We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Palace Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #42 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cleburne, TX
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“RIU Palace Riviera Maya”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Nice resort. Very beautiful Speciality restraunts RUSHED. Micheal Jackson show was great. Found two seahorses at Tulum while swimming on the beach. Tulum ruins are roped off. So you can't get very close. Buffet was always good. Staff was always pleasent. We got there the 17th @ 16:30 and our room wasn't ready till 1930. Room should have been ready when we got there. They did give each a bottle of wine. (All You Can Drink Resort) lol The other couples room had problems, toilet didn't work nor did the A/C. They had to sleep under the ceiling fan on the floor their room was so hot. next night they gave them a regular Jr. Suite. We both had suites. Next day they had to go to the front desk and tell them to ether get them a suite or a refund. They did move them a third time to a suite with working A/C and toilet. Not much night life. The nightly shows were about it. The Riu Tequlia was more the party spot. Beach was beautiful.
Over all very beautiful resort. But,next time I think we will go to an adult only resort.
Sports bar was pretty dead. Beautiful pool. If I were to go back I think I would only eat at the buffet. Most resorts we've gone to in the past always had a list of activities and times left on your bed each night they didn't here. And speciality restraunts were always open though you might have to wait for a table to open and never felt rushed to finish and leave as I did here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldorrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,459
    1,355
    420
    161
    113
See reviews for
1,546
2,710
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have been to the Palace 2 times now and LOVE IT!! Be sure to look for Santos and ask him to make you his special frozen caipirinha. You will not be disappointed!! Also be sure to ask for a room away from the stage.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJSkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

we have just come back from a wonderful two weeks the hotel is good could not find any fault.The staff could not do enough for you and always had a smile on their face.the pool area was good plenty of sun beds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyBusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

we just returned from Riu Palace, Hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Rooms soo clean ! The food was incredible. We tried the restaurants 2 nights but the buffet food was 5 star all the way. The service was above and beyond. We were treated extremely well ! The pools were amazing (wish they stayed open later). The beach was gorgeous. We had the best bartender ever in the lobby upstairs (Islam, thanks for everything, great guy and very polite and great at his job)
We will be returning again soon to this resort. Its should be a 5 star rating hands down !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g69m2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

What can we say about this hotel, "WOW".
From start to finish this holiday, the hotel and staff were brilliant. The staff could not do enough for you especially Islyen, (the bar man in La Habana), Leister at the pool bar and all the other staff serving drinks and food. Special thanks to our room maid the room was tip top everyday. The food at this hotel was 1st CLASS from breakfast to Dinner, how some people can complain about this hotel is beyond me. We will be back again. Thank you it was brilliant.
Top tip, go to Xel-Ha water park for the day, 8th wonder of the world.
Couple from Cumbria England

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colinwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

As always I made my best decition ,rui palace is the best.is only 40 minutes from cancun international airport,the hotel is a palace the room was clean like what i spected a 5 stars hotel ,the food was incredible , the beach the most bautiful blue you have ever seem.the staff was incredible.nice shows at nite .it was a incredible vacations

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We recently stayed here (husband/wife/1year old son) and we were treated like royalty. Rooms were immaculate. A/C worked perfectly (some other review surprise me- why not just call and get it fixed). The food was incredible and plentiful. Different themes every night. The pool bar staff was non-stop. Checking on our drinks, clearing empty glasses, smiling, etc. You couldn't have asked for a better vacation. We're fairly well traveled and can honestly say this ranks as one of the top 3 hotels/resorts we've ever stay at. We will definitely repeat this one with family and friends. HINT: Although absolutely not required, tips work wonders and are greatly appreciated by the staff. They certainly go above and beyond every day- even calling you by name and greeting you with a smile. Guarantee you will not be disappointed here!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eshehady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.4 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,551 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,057 reviews
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing