We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Repeat Visit Repeat Excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit Repeat Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

After Christmas thru New Years with my family again Porto Playa Condo Hotels proved to be an excellent choice of stay.
We enjoyed the Celebration of New Years on our rooftop self grilled dinner and easily joined the crowds on 5th Ave for a short time of dance and fun and easily returned to the quiet and comfort of the condo later that night. This location is excellent. Facilty is top notch beauty and elegance security guards at door ensuring quiet and safety. Staff is attentive and caring. One block from the beach, use of Indigo beach club and the premier gym in playa downstairs famed 5th Ave one block other direction... what more do you want ? Nothing, its all there Enjoy it :)

Room Tip: Anyone we talked to staying there loved their room and facility Cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayankng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    95
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
220
171
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent the last week in December at this property. The condo exceeded our expectations, the staff were extremely helpful and the location was excellent. They are as close to the beach as advertised and afternoons at the beach club were a highlight of the trip. We also did a day trip to Punto Vendao (a related property?) and I'd highly recommend that for a more quite experience.

The gym was much better than expected and daily yoga classes in "Spanglish" were both challenging and fun.

Best of all, the property was about 100 yards from the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue, but seemed like a million miles away once you stepped through the entrance.

Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2012 and found it great. Not only was the room much larger than expected it was great quality and really nice. Not only that, but we had an incident with the car when there and the hotel were really helpful in supporting us with this accident. Very prompt and supportive during a very stressful time, going above what was expected. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

stayed there 16/12- 23/12 a very relaxing freindly place, good pool well located, nice very helpful staff. wonderful rooms/ beach is also used by bpats which is alittle problem but manageable.
2 minutes walk to beach 1 miute for 5th ave,people in playa very nice. do give tips as the discrepancy between the rich american tourists to the locals is substantial. recomended both for couples and famillies/

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rozi509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamá
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

One block from quinta avenida and beach club, walking distance from bus station and ferry boats. Meticulously cleaned every day. Beautiful architecture. Many amenities: concierge, books, dvds, minibar, beach club -hip and trendy-, spa, gym, restaurant, perhaps free dinner at the beach club. Employees are extremely polite and cortious even when handling rude guests.

Room Tip: The same company owns porto beach front hotel, porto beach side hotel and porto condo hotel. Try th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just spent a week at Porto Playa. Absolutely loved the condo complex. It's extremely well run and maintained and the location and units themselves are really hard to beat. The gym and pool are top notch, our cleaning lady, Edna was terrific, and Marco, the front desk attendant was really very friendly and helpful. In fact, they all were.

There are, however, 2 issues with the 4 Condo complexes, (El Taj, Porto Playa, Maya Villa, and Villas Sacbe, all owned by the same guy) that in my opinion can't be overlooked. All guests of these complexes have access to the Indigo Beach Club which is right on the beach at El Taj. For what it's worth my wife and I prefer Porto Playa to El Taj because it seems El Taj is a bit more "rambunctious" and geared for the party crowd. The first thing that you have to really consider before booking any of these places is that the beach club allows smoking even in the beach chair area. There's not much more infuriating than some inconsiderate moron lighting up right next to people who just want to enjoy their space without breathing in someone else's filth. How smoking can be allowed in this public space and cater to this small minority that have their head's up their .... is beyond me. If you have any sensitivities to smoking then do not book these places! There's other options out there that I'm sure adhere to 21st century considerations and make smokers scurry off somewhere where they can't ruin other people's vacation enjoyment. The second thing you need to consider is the fishing boats that line up in front of Indigo Beach. The Management will say that they add charm and thoughts of "Old Mexico". The truth is, they stink of dead fish when you swim by, and the anchor ropes are like running an obstacle course when trying to enjoy the water. Why they can't move these boats to one side or the other of the long pier that's there is beyond me. At least guests would have at least one side of the pier to enjoy fishing boat free water.

On the positive, The service and food at Indigo are top notch. Kudos to Carlos and Chico, really great guys.

It really is a shame that the two issues I mentioned weren't more refined. We actually would consider purchasing a condo at Porto Playa in the future because of it's quality, however, the Beach Club really turned us off because of what we would consider to be easy fixes. Porto Playa really is "So Close" to being fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouseindahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The only low was a US$ 10.00 day fee for using the internet (Who the hell should still charge that much for a simple wifi signal?).
The penthouse was relly nice. Nice furniture, Good breakfast, Good Gym room. It was really worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing