We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service. Gracias Omar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #120 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Gracias Omar”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel. I did the reservation the day before with Expedia. By mistake my reservation had the wrong date and by the time I tried to check in at the hotel I notice my mistake. Omar, the front desk person on turn was very helpful. He worked with me to try Expedia move the reservation with no penalty.
After 20 min I have a room to rest my last night at playa del Carmen.

The breakfast next day was great. They had fresh fruit, eggs chilaquiles, beans, and bread. All people at the restaurant were very nice.

One more time thanks Omar for all your help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-Bety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest Andy:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest Andy, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    189
    104
    43
    25
See reviews for
176
161
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is in a nice quiet area, the welcome staff at the reception was very nice and received us promptly.
The facilities are excellent and internet is complimentary!

Also, they are very helpful should you need any assistance.

Strongly recommend this one!

Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPM189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place is just going down, I have been there 5 time in a year and its just getting worst every time... Reception Guy Giovanni just not care at all fot is Guests... Really does not care. The breakfast is just horrible... Need to start working with there people and teach them how to treat people that pays them... Star working Guys... And where or who is the GM there??? Who knows, maybe their is no GM, that is the reason why they got so low!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_traveler_69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear the_traveler_69_10,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you experienced with our staff. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards and services we usually pride ourselves. Your comments will be shared with the hotel management and appropriate actions will be taken.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

san diego, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ok this hotel is on the main high way to Cancun if you blink you may miss it. We had a car so we were ok driving back and forth to 5th ave but some people walked it, it was not a back walk if your in good shape.
the hotel chared $75 for 2 adults and 2 teen in the same room w/buffet breakfast! this is wonderful can you image at $10 ea we save a lot just on this hotel alone. The hotel was clean a/c worked great the pool was wonderful and get this you could bring anythig in we saw people with ice cooler in the lobby drinking beer and wine. and free parking for out rental car. Hotels down by 5th avenue were expensive and not parking none at this price and including buffet breakfast. Best deal we saw.

Room Tip: use the public transportation it is safe and soooooo cheap! from the airport to playa is a great dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angielopez2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You are within walking distance to 5th avenue. You can also take a taxi there. This hotel is situated on the main road to Cancun so if you sneeze you might not see it. The price was $75 for a 2 bld beds for a family of 4. It could not have been better it was clean clean quite and the breakfast buffet was great for the price. We figured that if breakfast had not been included in the price we would pay approximately $10 so it's an excellent deal the hotel stay was about $35 per night. The pool was nice and big and clean. We had a car so we must have seen 4 other hotels in Playa del Carmen and all about the same price of higher not as clean or updated and none included buffet breakfast. So live and learn best place to stay especially with family. Oh! free parking for our rental car anothe plus all the other hotels did not have parking!

Room Tip: the rooms I try to avoid are ones near the pool, the restaurant we Mexican's get a little lound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oconparra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked this on priceline for $85 but probably could have gotten a bit cheaper price by going direct. We needed a cheap hotel for an extra night before our vacation was scheduled thanks to a blizzard in NYC.The place was clean, a quick 15 min walk down to the main drag/beach (that gets little dark and desolate on the walk home after 9pm), and a fine breakfast, just dont drink the coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul MN
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Holiday Inn Express has been our early destination in the sun for 3 years. We found we could fly down on Thursday for so much less than on Saturday we could stay at the HIE for no cost; then ride to our timeshare. The hotel is clean and neat, and we walk under a mile to reach 5th Avenue, the pedestrian shopping street. You can take a taxi, we like the exercise.

Likes: We have had excellent, excellent service every year from the concierge Marisol. She has directed us to restaurants and shopping with perfection. The hotel breakfast has been very good every year.

First ever dislike: The problem was a complete loss of water in the entire hotel the day we arrived. We did not try to use the water until 3 PM, but I suspect it had been out for some time already. I kept checking, and after several trips to the desk the answer was always “10 minutes”. It was obvious no guests checking in were being warned. I finally walked 6 blocks to the Chedraui superstore to use the restroom. We had to cancel our dinner reservations because we could not take a shower, so we were only fit for McDonald’s, a 7 block trek. Good thing we like to walk! The water was restored at 7PM. Our shower never produced more than a weak flow. We don’t know if it had a new restrictor in the shower head. The hotel is great when all is functioning, but awful in a crisis.

P.S. No compensation of any kind was offered.

Room Tip: th elevator is convenient, and we our rooms have been on the 3rd floor away from the lobby. Quiet, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear WayfaringPair,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding service.

However, We’re sorry about the lack of water during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#117 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#129 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#114 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
631 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#79 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen

Property: Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Address: Mz 29 Fracc Playacar Lt 5, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Playa Del Carmen)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath and relax as you settle into our newly renovated Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen hotel nestled in the heart of the Riviera Maya. We are minutes away from the famous Fifth Avenue, and within close proximity to theme parks, archeological sites, and beaches. Rest in the lush comforts of our spacious guest rooms with abundant amenities including luxurious bath essentials; free high-speed WiFi, and flat-screen HDTV. Celebrate your special events including romantic beach theme weddings and elegant receptions in our 3 vibrant event rooms, or outside in our glorious gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing