We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesn't get nicer than this ”
Review of El hongo

El hongo
Ranked #41 of 1,576 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Went with friends for brunch and were very impressed. The huevos rancheros were great but the best were the pancakes. Definitely the best breakfast we have had in our month in Playa. Not only is the food good but the restaurant also supports the community artists and kids. Afterwards you feel good in more ways than one.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank perkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 210 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Good prices and great food. You should try their lemonades, amazing taste and original look. And sweet pancakes with chocolate...mmm wonderful

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank liubovt2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

The food I was served at El Hongo was absolutely delicious.
The cafe supports a youth arts project so the surroundings are beautiful.
If you go to Playa del Carmen please don't miss going to El Hongo

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I enjoy off the beaten paths finds. Ones where the locals go, and this place was perfect. Cozy, eclectic, delicious and affordable. We would definitely recommend and come back!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank MrsM042713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

A phenomenal hidden gem. I went with a group of both vegetarians and non-vegetarians, and everybody loved their meal. Everything on the menu can be made vegetarian. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I would have gone back multiple times to try everything on the menu if I had time!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IzzyRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El hongo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El hongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing