We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #42 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another fantastic holiday at riu palace riviera maya. We stayed here 2 years ago when my daughter got married on the beach and decided to come back our two selves. Staff could not do enough from chocolate strawberries left in room from reception desk to Rosario in the exclusive crystal restuarant who went out of his way to make our holiday special with flowers on our table .It was just a little piece of paradise on earth. Could not fault a thing .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,460
    1,355
    420
    161
    113
See reviews for
1,546
2,710
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

had a great experience in riu palace, great resort, perfect beach and excellent food, so many choices and im a picky eater! the weather in april was a bit windy but sunny. the water was a bit rough but we stil had a great time! the rooms were clean, and upgraded already! I would definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_addictforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My favorite vacation so far.... Excellent place to stay!! Grounds are immaculate and the beach perfect! Food excellent! Truly a beautiful place to spend vacation. Close to town and lots of shopping nearby. Felt very safe in the area. Will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missewe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only downfall were ants in the room. Excellent service and a large variety of cuisine options. It's pricey but well worth it. Downtown is only about seven minutes away in a cab & there is a small shopping center across the street. The hotels spa prices are outrageous, use the spa acrosd the street ($45 for one hour massage).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirandanofue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Riu Playa del Carmen was absolutely fantastic. They did absolutely everything top notch, and I have never been so spoiled in all my life! Food, care, was perfect, with a sincere feel. When I feel the itch to be completely indulged again, it will be a Riu property!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was very happy with this all-inclusive resort. The facility was in excellent shape, the beach area was fantastic and the pool area was also very nice. The food was actually a little bit better than most of the other all inclusives that I have been to. It is only a five minute cab ride to Playa Del Carmen. There are several other RIU resorts in the area which can be visited while staying at this resort. The staff led activities were plentiful and fun. The nightly shows were OK.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view. They are very few ocean views and the outside rooms don't have much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Riu has never disappointed, the staff work really hard, the food is above all-inclusive quality, the rooms comfortable, and the beach there is spectacular. Preferred eating at Chili's at night for surf & turf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCancun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.4 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,552 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,057 reviews
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing