We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best overall experience I have had”

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
Ranked #47 of 1,365 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, (too) cheap, great service on both occations. I would recommend the tasting menu. If anything negative is to be said, it has to be that the portions are a bit big. Overall, the best value for money-experience I have ever had at a restaurant - a real treasure in Playa del Carmen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gliasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you for such and incredible review. We certainly love that you feel we are a real treasure in Playa del Carmen and we love that you had an excellent experience with us! Our unique cooking concept combined with a trendy upscale ambiance and fantastic service standards certainly is giving us incredible feedback. We thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 981 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Rather than go on and on just go. When somebody can make mashed potatoes with lobster I'm in. Good wine, excellent knowledgable staff. In fact it was so good we ate their twice.

1  Thank Bigbirdauto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We love the lobster mashed potatoes as well! If you love that dish you will go crazy for our twin baby lobster tails, Gourmet Lobster Flat bread and our Lobster Mac and Cheese. You need to try it all! Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon at Plank!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

very nice enviroment,pretty setting,we had two mojitos,it was best by far,then we tried family size flat-bread with mushrooms,leak,rosemary and cheese,it was delicious and we barely cleaned the plates,very good american food,this is a must in PDC

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear such wonderful comments about your experience at Plank! The mojitos are definitely a great pick! Next time try one of our smoky mojitos which sends a slight smoked flavor to your classic favorite cocktail. It's truly wonderful and unique. We are also glad that you enjoyed your food selections. Our flat breads are really popular for appetizers or to enjoy as a single meal. Next time give a try to our new twin baby lobster tails or our signature beef wellington. You will be happy you did! Thank you again for sharing and recommending. We hope to see you again soon at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in Playa del Carmen for one night on our trip to Cozumel. After much research on TA we decided to give Plank the shot to impress us and they did nothing less. The restaurant sits on a side street just off the main strip, so it's both centrally located but also a bit more subdued. The place is less than a year old so the decor is modern and classy. Our waiter was Mexican American, from California, so everyone in our party enjoyed the bilingual conversation and getting to know him a little. He presented the menu on an iPad so you could see what your choices looked like. The chef asked the server ta selection of spreads to try with the flat bread. We could have stopped there. It was amazing. But we ordered a few appetizers including the cambebert with red pepper relish. The best we have ever had. The chicken pot pie was also, hands down, the best I have ever had. Once the main dishes came we were already full, but the stage had been so perfectly set that we couldn't take it to go. They presented our meals on a variety of cedar and salt planks...hence the name Plank. I had the seared tuna roll, and again was treated to the best I've ever had. Keep in mind we live in DC which touts some pretty fine restaurants. To top off the entire meal, the bill only came out to be about $50 per person. Unreal. Our experience at Plank was better than anyone could expect and if we ever get back to Play del Carmen we will definitely be going back to Plank.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is so wonderful to receive such an outstanding review from a Senior Contributor such as yourself. We are truly delighted that you had a top notch enjoyable experience at Plank. Premier service and amazing food is our passion and we are so happy that you have seen the result of that. Your comments are such a huge compliment to us and we really appreciate you sharing it with the world on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon in the future at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

a great looking bunch and service to match. stopped by for dessert, coffee and espresso. the host, very accommodating. i sat at the bar and julio was wonderful. it was a nice treat to have david(my server back in april) remember me and say hello. total package dining experience and the staff is top notch!

1  Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic experience with us more than once! You are right! We have a great bar which is very comfortable to enjoy a cocktail, a fine espresso or a couple of nice bar appetizers. At Plank we provide an experience for every preference, either be it causal or a formal night out! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing