We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of authenticity and beauty in a tourist scam of a city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa del Karma
Ranked #129 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A touch of authenticity and beauty in a tourist scam of a city!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I accidentally reserved the wring days but Mario accommodated us anyway. The lobby is not air conditioned but the is because the inner area of the hotel is an atrium so it is all open anyway. It is beautiful!! Small pool that gets full of leaves easily since it is surrounded by trees. Small lizards run around, They are so cute. Our second night in the hotel and pipe broke in the room next to use that caused us to have to move rooms. Mario was very apologetic and helped us with our luggage. The rest of our stay was in a nicer room on the top with a great porch and hammock. They manager came to personally apologize and gave us a basket of authentic Mexican candies.

The staff doesn't speak much English but you are in a foreign country so that should be expected everywhere you go. I love this place and will definitely return. If is 3 blocks from beach. 4 blocks from walmart and 5 blocks from some amazing local authentic restaurants. It's so cute they put towels made into different shapes on you bed each day including dog (including sticker eyes), sea monkey, and turkey. Such a cute touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGuevara44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    199
    53
    17
    19
See reviews for
38
313
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I didnt have plans to stay at this hotel I was going to Tulum but I had problem with the rentalcar so I went there just for 1 nigth and the hotel is very small , the rooms are small, the pool also, very small hotel and I was not able to get internet in my room that was the closer to the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quesochica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions while laying over in Playa del Carmen on our way to another location. So we didn't do an extended stay.

What works: We paid about $60USD, which is a good value for the area. Even though the hotel is on a busy street, all of the rooms face a courtyard and are very quiet. It's off the main drag (believe me, you don't want the main drag) but it's a super easy walk to the restaurants and the beach. Just a block away from the ADO bus station. Best of all- a KING bed which is practically unheard of in the land of the Mayan double bed.

Beware: The interior courtyard is very tranquil and the plunge pool is nice but the moisture and vegetation attract the mosquitos. Lost a pint of blood attempting an evening read in the hammock on the porch. The shaded courtyard also means that the rooms don't get much sun. There isn't really a social scene here so you'll need to hit the beach or bars for that.

I'd recommend this to anyone who wants modest accommodation for a few nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfaringviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wash.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Playa del Karma on our last night of vacation before flying home from Cancun. It really makes for a nice relaxing evening and this time we visited the beach club. We had come from Tulum and just wanted to relax for our last night so we had purchased a bus ticket to the airport for the next day. The hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy the cool garden and small pool after a long day of traveling. The beach club has that wonderful white sand and the swimming is great and you can wander down 5th ave. doing some last minute shopping and getting some great ice cream. All and all it's a great place to spend the last night in the Maya Riveria and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I found this hotel on Priceline. It was a terrific bargain and I will most definately stay there again. A small hotel with about 15 rooms. My room was perfect - clean, quiet, no issues. The hotel is on 15th Avenue and in the middle of everything. Three blocks to the beach, 3 blocks in the other direction to the MEGA supermarket, 2 blocks to Constitutiones. I walked everywhere and felt 100% totally safe. In my 5 day stay i probably saw 500 police officers - no joke, they are everywhere. Restaurants all around. If 5th avenue if your thing (it is NOT mine) it is a short 2 blocks away. I prefer the local flare instead and walked to 30th Avenue and the more local places. Mario at the front desk was fantastic, had lots of good food tips. I was the only guest using the pool during my 5 day stay but it was warm and clean and well maintained. The pool is surrounded by trees which gives the whole place a rainforest feel, expect to have to take the occasional leaf or two out of the water - no big deal. While I was there they skimmed the pool 3 times a day - it is plenty clean! WiFi does only work in the lobby. My A/C was super cold and froze me out. The hotel is clean, well maintained and quaint - an excellent value. If you expect the IBEROSTAR you will be disappointed, if you expect a basic clean room and a very quaint atmosphere this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: I was in room #10 and it was perfect for me. If given a choice, I may of asked for a room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Pros: Excellent Location, lovely staff, Excellent Atmosphere and Decoration of the common areas. Cons: WiFi is only available in the Lobby; no WiFi inside your room. The AC in my room wasn't working, luckily it wasnt very hot but i can't imagine staying there during July or August without AC. And another disappointing feature was the breakfast. We payed the "breakfast included rate" but it was just coffee, juice and toast.. I would recommend the hotel, and definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Nice small hotel, excellent position, clean, quieter, the price are good, the garden is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Good option.

Room Tip: very close to the beach, bus station and also close to the super market and the 5th av.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrosolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#63 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#119 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#73 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa del Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa del Karma

Property: Hotel Playa del Karma
Address: Mza 122 Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 Lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa del Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa del Karma, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, is a contemporary ethno-boutique hotel designed primarily with indulgence and service in mind. This Playa del Carmen hotel with its prime location in the heart of the youngest and liveliest city in the Riviera Maya and its close proximity to the Quinta Avenida is centrally located, allowing guests the convenience to access diverse tourist attractions that accommodate all interests and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Playa del Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Karma Hotel
Playa Del Karma Carmen
Hotel Playa Del Karma Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing