We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveler rating
298
204
54
17
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
204
54
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool small hotel two blocks luxury hotel rental car air conditioning water pressure avenue nativo walmart
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 593 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We had a comfortable stay. It was a very clean and spacious room, the garden and pool had a tranquil atmosphere. The location is great, 2 blocks from 5th Ave. close enough to shop and far enough to not hear the late night parties. Friendly staff, attentive and helpful.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Next to the pool is nice
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma H, Gerente at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We hope you visit us again very soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

We stayed at Playa del Karma for our 5 day visit to Playa del Carmen in late March. The hotel itself is small and clean and the staff is friendly. The courtyard is what makes this place! Rooms are situated around an open air court yard filled with tropical plant and trees and a small pool. Each room really has a lot of privacy with its' own little patio area and a hammock outside each room. One night we stayed in and had a few drinks on the patio and it was incredibly peaceful. It is just a few blocks from the beach and the bustling 5th Avenue, which is quite nice when you want some peace and quiet. Accommodations in the room were comfortable: large bed, clean linens, air conditioning and a small tv. I would certainly stay here again!!

Room Tip: On Thursday through Saturday nights you may hear some residual bass noise from nearby Coco Bongo nightclub
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank elizabethelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017

Let me start by saying, that the staff and the service was very good, very nice, almost perfect.

The rooms are not equally good, and we startet on a very small room, untill our aircondition broke down, and we got a bigger room.
Should I make a rating based on the small room, it would be 2*

Right next to the hotel is a discoteque, and it plays from around 6pm untill 2-4am.
Some nights it was so loud, that we couldnt sleep untill 4 am.
So if this is your choice, bring earplugs with you :)

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fiskefjaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma H, Gerente at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We hope you visit us again very soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in early March. It was a great deal, had everything we needed, was a short walk to the main 5th avenue area and the beach but not too close to the madness (it was spring break after all). We hardly spend any time in hotels when we're on vacation but this place had a nice little pool that we used every evening that made us feel like we were in a tiny jungle right in the middle of playa. There's also an adorable hotel kitty - bonus :)
Like everywhere in Mexico, the bathroom is simple and you cannot flush any paper - just pointing this out since I didn't realize it before we travelled there. Actually seemed pretty smart, just different.
Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the bed was really hard and the wifi didn't work in our room (but it worked fine right outside in the courtyard).

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the corner and it was quiet for us.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017

Easy walk to beach & THE people watching mecca of 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen. Practically no walk to a myriad of variety in eateries of all kinds....we did not have a bad anything, anywhere. We came home to a comfortable bed, air conditioning & a real rain shower shower. For just plain value & comfort this aptly name hotel rates 5 stars with me.

Room Tip: We check for comfortable beds & AC. Karma was "a great" to stay!!
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HildaW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma H, Gerente at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

It is a pleasure to receive them, we hope they can return very soon, we have many additional services that could interest them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews