We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you wasn't pleased with your stay, then stay home...because nothing will satisfy you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #49 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I have been travelling for about 15yrs. We have covered all of Cuba, the DR, Jamaica and some of the Mayan. This has been one of the best resorts we have stayed when it comes to staff, food, maid service, and wait service. The beach is beautiful, pool very nice, and the wait service at these areas was amazing! Service right to your lounge chair, with a friendly greeting, smile and very efficient service. The staff is wonderful, and is the best we have EVER encountered...anywhere! The food was superb...always something different...we didn't even visit the a la carts! Our room was always cleaned promptly, and the bar fridge topped every morning. Clean towels were never an issue. All I can say, is...if you visited this resort and have negative comments, you need to stay home, because nothing will ever satisfy you! If you want entertainment, most people go into Playa del Carmen. We just enjoyed our balcony overlooking the ocean! It doesn't get any better than this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trisha1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 5,636 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has gone down rapidly in a year.
The rooms were damp, mouldy, and smelt, they were choking at times. Corridors were similar but with added benefit of rotting fish aroma.
The public areas, food, and service from front line staff, remain excellent.
But management disinterest when we raised problems, and poor quality of rooms with damp, smells, and mould spoilt our holiday. We had no hot water for 6 days, and management attitude was it normally wouldn't matter because weather would be better. Extremely patchy Internet connection (eg 10 minutes with no connection and then a few seconds off connectivity) was met with ... It's fine.
We wouldn't return without renovation of rooms and change in management team.
Pay less and go to one of the RIU club hotels, or a little more for Mexico.

Room Tip: Some rooms are better, if you gat a bad one complain before you unpack. Higher floors are normally b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Everything about this RIU was terrific! The beach, the pools, the bars, the rooms, the staff. We were there last week of Jan. 2014. We did not pay for a great view and def. did not have one but we spent most of our time at the beach or the pools. The design of this RIU does not allow for great ocean view rooms. You can figure that out with any resort if you google them before you travel. Don't be disappointed because you didn't do your homework. Nonetheless, we fully enjoyed our stay. Heck, with wind chills at home (Northern MN) at -55F and the beach at the RIU at 99F on the same day, what's there to complain about. The ride from the airport is a bit long but we upgraded to a private transfer Lincoln Navigator and asked for a cooler of beer which made for a shorter ride. Well worth the extra money. We used Lomas Travel and the only problem of the whole trip was when we booked the Xplor trip. The rep at the RIU failed to provide the information to the transportation and the Xplor park. So we waited an hour before questioning it at the front desk. Eventually Lomas provided a private transfer to and from Xplor. I would recommend the Xplor trip if you like Ziplining and driving atv's. They have great zipline towers and also fun trails through the jungle and into caves with the atv's. Super fun!!! They also have underground rafting or swimming. To top it off they have a great buffet dining facility which is included in the ticket price. I would definitely do it all again and recommend the RIU to anyone looking for a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Probably a second floor room facing in toward the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MinnesotaSkeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our sixth visit to the Riu Hotel Chain and having checked out at approximately 12:15pm, we decided to go and shop locally for gifts. At the time of checkout, Riu remove your all inclusive wristband, but you are still allowed to use all facilities. Upon return from our shopping trip, the Riu security guard who spoke poor English told us we couldn't go back into the Hotel! We decided to bypass this ignorant guard and head for the reception where we put our plight to the Hotel Manager, Ivan. We will not visit Riu Hotels again.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to a non Riu Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and i are just back from another great riu vacation. this is our second visit to the riu riviera maya and 5th to playa del carmen the other stays were at the riu palace mexico. we stay at rius when we travel and have never been disappointed. like the other reviewer we noticed this year the nightly entertainment for adults was lacking. they always had nightly entertainment in the gazebo on the square, casino nights and vendors with all the jewelry,paintings bags and clothing. after eating unless you had small children there was nothing to do. we are 59 and 60 year old married couple who don't need disco and strobe lights but some nice music to listen to while having an after dinner drink would have been nice. some people have complained about the smell in the rooms we always carry a couple glade plugins for that reason and the problem is solved. the rius are great the people that work there are great, most work very hard for little pay so we tip this is not required but always appreciated. the beach was the nicest on the resort strip, vendors yes, but a friendly no will suffice and they will keep moving. we never eat at the specialty restaurants so cant help you there but if can't find what you want on the buffet, well you just aren't trying. we ate well. overall it was another great vaction with riu and that is why wherever we go, jamaica,dominican republic, the bahamas or mexico we stay at rius no suprises just relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stucru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spent a couple of days at the RIU PALACE RIVIERA MAYA, gorgeous property, very good service,Room: I was fortunate to have a corner room which I found had more space all around, our room was stocked daily with soft drinks, water and beer and yes the liquor was always present at our room bar. FOOD was amazing a good variety in the buffet restaurant, had the chance to book 2 a la cartes the Japonese very good sushi and CHILIS Steak house had amazing lobster. I was not too impressed with the entertainment it seems they were missing that little push of energy, needs improvement. I have previously stayed at the RIU Caribe where the shows and entertainment staff was just amazing. Beach: just amazing white sandy beach, clear blue water, and plenty of palm trees if you like the shade.

I did take the opportunity and spent the day at the RIU PALACE MEXICO and it seemed to be the hot spot If I were to place age groups the Palace Riviera Maya I would say age group 50+ and the Palace Mexico age group 35+

I also took some excursions during my stay 1 day excursion provided by Panchos Travel Agency located at ave 10 entre 1 sur y 3 sur colonia centro playa del carmen. Our 1 day tour included guided visit to the ruins of Tulum, 1 hour to refresh at the beach Playa Paraiso just amazing clear water and white sandy beach, typical mexican style lunch, guided tour of the ruins Coba, and visiting the senotes it was a complete and memorable tour we were picked up at 730 am and returned to our hotel at 730pm.

Room Tip: courtyard view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatriz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've been visiting the Riu Palace Riviera Maya since the first day they opened their doors. I was so impressed with their beautiful hotel, fantastic service , unbelievable food and gorgeous beach that I have returned every year since. This is the first time that I have been disappointed and only with one thing- the entertainment. Last year there was entertainment by a wonderful group during the day and then music during the dinner hour in the evening and then typically and unfortunately a children's program that ran most of the evening after dinner. There are usually very few children at the hotel and I found it disappointing that the hotel would spend adult evening hours entertaining children. I talked to many other adults this year and they too were very disappointed with the entertainment and most said they would not return. I agree the children are important but think a children's program could be held much earlier and then provide the adults with music and dancing during the evening. Not sure if I'll return....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,287 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $287 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing