We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Playa 211 A Great Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #15 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We could not have been happier with our stay in Porto Playa’s penthouse unit 211. We had vacationed in Playa before, but never enjoyed the amenities of a first class condo hotel.
Our unit included a roof top terrace complete with Jacuzzi, sofa, loungers, bbq, fridge, etc. It was a wonderful spot to enjoy lunch or soak up the sun. We had a beautiful view of the jungle courtyard and the pool. We especially enjoyed the pool which was a perfect temperature and never busy.
The unit was spotless and included the finest amenities throughout. The kitchen was fully equipped. Porto Playa is located one block from the beach and one block from the popular 5th Avenue. As guests at Porto Playa, we had free access to the Indigo Beach Club. The beach in Playa del Carmen is terrific and stretches for miles. On 5th Avenue dozens of unique shops and fine restaurants are available. An excellent gym facility is also on site.
The staff at Porto Playa are excellent and were attentive to our every need.
We look forward to our next stay at the Porto Playa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 649 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

I'll start by saying that for many people this place would be absolutely fantastic. It's very close to the beach, the condos are clean and well-appointed, there is a nice pool and it's great if you are traveling with a family or another couple. That said, while we enjoyed the convenience and savings of renting a condo where we could stay with our friends, there were a number of things we didn't like about it.

The primary thing we didn't like about it, frankly, was that it's in Playa del Carmen. Again, Playa del Carmen is great for a lot of people, it just wasn't our speed. It's incredibly touristy. There are more Italian restaurants than Mexican ones. The food is incredibly over-priced. There are tons of cheesy souvenir shops. There's not much authentic about it anymore, especially compared with Tulum, where we spent the first half of our trip.

As for the hotel itself, here are the things we didn't love about it:

-The staff was helpful on the surface, but when there was actually a problem that needed to be addressed they weren't that competent. Our hot tub was not working for the entire time we were there and since we booked a room with a rooftop deck expressly to have such amenities, this was frustrating. They kept coming by and alleging they had fixed the problem, but they never fixed it. When I complained about it at checkout, the manager was quite rude to me, though they did give us a discount.

-A similar issue occurred with the bed in the second bedroom. We requested 2 king-sized beds, but, as is common, the non-master bed was actually 2 doubles pushed together and fitted with a king mattress. Problem was, the bed was on wheels and at night the 2 beds would separate. Needles to say, not comfortable for our friends. When we complained, the front desk said they would tie the legs together, but they never did.

-They have a system where you need to check in and out towels every time you use them for the pool or beach and it gets quite annoying because you always have to make sure you have these towel tickets on you. If you are someone who tends to lose little pieces of paper, this will make you crazy and probably cost you money as a lost ticket costs $25. They had a similar system for their free breakfast.

-Our room was allegedly a partial beach view, but when they said partial, they weren't kidding. You could barely see the beach and only if you stood right at the edge of the balcony. If you were seated, in the hot tub for example, vegetation that was planted on the balcony in the most ill-conceived way, would block your view. (This was unit 220, which is the unit with the best view.)

Overall, this place is more than fine, but it's not cheap, so it's worth it to know what you're getting for your money and then deciding if it's worth it to you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We had an incredible stay! The Porto Playa complex is located in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Truly amazing is that although everything is so close, the site is very quiet and relaxing! It only takes a few minutes to walk to the beach, and the 5th avenue where there is very, very many shops, restaurants and bars! If you want quiet, you have it, if you want shopping you have it, if you want great food and bars, you have it! They have the “indigo” a private beach club where plenty of comfortable bedlike chairs, palapas and great food are waiting for you! Our 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen 2 full bathrooms and living room was just fantastic! The bedding and sheets were are very comfortable, ensuring a good night’s sleep! The unit we occupied had a beautiful sun roof, with SPA and shower, huge palapa, kitchen counter with sink, fridge, BBQ, sofa, dining table, We were 5 adults and never felt squeezed, there was a lot of extra room for everyone! This condo hotel is very different from regular condos. They offer all hotel commodities, such as front desk and security 24 hours a day. People working there really love their jobs! Maid service, security, maintenance and office staff, etc (many people working there) are very discrete but at the same time always smiling and making sure everything is perfect! We were asked a countless number of times if everything was perfect! Services, I think anything is possible for this hotel! One evening we had a private chef that took over our kitchen to serve us a great dinner! At our request they found a private charter boat for our group where we went snorkelling. The boat was also fully equipped for deep sea fishing! On the boat we were taken to a shallow white sand bay for swimming and lunch! We really loved this place (we have been in Playa del Carmen 8 or 9 times already) but this was our most remarkable holiday! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pictures on there site are real, consult them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at Porto Playa 216 this past week and just loved it! First of all, Laura, the owner was SO great assisting up with planning our vacation -- letting us know what to bring, restaurant recommendations, etc. The condo was a great size, kitchen was TOTALLY stocked and seemed brand new, two big bathrooms each with walk-in showers, everything was perfect. Also, the cleaning service was amazing and our place was always spotless when we came home from the beach.

The pool was one of my favorite aspects of Porto Playa. It was always the perfect temperature, had comfortable chairs to layout on, and was surrounded by lush flowers/plants/trees. The hot tub was great as well.

Finally, Porto Playa is in the perfect location. The beach is half a block away (you get free access to the Indigo Beach Club which was amazing) and half a block in the other direction is fifth avenue -- a 2 mile long strip of adorable restaurants, bars, night clubs, and shops.

Overall Porto Playa is highly recommended -- we had a great time and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Playa Condo Hotel - this is our 5th time staying at this complex. It keeps getting better and better!! The Condo Hotel properties include 4 complexes located near one another in the heart of Playa del Carmen, one of which is directly on the beach. The developer of these complexes has created a truly superior environment - the workers, from the concierge, desk staff, domestics, security, are all extremely well trained, customer-service oriented, capable people. Everyone who works in these condo hotels makes you feel like you're the most important person staying there.
The grounds are maintained impeccably, as are the interiors of the condos. We've stayed in the same condo 4 years in a row - and it still looks brand new. The pools are beautiful and the Porto Playa pool is one of the biggest, and of the few heated, pools in Playa del Carmen. It's wonderful to come back from the beach club at El Taj (Indigo) and have a dip in the pool before dinner. Did I mention that Indigo has one of the best breakfasts and/or lunches in all of town?
We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Playa every year. Just can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohawkdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We have just returned from Playa Del Carmen. Our stay at Porto Playa could not have been better. It is only 1/2 block to the beach, 1/2 block to the pedestrian walkway (5th Ave) and there is no need for a car! The building is home to the Gym (no cost for guests) A beach club at an affiliate property and Friday and Saturday yoga and Tai chi on the beach. The pool is beautiful and since there are only about 20 apartments it was never crowded. The courtyard had very dense vegetation for privacy and a tropical feeling. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbone91148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

WONDERFUL VACATION! THE BEST! Great accommodations! We stay in unit 202 and it was UN believable. It is the best vacation we ever had and we travel a lot. We could walk everywhere (to the beach, fine dining, shopping) neat atmosphere ~ brick paved streets. It was safe; take early morning walks on the beach or in the village, nice fitness facility available on site. Landscaping and Pool was like something out of a magazine. Fantastic time. Pam & Gary Steiner

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $191 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing