We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quick Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #49 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed this resort. It was perfect for the Quick End of Summer Vaca we were hoping to have. The Room was decent, the beach was fantastic, the pool was great. The location was great for excursions. The restaurants were good. The japanses restaurant Entrees were great but the appetizers, and sushi weren't that great. The lobby bar and sports bar are the best places to get a drink. Every drink we got at any other bar, tasted like tequila...Water, Vodka, beer..EVERYTHING tasted of tequila. The best part of our trip has been SueMe ("Swimee) at the lobby bar at nights. She is fantastic, energetic, Speaks great English and made our nights!! She definately deserves praise. The bar could use a higher end selection of vodkas and flavored vodkas. Even if we have to pay extra for it. All of the tile in this place is extremely slick so be careful. The rooms could use a few more towels. The housekeeping took all of ours and we had to call three times over 2 hours to finally get towels. Also, while you can use the other Riu Resorts close by, you cannot enjoy Dinner at them as part of the package. This was not disclosed prior to our visit. All in all this is a decent value and I'd recommend it to friends who want an easy inexpensive trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhawpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 5,636 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Overall, excellent resort that is very well-managed. Outstanding service - staff ran to bring us drinks, and buffet / restaurant service outstanding. Food and drink quality very good to excellent. Learned to ask for top shelf or to add another shot to mixes. Buffet variety excellent, although still found it getting old after a week. 2 restaurants for dinner were exceptional - we will do this more often next time. Japanese and Chili's Steakhouse - best fillet we'd ever had (served with lobster). The beach is amazing - very clean, soft sand, turquoise water, and lots of chairs and palm trees to relax with shade (again, off season so there may be shortages when busier). Resort is 7 years old, with very stately, ornate decor. Reminds me of Waldorf Astoria in New York. While staff cleans constantly, resort is starting to show minor wear (missing pool tiles, cracked fixtures, water stains on ceiling). Rooms were nice and roomy for 2 adults - stayed in jr. suite with king bed. Pool area also very large with lots of options like hot tubs, swim up bar, affinity pool, volleyball. Both couples agreed that if we returned to this area, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

4 Opportunities: 1) only 1 male and 1 female bathroom (4 stalls) outside for all guests. 2) "hot" tubs are inside pool, so temp of hot tub depends on temp of pool. 3) Not much to do at night. Pool / pool bar closes at 6:00 (they say pool stays open until 8, but they close bar and turn off hot tub jets at 6:00). Nightly entertainment starts at 9:30, but very amateur (provided by same staff that does outdoor activities during the day). And while town is only 1 mile walk down the beach, we found it great for shopping during the day but very slow at night (again, off season). We ended up playing cards in the lobby bar most nights. 4) Inconsistent internet service.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms 108-113. First floor, opposite side of evening entertainment so quieter at night, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a week at Riu Palace Riviera Maya. It is the perfect place to just relax and do nothing for a week. The beach is amazing and the pool is a lot of fun. What made this trip so perfect, though, was the staff. ( I would have rated it a 4 if it wasn't for them) They were incredible! So friendly and always making sure we had everything we needed. The entertainment staff was also a lot of fun.
The food was good- Krystals was our favorite - You need to make a reservation for the specialty restaurants between 12-3pm and you can make them for the next two nights - I know some people complained about this but we didn't have a problem at all...
If you are looking to do different excursions I highly recommend talking to Juan Carlos with Lomas Travel. (Look for a teal shirt and white pants) He is in the lobby almost everyday. He will tell you the ones worth going on and the prices aren't bad at all. We did the day excursion to Coba and it was pretty cool.
The only things I would change at the hotel would be the mattresses (they are really hard) and the smell (mildew?) got a little strong.
We cant wait to go back for our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have been to several all inclusives and this resort, by far, has the best food!! Everything was wonderful except be careful! ALL of the tile around the resort is VERY slippery when wet! I saw several people fall during our stay. Leave your heels in the room! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda_Jarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Where do I start, this place is fantastic we've just returned after 2 weeks and it was brilliant. The hotel is spotless as they are constantly cleaning it the food is first class in all the restaurants but the best part has to be the staff, they made the holiday that bit special by going the extra mile from cleaners all they way to the managers. The ones that made it for us were Ana and Roberto in the main restaurant,Victor the waiter by the pool,Seumy and Islas in the lobby bar they are all stars.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just returned last night from this location . Having stayed at Riu Palace resorts before ( last time in October 2012 in Aruba) , I booked 2 weeks at this location. We loved the fact that the layout and suites were identical to Aruba. The staff are totally amazing with one or two exceptions of kitchen staff behind the buffet line . Everyone was friendly, helpful and welcoming . Our only complaint was with the food. Perhaps Aruba spoiled us, but we found the food here ( especially at dinner and especially the meats ) to be tough, overcooked and under seasoned . We tried three of the specialty restaurants where my Mother was served two little charcoal lumps of beef when she asked for a piece of medium rather than rare in the Brazilian . It was black and charred beyond help .it was too hard to put a fork into it so the server slid it off of the plate it was on, onto her dinner plate .
The fish in the Krystal , which is usually very good at other locations, was overcooked and too dry to eat and and my steak was raw and bleeding, even after requesting medium. A comment we heard from many other guests too. Great raw materials but sadly overcooked and ill prepared .
When she asked the server in the buffet for some beef which wasn't still mooing he threw down the piece he had tried to serve her ., along with the tongs, and turned his back on her and walked away . She was stunned at his reaction . I asked him ( and I speak Spanish ) for a slice of medium, he replied " no medium , no medium , take it or don't, "and waved his hand in my face before he stormed off . we did report his actions to the head chef, who said he would deal with it . Other than those two employees, the rest of the staff, especially Aventura y Russell in the dining room were wonderful, as was Jesus in the towel return who was so helpful each and every day . The pool and bar staff were attentive and friendly . They all work so very hard and never stop smiling . They made the two weeks memorable . The animation staff are terrific , fun and engaging .
Breakfasts were wonderful, the best quality smoked salmon ( and my family has been producing smoked salmon for decades in London England .) great omelettes , etc.
Lunches were also good . but dinners need some help. Lots of items which were seen at lunch turned up reworked at dinner , but now marinated in oils or vinegar etc . small amounts in the trays also results in dried out chicken , fish etc . I'm not saying you will starve, there are so many choices , but it does make a difference when dinner isn't good . They also need to adhere to the dress code. We saw women in bathing suits and shorts, cut offs , men in swim shorts tank tops and flip flops , and please please Gentlemen ( if there are any still out there ) have the courtesy and manners to take your hats off in the dining room . No one cares which ball team you support , and out of respect for the ladies you are with take off the hats !!!!
We were also aware that there had been some cutbacks on the wonderful little extras that used to be part of the daily services .
Still a great destination , but we were extremely disappointed with the food in general at dinner .

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the property is cool and very quiet, lovely gardens and wide deep balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gingersnap602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel was nice...Staff was very outgoing...pools were cool. Loved the free booze dispencer in the rooms. Beach was awesome...uncrowded. Short walk to the ferry to Cozumel and downtown Playa. Had a problem with room key but got an upgraded room out of it! Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,288 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $290 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing