We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #102 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in this hotel and upgraded ourselves to the upper suite which was really unique. the room was huge but nevertheless warm and homey.. Service was great starting from the receptionsts and ending with the cleaning staff which was really awesome. the location of the hotel is great and despite the fact that it is not far from the noisy fifth avenue Coco Bongo it is very quite. The coffee spot next to the computer in the garden is really homey and gives the sense that the visitors are really wanted here. I utterely recommend this hotel for its location and wonderful employees.

Room Tip: recommend the upper rooms which are bigger and more comfotable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    104
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
192
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The price/value relation is awesome. Very well designed rooms. First class service and very friendly. The hotel location is just perfect, close but far enough to rest without noise. Every request we had was flawlessly granted. If I still wanted the same Playa del Carmen experience, I'd choose Aqualuna.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a special place. From the excellent hospitality to the charming architecture and set up -- was totally blown away by this hidden gem in Playa Del Carmen!

LOCATION: Right on 10th and 14th St., it is literally steps away from action-packed 5th Avenue, yet a world away. From my room (number 1), I could hear nothing but the gentle sound of the fountain outside. It was bliss.

ROOM: Simple, yet beautifully appointed. Mayan toiletries in the bathroom/sink, which they buy directly from the villages by the way. Sustainability practices are written on every detail in the room, from the towel rack to the toilet paper signs. Like they say, it's all in the details. Humorous signs, too :)

The bed was firm, but comfortable. I woke up refreshed every day. Linens were always crisp and clean. My only complaint is that I found a sauce stain on one of the towels (albeit it was clearly clean) and there was some amount of frost at the bottom of the fridge. They didn't bother me one bit, but I must note this. Might be time for a little update?

SERVICE: When they say "infinite hospitality," they are not kidding. They live by their motto. Carlos at reception was excellent in every way, even gave me a full-size complementary Colgate total and tooth brush (brand-new!). Just as I asked where the drugstore was because I had left mine behind. Little things like this can simply make the day of the guest. In every instance I needed help or assistance, the staff went the extra mile. Just wow

PRICE: For just $60 a night (got an offer on low season, pre-book online and direct!), it was an absolute bargain. The boutique hotel experience, intimate get close to all the action in Playa Del Carmen, and Xcellent hospitality. What more could I have asked for?!

OVERALL: Perfect little hotel for the explorer. IF you are a traveler that prefers to stay in the hotel most of the trip enjoying amenities, Aqualuna is not for you. However, if you want a little cove to rest, Aqualuna is perfect :)

RATING: Would give it 4.5, but here I wouldn't take out a full star for what I specified. I recommend you don't get the breakfast option so you get to try the several local restaurants nearby

Can't wait to go back to Aqualuna. A little slice of heaven in the Yucatán!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBoricua87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Me and my husband went to Cancun and Playa del Carmen for 10 nights and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights . This is a very basic hotel ,nice, clean and comfortable. One block from all the 5th Av action.
Staff was absolutely AWESOME !!! Great asset for this company . Every single one of the employees were nice, professional, very service oriented and willing to help. Will definitely stay here again and recomend to friends and family . Walking distance to Walmart ( about 5 blocks ) and La Mega (around same blocks away but different direction ) A few steps away from the famous Coco Bongo yet quiet at night time . If you are just looking for a place to sleep while doing your excursion at Playa you won't go wrong w Aqualuna .
Also walking distance from the ADO terminal and very close by to Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplore and Tulum

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were a very good size, we had mamitas beach club included which was nice, the breakfast were buffet style and pretty good. All in all was the standard expected from a higher end hotel, only down side is location which is a few roads from the beach and a block away from coco bongo, pdc's biggest club (one night was noisy).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Aqualuna this weekend and loved it! The little courtyard area was so charming, especially at night.

The room was on the small side, but very comfortable and attractive. I especially liked the bathroom, which had been decorated with bougainvillea flowers (my favorite) and had a spacious shower with a rainfall showerhead. Good water pressure and heat, too!

The reception desk staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Yesica.

We loved the location, 1 block from the center of 5th Avenue, just by Calle Corazon (the most beautiful part of Playa del Carmen, in my opinion), and 2 blocks from the beach.

There's also free Wi-Fi (we didn't use it) and a good, free breakfast just a few blocks away at Hacienda Paradise hotel.

For the price and location, I thought this hotel was a home run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoritaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Front Desk at Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Xperience Famly we would like to thank you for oyur preference. We appreciate such valuable comments which really motivates us to improve and provide a better service everyday.We are looking forward to have the ooportunity to welcome you back soon.

With the best regards,

Yesica Sanchez.
Front Desk, Aqualuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Aqualuna is situated just one block from famous CocoBongo disco and 2 from main commercial strip of Playa´s little town. Attention is excelente and the place is very cozy. You get breakfast and hace access to a swimming pool in a sister hotel located 4 blocks away. An excelent deal.

Do not miss the animal figures made with towels. They prepare a different one for each day! A great touch of cozyness.

Room Tip: no elevators - pc and internet available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#80 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#142 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#127 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Av. 10 Con Calle 14 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqualuna is a beautiful boutique hotel in the very centre of Playa del Carmen drawing its inspiration from the peculiarity of the architecture of the Greek islands, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden typical of the Caribbeans. Strategically located only steps away from the famous 5th avenue, the hotel offers to its guests an intimate yet refined ambiance ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing