We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh breakfast”
Review of Maria Bonita

Maria Bonita
Ranked #811 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great fresh breakfast”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a really quaint cute little restaurant with about 6 tables. The fruit smoothies were amazing and full of flavor, we had the mixto. The eggs were fresh, the yolks were bright and everything was cooked properly. We had scrambled eggs with jamon, queso y chorizo and it came with a side of toast. Also had an amazing dish i can't recall the name of. It was corn tortillas with bean spread, salsa and two sunny side up eggs. The ham and cheese crepes were decent, the sandwich they made for us with a croissant and ham and cheese was delicious. The people were incredibly friendly, Carlos and another older man ran the small restaurant along with two cooks. Everyone was extremely accommodating, especially because our orders were slightly difficult and they basically made us whatever we wanted, whether it was on the menu or not. (Spoiled Americans!!!) And they did everything with a smile. Must get a few orders of bacon, crispy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplehaze925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality breakfast”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I read a recommendation for this place in a review for the hotel we are staying at. Since it was only a couple of blocks from our hotel, we decided to try it. They have a large selection of menu options but I opted for the English breakfast advertised on the sign out front. 2 eggs, toast, a meat and cheese, fresh squeezed juice and coffee or tea for $6 US. I had scrambled eggs and selected bacon (ham was the other option). My food arrived hot and fresh a few minutes later and was arranged very prettily! There was a sliced tomato arranged like a flower, a side of beans, small pieces of rolled up cheese, along with the expected items. The fresh pineapple juice was a nice treat as well. I will definitely return later this week to try something else!

Helpful?
2 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Poor Quality”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have passed by Maria Bonita Restaurant on 10th street regularly as we live in Playa but had never gone in. As we like to support local businesses we decided to try breakfast there this morning after church. Big mistake. I ordered Eggs Benedict and my husband ordered the crepes with ham and cheese. We also ordered a mango, strawberry and orange smoothie. The smoothie was great although we had to wait a while for it. Then I noticed that our order was placed on the counter. We waited for some time and then the waitress came over to it looked at it and talked to the people at the next table who had ordered after us. She then talked to the chef. She waited more time and then the chef handed her a wrap that she then delivered to the other table. Meanwhile our order is still sitting out on the counter. She then walked away. We managed to get the attention of another waiter who then delivered our breakfast. Needless to say it was cold. Have you ever had cold eggs benny. It is not good. I sent it back and said it was cold. They microwaved the whole plate (including the fresh avocado and tomato). Guess what. The eggs were warm now but the yolks were hard and the avocado and tomato were cooked. Toast that was on the plate was soggy. As for the crepes. They were cold with hardened cheese and ham. They then had the nerve to add a tip onto the price. We paid the bill but will definitely not be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kelsea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vibe and good food!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We liked this place so much we ate here a few times while we were staying in playa del carmen. Both breakfast and dinner are great at this Family run establishment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The freshest breakfast you will ever have!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you are looking for a delicious breakfast or an afternoon refresher - you won't find anyplace better than Maria Bonita! It is family run, has a charming atmosphere and the fresh fruit smoothies and juice is the best I've ever had! Smooth, fresh and delicious! They have items on the menu or can be made to order.

It's just a short distance from the beach and also serves great authentic Mexican lunch and dinner. The prices are also very reasonable. I highly recommend you put this on your list of places to go when in Playa Del Carmen!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Bonita also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Maria Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing