We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #15 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great family accommodation”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our family just spent 12 nights at the Porto Playa. Right from the day we booked our trip right through to the day we left the whole experience was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and polite, they will assist you in every way possible, nothing is to difficult or trivial for them.

The accommodation is clean, tidy and very well equipped, the grounds are very well maintained and pools clean. The concierge service was fantastic, very helpful when looking to book activities, there are a huge number of promoters in Playa del Carmen, the lady we book our activities through was very honest and forthright about all the trips we looked at, the ones we booked were awesome.

The hotel is in a great location, close enough to the beach and main street and far enough away to give you a quiet and peaceful place to relax.

We will certainly book this hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: There are rooms to suit everyone. We had a top floor 2 bedroom apartment which was great for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna_Giuliano, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Anthony O,
Thank you for your absolutely glowing review about Porto Playa! It's so nice to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us! We are happy that our entire team could provide incredible support and superior service starting with the booking process all the way through till the moment you checked out. That is what it is all about and what we work so hard to strive for each and every day! Glad you had a great time! We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    102
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
250
188
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I rented room 219 May 14-21st. We chose Porto Playa due to the reviews and its proximity to 5th Ave and the beach. We also took my mom and my Aunt along with us and didn't want a facility that was too big. Porto Playa was perfect size for them. We were pleasantly surprised how pretty the grounds were when we walked in. You wouldn't know it from the street view. In fact the entrance is a little hard to find. There is security at the entrance but the condo's are in a safe area. We booked our room via TripAdvisor Vacation Rentals. Matt Leli made our arrangements and was very prompt answering my emails and questions. We used a company called Best Transfers (as recommended by Matt) and they were waiting for us at the airport. Cost for four people round trip was 110 US. I booked via www.besttransfers.com. I inquired with the condo management company and their cost was 175 US so Best Transfer was much better deal. The unit (219) was very nice, air conditioning worked great and there are separate controls in each room for your individual comfort level. The unit comes with a stocked bar and snacks which you pay for as you use. We had that removed and went to the local Mega Mart and bought our own snacks and drinks. We took a taxi which cost 4 pesos one way. There are plenty of taxis waiting outside Mega to take you back. House keeping was very good. There is a housekeeping wheel that allows you to select the level of cleaning you desire from full on changing of bed linens to towels only or non at all. Wi-Fi worked perfectly and there are TV's in each room with cable and DVR system. Breakfast vouchers were included in our stay. There are two restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed both Indigo and Imprevist, but the better breakfast is at Imprevist. It's true that 5th Ave with all the shopping and restaurants is one block away. And the beach is about a block away. So VERY convenient location. You get complimentary chairs on Indigo beach by staying at Porto Playa. I found the boats in the water nice to look at but not good spot for swimming. The pool was great with a shallow area for the little ones. There are also two Jacuzzis. The fitness center is awesome and is quite busy in the mornings. The condo staff was very nice. Thanks to Jose at the front desk for answering all our questions in a friendly and professional manner. Hope to see you again soon. Adios for now!

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd floor have nicer view of the grounds and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear DogPower,
Thank you so much for sharing your delightful review with us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time with us and that you found all of our amenities enjoyable. We strive to provide the very best service and add extra perks to make your stay comfortable and stress-free. Certainly we hope that you were able to take advantage of our exclusive privileged card offering special discounts to all of our recommended restaurants and entertainment venues, as well as premier complimentary access to the GYM Playa. We do hope you will continue to choose Porto Playa for future visits to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My father and I loved our stay at the Porto Playa, May 11-18th, 2014. Wow ! The condo is located on the second floor, has a large balcony accessible from both the kitchen and the master bedroom, and has a view on the swimming pool. During the day, we went to the pool, or the beach which was a 3-minute walk away, and at night we watched TV (I know.. But our home hockey team - Montreal Canadiens - were in playoff season!!) in our condo, sipping either a beer or strawberry daiquiri. Condo was very clean, well-kept and fully equipped: (cable TV, oven, blender, iPod sound system, microwave. Service at the front desk is very professional and effective yet very friendly, staff always smiling (front desk, security, gardeners, maids). On the check-out day, we had to leave at the usual checkout time (noon) since our condo was reserved. They offered to keep our luggage and said we can use the facility (pool, gym, beach club, showers) until our transport pickup time. This was, overall, a very pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable week ! I would definitely recommend the place to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more private. Condos are accessed via the spacious balcony, shared with only anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation-mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear vacation-mtl,
We would love to send a huge thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review. We are more than happy that we were able to accommodate a comfortable and enjoyable stay! Thank you for your nice compliments about the quality of the room, amenities and service. Certainly it is our goal to create happy experiences for all of our guests. We do hope that you will return back with us during future visits to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The condo apartment we got (212) was great. Good size and great overall amenities. The pool was excellent and got some shade in the mid afternoon while we were there, which I like.
Location was flawless.
The security at the front door was very comforting, even though the area is safe, day and night.
The included breakfast at Imprevist Restaurant every morning was fantastic.
Internet connection was great.
Minor issues:
Another apartment was having a loud party well after 3:00am on one night. Luckily, the A/C drowned down most of the noise. A friend staying on a higher floor said the noise was unbearable.

Room Tip: Stayed in 212 on group floor. No problems, no stairs. I only saw 1 other room on a high floor and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear pilozm,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to share your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are super delighted that you had an amazing stay and that you felt the accommodations to be pleasing and comfortable . As you mention about the noise of the party in the apartment next door, if we had known about this we would have made efforts to correct the situation right away. We are a family hotel and there are policies put into place regarding after hour noise disturbances of this kind. But definitely we are happy that Porto Playa lived up to expectations and that you enjoyed your vacation as a whole. We hope to see you again soon the next time you return back to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ophir, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We just returned from 10 days at Porto Playa. We loved it. It was clean, the staff was amazing. We felt very safe. It was also a quiet place which we loved. Our 2 young children ages 5 and 6 loved it as well. This is a very family friendly place to stay. The lower hot tub and swimming pool are shallow so if your kids can't swim they can stand up. Most of all the staff made our trip. Fernanda, Jose, Miguel and WIlber were always professional and helpful. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 and even though it is sold as a 1 bedroom it is actually a 2 bedroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZephyrAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear ZephyrAvalon,
Wow! Thank you for sharing all of your amazing feedback about your stay at El Taj and also for taking the time to share your review. We do have an amazing staff that I am super proud of every day so I want to personally thank you for recognizing Fernanda, Jose, Miguel and Wilber for their outstanding service. Also, as you mention we are a family friendly hotel where many people feel comfortable to come and enjoy without restrictions. We are located in a prime area in Playa del Carmen making it very safe and convenient for everyone! We have plenty of onsite amenities but also a world of amazing possibilities just steps outside our grounds. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon at Porto Playa.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My Wife and I spent 4 great nights at Porto Playa. Everything was Amazing. If you enjoy a laid back but beautiful environment this is the perfect hotel for you. The front desk could not have been more helpful. The large water dispenser in the room was amazing and put to good use. We had a top floor penthouse unit with the hottub area. Room 206 has a stairway in the unit so you felt as though it was very private going to the roof deck. We never used the grill as the food in playa is close, cheap and good. We thought the penthouse was worth it and even though ours was smaller then others it was more private and well chosen. There is a hot tub beside the main pool if you don't splurge for the penthouse. The steps were not a problem. Maybe 30 steps total to 3rd floor units. The rooms are quite private but dont offer views. The location is quiet and perfectly located. You couldn't be more central. Only the Beautiful Beaches of Playacar and the Bus Station are decent walks. This brings me to the only fault of the property. Its beach clubindigo is as high end as they come with good service, but you are parked in front of a smelly, dirty beach. People can tell you it ads charm, but it doesn't. They have a partnership with the lighthouse at El Faro where you can get a beach chair and it is much nicer but a little walk. The breakfasts at Imprevist and Indigo are free and good. We actually liked Indigo better even if the buffet was a little weak, as it had a better atmosphere and a breeze. 1 more nice perk was a discount card for many restaurants and bars in the area you get for staying at the condo hotels.
Excellent Hotel

Room Tip: Room 206 has a smaller penthouse deck but private stairway was worth it beyond compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear jd2734,
Thank you for sharing your beautiful review with us on Trip Advisor. It pleases me to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved your unit and onsite amenities. We always hear such rave reviews about the penthouse units. They definitely offer more space and amenities but also some nice privacy to lounge and relax outdoors in a private setting. You are right, there are many wonderful places to dine out in Playa but its nice to be able to offer our guests the option to BBQ outdoors or cook at home. I have spent a lot of time contemplating about the boats on the beach at Indigo. I really haven't had the heart to ask to remove them because they belong to the old fisherman who settled in Playa for many many years while it was still a small fishing village. For this reason, I felt that the solution to offer additional beach club access at The Lighthouse could be a win win for everyone as it is only just steps away and completely clear for swimming. Aside from this I am glad you enjoyed all the other details of your stay including the perks of the privilege discount card that we give to all of our guests. We hope that you will return back with us again soon at El Taj.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We got the suite with the private jacuzzi, BBQ and plaza deck. It was great, the location is very good, one block from the 5 Avenida, and one block from the beach. It is one block from Indigo beach, that we personally did not like because of the amount of boats that are parked on their beach. The beach on the side of Mamitas was super much better, I recommending going that way if you are looking for a nice beach. Either way everything was nice and good.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Javier,
Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review with us on Trip Advisor. I surely appreciate all of the wonderful feedback and nice comments. We are in a fantastic location in the best section of Playa del Carmen. Everything you should ever need or hope for is within perfect walking distance including amazing restaurants and entertainment. You also can take advantage of a beautiful relaxing spa or our elite fitness club - The GYM, only a few steps away from the entrance of Porto Playa. I hope you were able to take advantage of our helpful concierge services during your stay! Concerning the beach, I realize that the boats can sometimes be an issue for our guests. While some feel the boats elevate charm others are looking for areas clear for swimming. Thankfully this is a very isolated area and as a solution we offer complimentary access to our neighboring beach club at the lighthouse beach club at El Faro where we also provide lounge chairs and towels free of charge. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we will see you again soon at El Taj during future stays in Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing