We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #49 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived on 11th June for a two week stay. Booked with Thomson Holidays UK and enjoyed the efficient private transfer. Great looking entrance and reception area. Friendly and efficient reception staff greeted us with a welcome drink. Had emailed Thomson and the hotel asking for top floor nearer the beach and had to wait until the following morning for this.

Good size room overlooking the gardens and next door's hotel, nice and quiet. We had two double beds pushed together with steps down to a seated area. Plenty of storage space. The bathroom is dated but still very clean as was the rest of the room. There was a smell that is more than the usual humid smell which seemed to be worse when the air con was on, opened the patio door instead and didn't notice it. Each day we had either towel art or turn down service which was a nice touch. Mini bar was refilled every day.

Food was great. Breakfast excellent selection and can have freshly made omelettes of your choice, great choice of juices. There is a choice at lunch time of eating at Chili's near the pool or the buffet restaurant, there is more choice at the buffet restaurant but if you eat here in the evening the food can get a bit "samey." The buffet restaurant had themed nights. The ice sculpture and fruit art were great. Our favourite speciality restaurants were the Japanese and Krystal's, long trousers are required here. Chili's Steakhouse is not always open in the evenings due to wedding parties. The service in all the restaurants is excellent, always a smile and a chat, nothing too much trouble. What we did like about the outside eating area next to the buffet restaurant was that it was no smoking which isn't always the case in other hotels we have visited.

Drinks plentiful and good brands, always being asked if we would like another drink, never had to wait long, again great service especially David in the courtyard and Victor round the pool.

Great setting right next to a beautiful white beach and clear blue sea. Loved the Courtyard, fountains and gardens, all immaculately kept. The gardeners do a great job and there is always cleaning going on. Good sized pool and also a separate infinity pool and never a problem to get a sun bed either round the pool or on the beach. Also hammocks on the beach under the palm trees.

Entertainment team work really hard and there are many activities during the day if you want to join in. At night there are groups which play in the bandstand which are really good and then there is entertainment in the theatre later on which is a mixture of professional acts or the entertainment team, what we watched we enjoyed.

The hotel provides unlimited free wifi, we never had a problem with connection throughout our stay.

Had a look and drink in the other Riu hotels, please keep the Riviera Maya as it is when you do the refurbishment, not keen on the look of the updated Riu Mexico. If you want to walk into Playa del Carmen it is only 20 minutes walk.

Overall we had a great stay, loved the setting and cannot say enough about how excellent all the staff are at this hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SHAZPADGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 5,636 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We arrived on 15/6/14 after travelling on the dreamliner with Thomson holidays. Everything was smooth and the private transfers great. When you arrive at the foyer it has the wow factor, on checking in i asked if our request for high rooms near the sea had been granted, unfortunately we had to wait to the next day to be moved. I am glad we did as we were by the Sports Bar and with the noise of the football it would of not been good. We moved to 2129 and 2128 and were really pleased with the room and view.
The food, drink, service, staff, beach are all exceptional. There is always someone cleaning, or asking you if you are ok, or would you like a drink and this is always done with a smile. What wonderful people the mexican's are.
I ate in all the A La Carte restaurants and in Krystal 2x. The food was amazing and the fillet steak to die for, well done chef's.
I would like to add that the hotel is due for refurbishment, and yes it needs a lick of paint and the bathrooms need updating, but please RIU do not change to be like the palace, or the Yucatan, let it keep its charm and palacial features.
To sum up an excellent holiday had by the 4 off us, and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: to be near the sea/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pompeygirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked holiday with Thomson UK. Was there between 24 May and 8 June 2014. Excellent holiday, Travelling in a Dreamliner was a good start, transfer was straight forward with no waiting. Hotel is excellent, all staff very helpful, efficent and friendly. Rooms are spacious and well maintained, shampoo,soap and mini bar etc replaced when required without having to ask. Buffet restaurant has great selection to offer and always has a theme night, again staff couldn't do enough to help. We went to all the specialty restaurants, it was nice to get your meal served to you, all of them were excellent ( 2 of them require men to wear long trousers). The entertainment was good and again the staff were excellent, the pool and beach games during the day were fun, but no problem if you just wanted to chill out and not take part. The location right on the beach could not have been better and nice to walk along the beach to some of the other Riu hotels for a refreshing drink before heading back. Drinks waiters were on the beach as well as poolside. It was about a 20 min walk to Del Carmen or slightly longer if you walked along the beach, no problem to get a taxi which cost about £3.50 from the centre to the hotel. Would certainly consider going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DGK_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful resort. Good food. Friendly personnels. Ac is not blowing cold air. We had dinner at 2 specialty restaurant. Chile's and Japanese restaurant. When we made reservation we were told that they have dress codes for these 2 restaurant. NO SHORTS. We were disappointed to see some people wearing shorts at these 2 restaurant.

Room Tip: Ac not good at two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed 31 May-14 June 2014. Travelled with Thomson holidays U.K
This was our 3rd stay in 5 years and probably the best.
Fantastic hotel which has been well described by many other posts. What really makes it stand out is the extremely friendly hard working staff.They will do anything to help you enjoy your stay and all seem so proud to work there.
Many varied choices of food and something for every tastes.The themed restaurants are fun and again food is top notch. If you don't like it then pop round to the buffet restaurant.
Food and drink is coming at you from all directions, the restaurants,beach BBQ,sports bar and even room service,remember your on holiday so enjoy it all !
Rooms are in need of modernising but again this was not an issue in the slightest.
The beach is absolutely stunning,white sand,green ocean and palm trees,great for photos.
So no one has mentioned the musty smell for a while which is good,well don't even consider about worrying about it, yes you will notice it when you first get there but it soon disappears,so don't let it even be a consideration in choosing this hotel.
As I mentioned the staff really make your holiday and its hard to point out individuals, anyway I am going to. Big shout out for Victor, Isais and Big Joe great guys great service.
If you want a luxury holiday where you are treated like royalty then this is the place to go.. Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Room 2005 inward facing near to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

our second time at this hotel rooms clean .pool and grounds always clean and tidy food excellent the theemed restuarants a delight .the pool bar always busy but no problem getting served.the beach is perfection .the high point of this hotel is the staff some remembered us from last year all the staff from cleaners to waiters to bar staff and reception where efficient and friendly.we understand that the hotel is due for a refurb .please dont change a thing dont turn it into a noisy gin palace full of children like the riu mexico i hope to return 2015

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stunning location, beautiful grounds, great rooms, right on the beach, absolutely amazing food, service out of this world. Fly premium economy if you can, definitely worth every penny on long haul flight. You gotta go there, fantastic place.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior junior suite when you get there, we were upgraded for the second week. Rooms the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Avpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,288 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $290 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing