We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience”

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
Reserve with OpenTable
PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Liked the ambiance on a side street just off of 5th Avenue.

Interesting concept of plank fired preparation and presentation, or presentation on a heated Himilayan salt block. Salmon was excellent, prepared medium rare with a bernais sauce on the side. Companion had the grilled shrimp served on the salt block; six large shrimp was a generous serving. And, we found that the prices were very reasonable given the location, presentation, and portion sizes.

Only downside is that my companiion is in a wheelchair and there are steps up to the restaurant. However, i cannot say enpough about the staff who were very willing and helpful in getting us seated.

We recommended Plank to others we met at our resort.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for sharing your experience. We work hard creating a meaningful experience for our guests and do so by listening to feedback and acting on it. We hope that you will return back with us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    248
    92
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were in Playa del Carmen for a week and this was hands down our best meal. I had grilled salmon with no sauce at all, and my companion chose chicken with one of the sauces. Both were outstanding -- I eat salmon all the time but rarely get it seasoned and cooked to perfection as it was here. We also ordered roasted beets and asparagus, which were also cooked just perfectly. I wish we had known about this place before our last night so we could have eaten here more than once.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your extremely positive feedback about your dinner with us at Plank. With the Plank grilling concept, intense flavors are naturally infused right into the food while its being cooked. We are happy you enjoyed both the salmon and chicken along with our family style side dishes. Surely if you return back to Playa we hope to see you back with us.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic culinary experience!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Plank, a new restaurant in Playa del Carmen. In the past I have found the restaurants near 5th Avenue to be disappointing, but Plank impressed us with it's delicious fresh flavours and unique cooking methods.

Seafood is served on Himalayan salt planks, a really nice touch which adds to the flavour. The shrimp were large and fresh, delicately flavoured, and the scallops wrapped in bacon with apple puree were delectable!

I loved the flatbread with three dips - hummus, roasted tomato and smoked artichoke. They are flavours you don't see much of around Playa del Carmen, and could be a delicious light meal in itself.

The filet mignon served on a cedar wood plank was the best steak we have ever had. Served with a buttery, rich mushroom sauce it was melt in your mouth good. The mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus were excellent accompaniments.

We also got the tasting plate of desserts which we wish we left more room for! The chocolate mouse with coffee cream is out of this world!

We are already planning our next meal at Plank!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we are extremely delighted that your experience with everything was excellent. Our unique cooking concept is what makes us different but the quality of what we are presenting in terms of service and food is what we strive for every day! We are looking forward to your return visit with us at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We believed the TA hype but were disappointed!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We read the TA reviews and as foodies we were very eager to try this restaurant.


Strengthens:
- Very inviting atmosphere.
- Good service.
- Beef Wellington was cooked to perfection.
- Salmon Carpaccio was adequate.
- Great presentation on the food.

Weaknesses:
- Poor wine selection for the caliber of restaurant.
- Fish on Himalayan was ridiculously salty which is not supposed to be salty.
- Rack of lamb was thin and dry. Plank should be embarrassed.
- BBQ Rack was highly rated but an absolute joke.
- Portobello mushroom was tangy.
- The chicken flatbread with blue cheese was barely touched.

Overall:
The Plank is trying to be an upscale restaurant and the price is reflective; however, the quality of food is not commensurate. Presentation is great but the substance of the food requires a lot of work. We will not be returning to the Plank.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We take value to all of our clients comments so that we can take action. We are sorry that your experience with Plank was not as you anticipated. If we had known sooner before having read the review, definitely we would have tried to turn the situation around.
We are already in the works of expanding our wine menu.
Concerning the salty flavor some Himalayan salt blocks are a natural product and some salt planks have a higher content of salt than others. We encourage our guests to let us know so we can correct the situation immediately.
I have noted all of your comments and we will surely take everything into consideration .
We, at Plank, are striving to make a top quality experience for all our guests We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
“Delicious encounter”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

A resident of Playa del Carmen I recently had the opportunity to dine at the plank. Very often I miss the higher end cuisine and stylish restaurants I took for granted back home in the United States. Plank satisfied my taste buds and providing a setting that made me feel like I was the trendy downtown district of some metropolitan city. I will definitely be going back for more, and soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and also that we were able offer this kind of upscale trendy environment that you were searching for in Playa del Carmen. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing