We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Bash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #39 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Bash”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Six friends went to Playa Del Carmen and stayed at the Rui Palace for the 50th birthday of one of us. We had the best time! The service was exceptional, the Hotel was grand, the pool and bar service never stopped, and the beach was more than fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,347
    1,324
    406
    159
    104
See reviews for
1,477
2,643
48
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed our second visit in 3 years to Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The experience, once again, lived up to our expectations. The hotel staff are wonderful. The service level in the restaurants and bars is exceptional. There was a definite improvement at the front desk. There was a much more positive, helpful attitude versus the first visit. The food in Don Manolo's, the main restaurant, was above average. The restaurant staff was very helpful. The room was clean and beverage bar restocked every day. My one negative is the ac system. As expected, the humidity levels are very high based on the location. The ac is not at all efficient at removing the humidity in the room. We purchased desiccant from Walmart and left it in our suitcases along with our clean clothes. Helped to a degree. Overall, a great getaway. We will definitely return to Riu Palace Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Went for a family wedding & the palace was a perfect place for a venue . Have stayed in a riu palace before & this one didnt disappoint ! Alex & Santos were top staff in the bar areas & couldn't be more friendly & helpful . Pool area is great for the day, spa & Swedish massage were good too ! Buffet restaurant was great for quality food & excellent variation . Chilli steak house was our favorite for the specialised restaurant as the steaks were fantastic . Only disappointments were the Mexican restaurant as food wasnt that good & the hotels wifi was poor . Other than that thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would go back anytime .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Thedarrenknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in October 5-12. Resort is definitely one of the best we've been to in Mexico. Its not small, but its very convenient and everything is very close. Probably the best and the biggest beach nearby. Its very wide and clean, water is amazing, clean with nice sandy bottom. Very pleasant to swim. Food is very good and lots of choices. Everybody is very nice and attentive.
We had superior junior suite room. its very spacious and clean. Beds are a little hard. Only complain is noise from ice making machine in a hallway. We were in room 44, one room away from it, but noise was very loud, especially at night. We were in Brazilian restaurant and Kristal. Very good. Lots of fun in Brazilian - lots of meat- highly recommend.
This resort has everything you need to have good vacation. We would definitely come back to this resort again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 44-46 on first floor that close to ice making machine and probably floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andriy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

So yes, the hotel is huge and is all inclusive, but I've been to better all-inclusive hotels without paying as much.
The towels were really rough, and the hot water came and went as it pleased, if you were lucky, there would be warm water, if not, cold shower for you. We called maintenance and they came and turned the shower on, hot water all of a sudden, then they left, and no more hot water!
the wi-fi was practically non-existent, and by that I mean it really sucked, which is bad if you need to work or check in with your family.
The hotel says it has a 24 hour doctor available, which is not true, if they call the doctor, there's a $200 USD charge, my friend fell down in the shower, split his eyebrow open, and all the doctor could do was clean the wound (he couldn't suture, even though he was clearly indicated a suture kit was needed), which had already been done, and the doctor INSISTED on getting paid (of course, he didn't).
The food was ok, but honestly I expected more, they have like 5 restaurants, only one is open for dinner without a reservation, it's a buffet and it's not really that good. Only one of them is open for breakfast, Chili's is open for brunch, but the food was not that good.
Our room was supposed to have a beach view, instead we had a view of the Chili's restaurant in between our room and the beach, and when we got there, there were stains on the bedspread.
Their credit card terminal is faulty at best, we had to leave a passport, since we were american, my friend had to leave a $1000 MXP deposit because he wasn't. I tried again the next morning and the card didn't go through, they told me it was a problem with MY bank, called them and they said everything was fine, tried it again, and by some miracle, it worked. My friend, on the other hand, had to spend the whole weekend walking back and forth to the front desk to try his card over and over.
I tried to make a reservation from Mexico, but they didn't have any room available, then made it from the US, and what do you know? They had rooms available! (the hotel didn't look overbooked to me at all).
The staff was nice, everyone greeted us hello and goodbye, there was no problem there.
I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, in fact I only did because we were going to a wedding there, and if we stayed anywhere else we had to pay a $100 USD fee JUST TO GET INTO THE HOTEL!
The only thing that I loved was a bartender called Romeo, if you do happen to stay here, he has the shift from 12 to 7 AM, and he will treat you very well, we had a lot of fun with him.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abby_Medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I agree with every one that the palace is very clean and the staff are very nice and really work hard.
I don't think that the food or the quality of the drinks are 5 star standard.The breakfast was ok but not special and we tried all of the speciality restaurants but felt the standard of the food was poor with the exception on the Krystal which was good.
overall the place was lovely but they do need to replace the umbrellas because they are all broken with the exception of one or two.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in October 2013. This resort was absolutely gorgeous. It was indeed a palace.got engaged on the gorgeous beach. Everyone was so friendly and helped with anything you needed. It was well kept and sparkling. We had a mini bar that was well stocked. The bed was kind of hard but we were too tired too mind at the end of the night. You can hear everything that goes on so if you're looking to go to bed real early don't stay at a resort. There was entertainment all day long by the pool and shows at night in the lounge. Not enough words to describe. My advice though is to stay there book any tours through them. We went into town to playa del Carmen and it's crazy everyone pressuring you to buy this or that and go on a tour. Nightlife is good lots of clubs and bars. We looked into other hotels asked other people about the hotel they were staying at and nothing compares to this one. Some of the staff were like friends to us it was sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzyborden4202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,395 reviews
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing