We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Bad Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #14 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Bad Beach”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My Wife and I spent 4 great nights at Porto Playa. Everything was Amazing. If you enjoy a laid back but beautiful environment this is the perfect hotel for you. The front desk could not have been more helpful. The large water dispenser in the room was amazing and put to good use. We had a top floor penthouse unit with the hottub area. Room 206 has a stairway in the unit so you felt as though it was very private going to the roof deck. We never used the grill as the food in playa is close, cheap and good. We thought the penthouse was worth it and even though ours was smaller then others it was more private and well chosen. There is a hot tub beside the main pool if you don't splurge for the penthouse. The steps were not a problem. Maybe 30 steps total to 3rd floor units. The rooms are quite private but dont offer views. The location is quiet and perfectly located. You couldn't be more central. Only the Beautiful Beaches of Playacar and the Bus Station are decent walks. This brings me to the only fault of the property. Its beach clubindigo is as high end as they come with good service, but you are parked in front of a smelly, dirty beach. People can tell you it ads charm, but it doesn't. They have a partnership with the lighthouse at El Faro where you can get a beach chair and it is much nicer but a little walk. The breakfasts at Imprevist and Indigo are free and good. We actually liked Indigo better even if the buffet was a little weak, as it had a better atmosphere and a breeze. 1 more nice perk was a discount card for many restaurants and bars in the area you get for staying at the condo hotels.
Excellent Hotel

Room Tip: Room 206 has a smaller penthouse deck but private stairway was worth it beyond compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear jd2734,
Thank you for sharing your beautiful review with us on Trip Advisor. It pleases me to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved your unit and onsite amenities. We always hear such rave reviews about the penthouse units. They definitely offer more space and amenities but also some nice privacy to lounge and relax outdoors in a private setting. You are right, there are many wonderful places to dine out in Playa but its nice to be able to offer our guests the option to BBQ outdoors or cook at home. I have spent a lot of time contemplating about the boats on the beach at Indigo. I really haven't had the heart to ask to remove them because they belong to the old fisherman who settled in Playa for many many years while it was still a small fishing village. For this reason, I felt that the solution to offer additional beach club access at The Lighthouse could be a win win for everyone as it is only just steps away and completely clear for swimming. Aside from this I am glad you enjoyed all the other details of your stay including the perks of the privilege discount card that we give to all of our guests. We hope that you will return back with us again soon at El Taj.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    103
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
257
188
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We got the suite with the private jacuzzi, BBQ and plaza deck. It was great, the location is very good, one block from the 5 Avenida, and one block from the beach. It is one block from Indigo beach, that we personally did not like because of the amount of boats that are parked on their beach. The beach on the side of Mamitas was super much better, I recommending going that way if you are looking for a nice beach. Either way everything was nice and good.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Javier,
Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review with us on Trip Advisor. I surely appreciate all of the wonderful feedback and nice comments. We are in a fantastic location in the best section of Playa del Carmen. Everything you should ever need or hope for is within perfect walking distance including amazing restaurants and entertainment. You also can take advantage of a beautiful relaxing spa or our elite fitness club - The GYM, only a few steps away from the entrance of Porto Playa. I hope you were able to take advantage of our helpful concierge services during your stay! Concerning the beach, I realize that the boats can sometimes be an issue for our guests. While some feel the boats elevate charm others are looking for areas clear for swimming. Thankfully this is a very isolated area and as a solution we offer complimentary access to our neighboring beach club at the lighthouse beach club at El Faro where we also provide lounge chairs and towels free of charge. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we will see you again soon at El Taj during future stays in Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Condo was very nice, main deck area was private enough, hot tubs were relaxing, pool was great..... could swim laps, no sand in your _ _ _ _ , not too late to " make a party" after closing time. Spent a few hours on the front steps watching people and getting to know the staff. All staff were helpful and more than accommodating !

Room Tip: First floor was very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Warren T,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review about Porto Playa on Trip Advisor. It makes me happy to know that you felt that you were well accommodated and in great hands with our kind helpful staff. The grounds and the outdoor amenities are surely beautiful and appreciated by our guests. I hope you were able to take advantage of our full service spa as well as the complimentary access to our elite fitness center at The GYM. Thank you again for your kind review and also for the nice photos. I hope you will return back to Porto Playa during future visits to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just checked out after spending 4 great nights at the PPC Hotel. Everything was wonderful. The front desk / check-in was easy and everything about the facility was explained. We chose a top floor unit with the hottub area, doing it again, I probably wouldn't pay the extra as we didn't really use it. We had to lock our unit to go up there as it was a seperate area. The hottub was not the nicest so I wouldn't make your decision based on that area, there's a great hottub beside the main pool. I think all the rooms look amazing and also are quite private with all the trees and greenery inside the complex. The location is incredibly quiet given that it's right off of Fifth Ave. The location is fantastic, the staff were amazing, the breakfast at Imprevist was amazing! If you're looking for more of a boutique feel in Playa, I would highly recommend the Porto Playa!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 214 which was great but I wouldn't choose it based on the hottub area as we hardly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busy-travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear busy-travellin,
It's so nice to hear that your stay at Porto Playa was wonderful. It really is such a lovely condo hotel with beautiful landscaping surrounding you which, as you mentioned, makes it feel like a private retreat. The penthouse units are amazing for privacy. We offer the hot tubs on the private roof decks for exclusivity, however as you pointed out, there is a great hot tub located in our common area as well. I am pleased that you have such amazing comments about every detail of your stay including your experience at Imprevist. Our prime location proves to be one of the biggest compliments as we are perfectly and centrally located to ever reason why you would come to Playa in the first place - the beach, the 5th Ave, amazing food and awesome entertainment. You will never have to walk far to get to where you wish to be. Thank you again for taking the time to share and I hope that you will return back soon to Porto Playa.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here 8 nights based on the reviews we read of this hotel in comparison to others in Playa and were not disappointed. Our criteria was to find a relatively quiet and kid-friendly place near Quinta Avenida and near the beach, with a pool and close to food options.

The results?
-You really can't beat this location. It is close to everything- great restaurants, Quinta right around the corner, taxis, grocery stores...
-The condo was really comfortable and spacious. We had a lovely patio which we used often and the bedroom was totally big enough for us to set up a little travel bed for our 4 year old.
-The pool here is GORGEOUS and LOVELY. Seriously, the pictures don't do it justice. We were in there for hours everyday, and in fact our daughter learned to swim in it. It was the most comfortable and beautiful pool I've ever been in. And many times we had it to ourselves.

-The service here was great. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. I speak fluent Spanish and didn't even try with most of them- their English was really impressive. And they were always willing to help.

The few down sides to our stay:
-The kitchen could have been a little better appointed. We mostly just tried to eat lunches here but even then I found a few key things lacking (like a colander or a cheese grater, for example). But the basics (cups, plates, cutlery) are definitely there.
-I didn't have the best sleeps here- the bed was pretty hard and also it was a bit louder than we were expecting at night at times (like you could hear muffled mariachi music from a nearby place until midnight or longer a few nights). At first I was disappointed, as I did a ton of research to find a place where our 4 year old would be able to sleep soundly, but she was so tired from the sun-filled days that she slept through all the music we heard, and if I used earplugs it wasn't too bad either. The last night or two we had some inconsiderate upstairs neighbours who were yelling and stomping around above well past midnight, so I was glad for earplugs then as well.
-This has no bearing on the hotel itself, but we found the beach in Playa to be not as nice as other areas of this coast. There are tons of boats and sea-dos, so it kind of smelled like gas everywhere we went, and it just isn't as pristine as other beaches we've been to elsewhere in Mexico and other countries. Apparently (we were told) if we had made the trek further towards Playacar the beach gets nicer- we didn't do this because it was too long a walk with our daughter, but we would definitely try to check this out if we returned.

Neither of these things would keep me from coming back here. In fact, we think this would be a perfect place to come with other family members or with friends, which we may well do in the future.

Room Tip: We were in 203, on the ground floor and found it to be a great space for 2 adults and a child. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmuppet0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having frequented Playa del Carmen I have always left wanting more in the way of accomodations. Porta Playa Condo/Hotel was the perfect fit for my needs. I will search no more. The facility is simply beautiful. It is clean, well maintained and tastefully fitted for most any vacation. The gardens within the complex are simply amazing and lend greatly to achieving a quiet and relaxing effect. I simply could not believe I was only 1 block from the bustle of 5th Ave. and 1 block from the beach. We were greeted by a staff that was smiling (what a change!) and willing to accommodate any request at any hour. We were also given complimentary cards for breakfast at near-by Imprevist and Indigo(both great), gym passes(new and impressive), beach club passes, a dinner discount at Plank which in my opinion, is the very best and most unique dinning experience in town (don't miss this even if you stay at another location). I left without even one complaint for my experience at Porto Playa, which almost never happens. I can't wait to book a return visit.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground level, which I expected to be a bit noisy. It was not and we slept peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevepringle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear stevepringle2014,
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! I am beyond happy that we were able to accommodate such an incredible experience on every level. The location is defiantly the perfect fit for someone who seeks peace without having to sacrifice convenience. The beach is literally steps away and you have every possible amenity surrounding you including easy access to the well known 5th Avenue. We offer only the best recommendations based on excellent feedback from our guests and VIPs. I am extremely happy that you felt that level of quality in every establishment that we recommended including your experiences at PLANK, Imprevist, Indigo and the GYM. We will definitely hope to see you back with us for your future stays in Playa del Carmen.

Best,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We recently enjoyed our second annual visit to Condo Hotels with friends who have stayed in Condo Hotels every year for over a decade. This year, we opted for Porto Playa and it was great. You can't beat the location and proximity to the 5th street food and activities. The condo is very clean and neat. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but not the worst ever. The pool was amazing and we loved it. The only complaint about the pool would be that there were no restrooms so we had to go back to our condo hotel. We rented bikes in town and the staff was very accommodating to let us store our bicycles in the underground garage. The maid service was excellent and took great care of us. The front office seemed a bit disorganized. They had our transportation billing wrong and then our airport transportation was not easy to organize. Plus, the transportation that they arranged was not nearly as nice as they usually book for us and quite a bit more expensive. We look forward to returning to Playa Del Carmen next year and we hope to try another Condo Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 544carrieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Owner at Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Carrie H,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to Porto Playa. I appreciate the wonderful comments about the onsite amenities, the cleanliness of the rooms and the property overall. We work to meet superior standards to maximize the quality of your stay. About the airport transportation you may have been feeling a bit of the high season prices and the same may apply to the transportation availability as the winter months get extremely busy for the transportation companies we contract with. We always try to seek out the most comfortable transportation at the best prices for our guests. As you mentioned about the mattresses, as part of some routine yearly improvements to the hotels we are addressing this issue by replacing the mattresses in each unit to provide more comfort for our guests. We still have a few rooms left to go but we are nearing completion of replacing all mattresses. I am thrilled that you chose Condohotels for a second time and we surely hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing