We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent condo in a fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #15 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent condo in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just returned from a week staying in Unit 219 at Porto Playa. Overall it was a fantastic experience. The condo complex is located one block from the beach and one block from 5th Ave. A perfect location. Unit 219 is more sheltered than other units from the noise so the revelry on new years didn't both us.

Pros:
- units are really nice. 219 is a two bedroom and it was furnished well, very comfortable, nice kitchen and bedrooms and great bathrooms. Three TV's if you want them.
- Pool set up is nice. not huge like a resort pool but very good and if you like to swim laps it is perfect (but a little warm). Very nice for kids
- Location is amazing. PDC is one of those few places where I wouldn't pay the extra to be on the beach. Way too much noise from the beach clubs into the wee hours of the night. You are one block off the beach.
- Imprevist breakfast is exceptional, Indigo is above average. Lunch at Indigo is very good, as is lunch at El Faro
- Amazing front desk staff. Very helpful.

Cons:
- Beach Club at Indigo is a joke. It is a very unattractive and smelly section of the beach. There are fishing boats all along that section and the beach is narrow. There are far better options if you walk just a few hundred yards either direction. We ended up using the beach a few properties down at El Faro, with whom Porto Playa has a relationship and you can get chairs for free.
- Housekeeping people were very kind and worked hard, but their scheduling system isn't very good. We had housekeeping miss us a couple days because they showed up to clean very late in the afternoon.
- Concierge was understaffed and not particularly helpful. A different experience than a concierge at a larger hotel so be prepared for that and don't rely on them for much. They were helpful, but not overly so.

Room Tip: If you want quiet than go with a second floor unit in the middle of the complex. If you want views t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    99
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
243
181
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been going to Playa del Carmen for over 20 years. I rarely write reviews, because I'm just too lazy. However, I feel the need to plug Porto Playa. We had a lovely quiet room on the ground floor tucked back in the garden. The place was clean, modern and very nicely keep up. My only complaint is workers were always fixing something, so at times it could be noisy by the pool.
The pool was perfectly sunny all day, which is hard to find at a small property. The staff was overly accommodating, very friendly, and most of all acted like they enjoyed working there! We loved the beach club, again great service and friendly! The health club was a great extra and I have to at least mention the chocolate shampoo in our room- so great I bought some to bring home! One more amazing detail - the hot tub was actually hot!!!

Room Tip: the garden rooms on the ground floor are very private, but go to an upper floor if you want a sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseBrianZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Second part of our 14 Day Mexico holiday and firstly you will notice is that this condo/hotel is right behind 5th Avenue so not too noisy but very close to everything (restaurants/bars/gift shops etc.)

We got a great deal on Expedia which the concierge mentioned so I believe this is why we didn't receive any breakfast vouchers (discount price available).

No lifts and no one manning the front gate on arrival - so I carried our suitcases (2 x 23kg) up the flight of stairs to the front desk.

First condo was room 203, the living room was huge but TV was small (<28") so you had to sit down on two small arm chairs about 2 meters away to get a decent view (not that you would be watching much TV - albeit they have cable with lots of movies on).

The shower/bathroom/jacuzzi is slightly strange in layout as you have two entrances, one glass door to the bedroom from behind the jacuzzi or straight ahead to the toilet/sink area that leads you towards the living room/kitchen.

Bedroom was slightly spooky as you have this large painting above the headboard of a traditional Mayan villager (head profile only) looking between some greenery with just the eyes staring straight forward.... slightly off putting!

Out gripe about this room was that there was a strange beeping sound every 5/10 seconds and also a vibrating drilling sound every 10 minutes throughout the night. Obviously we could not get any sleep, so I called front desk at night and they told me that the gym next door was going through some construction work but should be stopped by 6pm.... well hearing this big banging/vibrating sound at 1am till 10 am also was not putting us into a relaxing mood (I also woke up to see my wife's head sandwiched between two pillows as she struggled to get any sleep).

After complaining to the front desk, they did investigate and relate to our frustration and couldn't figure out what the beeping sound was (the vibrating/banging noise was later found out to be a broken down aircon duct at the gym).

So the next day after we got some sleep on the beach we came back to the news that we could move into the only room available which was 208 (1 double and 1 twin room), which we have to say was a lot better than 203. The layout was well spaced and rooms were brighter (with no scary pictures). Only thing to note is that the shower next to the kitchen, you need to aim the shower head towards the wall else you will have water trickling down the side of the glass door and creating a pool of water beside the toilet.

From here, the rest of our holiday was much much better and relaxing. The pool up on he first floor is smaller than it seems in the picture but at least it is warm... weirdly though the jacuzzi at the end of the pool is luke warm/cold? The pool at the bottom is shallow which is good for kids but the jacuzzi here is nice and hot... there was some construction going on while we were here but it was workers were nice and stopped as you walked by.

The staff here are well spoken and friendly and the cleaners do a great job in keeping condos clean and tidy.

We did use the gym next to the condo which is ok in size and has all the latest equipment and classes to join (I even used the new weights area which was where all the noise was coming from on our first night). Good advise - Take a bottle of water with you as there is no water fountain (strange for a gym) or you have to pay MX$15. Definately buy a Chicken Pasta salad or Chicken and Cous Cous Salad MX$55 from the gym cafe as they are really filling (we shared one) and have a freshly squeeze juice or milk shake for around MX$35.

We did use the access to the Indigo Beach club to lay out on the sun beds and the service there is quite efficient. Although you are crammed with a bunch of other guests and staff struggle to navigate through when tables and umbrellas are put out in between

It is about a 3 minute walk to get to Indigo Beach club which I would advise to go around the back (along 1st avenue past Imprevist and then take a left at the Divers shop. If you walk along the beach, you will smell a lot of fish (from the boats moored up) and get hassled for massages every 10 seconds as you try to get to the club.

It is a shame as guests of the Porto Playa Condo, we couldn't use the other amenities of the other Condos of the same chain such as using the El Taj pool outside the Indigo Club. Apart from that, this place is fine to stay as a couple but I think it caters for more family/friends.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 203 until they figure out what that beeping noise is (maybe request them to remove that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugenmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have just returned from Porto Playa in Playa del Carmen. In the ten or twelve years I have been going there, I have seen Playa evolve from a sleepy fun fishing town to a lively mini-Vegas which is still fun and has lots to offer. (Go to Tulum for a quieter experience if that is more you!)

The Condohotels Porto Playa complex has wonderful units, clean, spacious with great bathrooms, a very nice pool and wonderful location a block from the beach (where the most lovely breakfast is served by Hugo, William and the rest of the wonderful boys).

However, the icing on the cake at Porto Playa is undoubtedly the staff. They are wonderful, helpful, polite, courteous, and always available for advice and help. I can't thank them enough, especially Fernanda and Erick. Fernanda sorted out our very wet evening when she ordered pizza for us from a local pizzeria - excellent choice Fernanda! The concierge service is also a very good idea although perhaps not as networked into the local scene as we had hoped, and not very competitive when it came to car hire prices for our day trip to Tulum (lunch at Posada Margherita is always a must, followed by a swim and a walk along the beach there - bliss!).

Thank you Porto Playa for a wonderful holiday. I will be back!

Room Tip: There is a lot of building going on in Playa so make sure you check that out in advance although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have previously stayed at El Taj and Maya Villa and on this trip, we stayed at the Porto Playa. We were very impressed and, in fact, we probably liked it the best of Jack's four developments: in all likelihood this will be where we stay from now on. Don't get me wrong, El Taj and Maya Villa are also fabulous - it all depends on what you're looking for. We travelled as two couples of 40+ yrs old (but still hip, lol!). PP and MV are a bit quieter than El Taj. The pool itself at PP is beautiful and so warm! And the pool area was lovely, with both sunny and shady parts. All four of the condohotels sites are perfectly placed for a fabulous trip to Playa del Carmen - one block away from Quinta and a tranquil oasis.

I've seen AhMrBond's review of Unit 217, which is the unit we stayed in, and I do have to agree with him to an extent. I thought that the size of the second bedroom was ok, but his comment about the low shower in that bathroom made me grin - my dad is 6'4" and had the same problem! Be aware that this unit does NOT have a washer/dryer so I've come home for the first time in ten years with two suitcases full of dirty laundry (not being willing to pay, on average, £1 per item for the in-house laundry service). And there is no dishwasher, but if like many travellers you do not cook a lot on holiday this is so minor as to barely be worth mentioning. The only thing that the rooms could do with are a little more storage space for clothing - perhaps a dresser with drawers? Staying there for two weeks, we were struggling on storage space a bit. And unfortunately, the front of PP looks out over a bit of an eyesore so do not expect an ocean view.

Having seen the section of this review for sleep quality, I do have to mention that all four of us commented on how incredibly comfortable the beds were - I haven't slept so much or so soundly in years!

I have to give a shout-out to Erick, Brito and Fernanda - their customer service is excellent and I can't rate them highly enough. They dealt with some potentially prickly guests with grace and good humour.

All in all, another great trip to Playa del Carmen and our new favourite residence - keep up the great work, Jack!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinvickers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munchkinhead_9
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

pros- quiet, great for older couple/ young families, location
cons- pools are much smaller in person than in hotel pictures, condos vary and are average-not four star, no access to other playa condos which are a shame

Porto playa condos are in a great location but for the price you pay I would not stay again as I thought you don't get much for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkinhead_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here in a 2 bedroom penthouse appartment [unit 217] with 3 other friends.
Catered for most of my needs, although for 4 adults the 2nd twin room was very clearly aimed at children which was quite small and the shower was positioned very low, started to fall off the wall aswell which didn't help. Towels hanging right next to the toilet was a poor design.
The master bedroom and bathroom looked very good and could not fault.
The balcony area off the living room was popular which overlooked the pool. we didn't actually use the roof top with jacuzzi and barbequeue that much, so if you are not bothered for this book the 2nd floor rooms.
Swam 40 lengths in the pool every morning, this was better than most hotel pools.
Breakfast was excellent at the Imprevist restaurant which is situated on the beach in the nextdoor sister property. You get vouchers for this. My only critisim on this was it opened at 0800. This is far too late, especially if you have sightseeing trips booked.
The beach area was as expected if you have done some research, you will probably be better walking up the beach to find a better/quieter area if this is the main reason you are staying in Playa. Location otherwise was excellent with easy access to all shops bars and restaurants on 5th avenue.
In terms of value, it is difficult to say as I have stayed in a beautiful appartment in central Nice in peak season which should be far more expensive, The cost of the Porto playa was double this for a week. If you get some good offers on this place it is worth looking at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AhMrBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#9 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing