigarette butts that a previous guest had left on my window sill. Many of the fixtures in the room and in the common areas of the hotel are so old, it feels like they are going to break any minute.
There are some good points about this hotel - it's a short distance to walk to the main part of Playa, the pool is surprisingly nice for a Holiday Inn and the breakfast was OK. the non-maid staff also were quite friendly.
My suggestion is that if you're on a tight budget and get a good deal, stay here and keep your fingers crossed. If you have a bit more money to spend and don't want to take chances, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

we went there for two nights my home in playa del carmen was with out power.It was a disaster no internet, I chech in late no body was at the desk it was just like 11;00 i have to shout to find a person to help. the street is very dark and the pool is just over a street where car passing all the time is a entrance gor Playa Car. The price is hight for what they give.I did have a car was o, but if you don't have you mast take a taxi all the time, is card for the beach or store. Sorry just bad experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taricco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#128 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Property: Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing