We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best falafel burger ever!”
Review of Chic pea - CLOSED

Chic pea
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Galveston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best falafel burger ever!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful vegetarian food...the falafel burger is the best we have ever eaten.

So yummy! The lemonade is great, too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank britishgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    17
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Falafel!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just a wondering charming place right off 5th Ave. There is a creative menu with falafel themed meals from all over the world it seemed, they even had a hot dog falafel! Everything we had, we all enjoyed including the lemonade bar. I found this place off of tripadvisor and the reviews prior to me hit the nail on the head, make sure you stop by while in Playa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpnc9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Eustatius
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautifully creative falafel menu!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Situated in one of the more pleasant and relaxed areas of Playa del Carmen's fifth avenue, this little falafel and lemonade shop is charming. The decor is incredibly pretty with muted pastel blue and yellow and their menu is incredibly inspiring. Taking themes from around the world, the falafel can be fashioned into many funky sandwiches. I have been twice and enjoyed the falafel itself, but the sandwich combinations and fillings are really very tasty and filled with great flavour combinations. I recommend this place highly! Also, the raspberry lemonade was rather lovely too. My husband didn't enjoy the falafel as much as I did as he thought it a little dry - but I really enjoyed them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DollyDiabolique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Playa!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here to try something different, and did we get it! We ordered the original falafel on pita which was excellent. Cooked perfectly with great flavors. Numerous sauces on the side were also outstanding, although the falafel itself shines on its own. The lemonades are fresh and unique in flavor, but not overly sweet. Great cafe setting and very friendly staff. Our only regret is that we stopped here 2 days before leaving. Heading back there today! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank SamBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“World class falafels!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fantastic falafels, spiced and cooked perfectly(!), in excellent pita with delicious toppings. These were as good as I've had anywhere, including Washington DC, Paris, NYC and the Middle East, The lemonade was also terrific. Not fine dining, but my wife and I enjoyed a perfect cafe lunch and returned twice for lunch which we brought back to the pool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arrybay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chic pea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing