We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“January Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #38 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“January Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went to this resort with a buddy of mine and have to say I thought it was very nice. The rooms were clean and staff was very friendly. As in most all inclusive the food is good but generic, all in all a very good time. I was in Cancun the year before and have to say the relaxed atmosphere was very nice to the party atmosphere the year before. Playa is a 5 mion cab ride for all the shopping you can do and the fact that we had 5 Riu`s to play at was pretty cool. This was my 4th Riu and will go to this chain as often as I can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertatravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,264
    1,291
    397
    156
    102
See reviews for
1,433
2,589
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned from another visit to the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. Arrived on Saturday 6/1/13. It was raining. It rained almost non stop from Saturday until Wednesday morning. The hotel staff did an incredible job of handling all the visitors who were prevented from visiting the beach, pool, other exterior activities, etc. The attitude of all the hotel staff was great as they dealt with crowded lobbies, sports bar, etc. From checking in upon arrival until our departure on 6/7/13, I can not offer higher praise for the staff. Aside from the weather, the only negative is the guys on the beach who handle boogie boards, kayaks, etc. I realize they are probably leasing the space from RIU Palace, but their attitude is very poor, even to the point of rudeness. As they are there part of the hotel, it reflects poorly on the overall visit to the property. The food was good, not great, but above the normal quality of many resorts in this area. We are already looking forward to our return trip.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading and requesting a room open to the beach or courtyard. Due to tile floors and hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The one not-so-great thing I would say about this resort is that it is quite a ride from the Cancun airport to the resort. It took a long time and the kids were less than thrilled with the time the trip took.

Otherwise, the resort was fabulous. This was our first trip to Playa del Carmen and we were very impressed. The rooms were clean and quiet. We were close to the stage area for the shows but it was never a problem.

Our boys loved both the kids' shows and the nightly shows. They especially enjoyed casino night.

The food was very good. There was such a variety. We liked the buffet-style dining room so much that we didn't even try any of the specialty restaurants. Our 8 year old is extremely picky when eating and he didn't have any trouble finding stuff to each at every meal. We had a group of 11 people and finding seating was also not a problem.

I liked being able to let my boys participate in activities on the resort/beach without having to be standing right over them every single minute. The resort entertainment staff, especially Hector and Angie, were awesome with our kids. We loved Bocce ball, horseshoes and ping pong.

We are heading back to Playa in September and will be trying the neighboring Palace Mexico.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the courtyard so you have more to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAmomtoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

As soon as we arrived at this majestic resort, all worries were left behind. The service is fantastic, the food is amazing, the people are phenomenal. We stayed on the first floor near a walkway that lead right down to the center fountains which were very close to the pool and beach. Every day was memorable in its own way. The staff were extremely hard working and more than friendly, being eager to serve and converse/joke around. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to the playa del carmen region or anyone that wants to visit mexico in general!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I want to start out by saying this was my 10th trip to the Riviera Maya area. We have stayed at Barcelo Palace, Palladium, Allegro, Moon Palace and Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. The RIU Palace is a great hotel with very friendly staff. I had requested a 3rd floor ocean front room a week in advance and really did not expect to get it. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and let them know ahead of time. Check-in was easy but our room wasn't ready. We were told to check back later and that they would have something special for us. We were handed a welcome drink, changed into our swimsuits and headed for the beach. Later when we checked into our room it turned out to be 3rd floor ocean view room, Room #2116. It was right next to the pool and Chili's. We had a great patio and a perfect view of the ocean. Unbelievable! Yes, all rooms in tropical climates tend to have that musty smell and our air conditioner could have been colder but we were 100% happy with our room. The room did not look old and was a much nicer room than most we have stayed at in the US.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Lots of chairs around the beach but limited chairs around the pool in the sun. Like all other places we have been to you need to claim your spot early. Pool is on the small side but has a great swim-up bar and tables in the water. For our purposes it was perfect since we aren't lap swimmers. The beach is incredible and is the reason I chose this resort. You can walk a long way in either direction. It's fun checking out the resorts along the way and we often stopped at the RIU Mexico for a drink at their poolside bar. We also walked into Playa del Carmen along the beach, just wish we would have brought shoes and money.
The service at all the restaurants and buffet is top notch. Servers pull out your chairs as you sit down and are quick to get anything you may need. We ate at the buffet, Chilli's and Krystal.
Chili's serves steak and lobster along with baked Alaska. All delicious! My husband mentioned to the server that we were celebrating our anniversary and he asked us to come back on Friday and they would make us a special dinner. Since we didn't have a reservation we weren't sure that they would remember us but they did. When we arrived they have a table set up facing the ocean along with a heart made out of flower pedals on the table complete with champagne bucket and wine. All the other diners were placed on the opposite side of the restaurant and my husband and I were alone to watch the ocean. At the end of our meal they even brought us a special cake that said Happy 25th Anniversary. We have never been to any other resort that has treated us this well, especially for no extra cost. We especially liked the live music every night at dinner. You can sit outside at the buffet and listen to live music each night as you eat. Also tables to just have a drink and enjoy the music. We did this every night and like it a lot more than the shows. I cannot say enough about the excellent service you will receive at this resort. Whether you are on the beach or at the pool, servers come around frequently asking if you would like something to drink. We tipped often but it didn’t seem to matter.
The people working at the RIU seem to really like their jobs and work relentlessly!

For those of you wondering about the weather, it was just okay. It was very windy everyday with big waves. We had 3 sunny days followed by a full day of rain. There was a short shower for the rest of the days along with part sun. We have had better weather but weather seems a bit off everywhere.

Our only trip was snorkeling with the Whale sharks with “On Isla Mujeres”. Many people have said on the forum that it’s easy to take the bus but with our early time we ended up taking a cab to Cancun and then ferry to Isla Mujeres. Fortunately the day we went was the first day that boats were being let out of the port. There were 10 people on our trip and it was a very rough ride! It took 11/2 hours to go 24 miles out on open ocean. We took Dramamine the night before and that morning so neither of us were sick but by the time we got to the whale sharks we were soaked from the wild ride. There were lots of sharks around, between 30 -40. A lot for this time of year. The snorkeling was very fun and we even saw huge manta rays and schools of sting rays. Our boat was the last one there and we were all alone with the sharks. After that we had another rough ride back followed by shrimp cervice off of Playa Norte. Definitely an experience we will never forget.
We will definitely return to the RIU and after seeing their incredible service and facility would like to try RIU’s in other countries.

Room Tip: Room #2116 3rd floor ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just sitting by the pool on my very last few hrs here. We have had two weeks here myself, husband and our 7 year old .
Reception staff excellent our room was on the 2nd floor with views of the courtyard. There are optics in the room! A fridge and coffee maker . The towels are nice and thick . Free wifi just get a code from reception (v helpful just ask) . I visited the spa and had 3 lovely massages got a good price from the guys round the pool.
The food! I could not fault! It's lovely there's something for everyone and lots of it ! Cakes to die for xx beautiful restaurants Japanese my favourite but the buffet has everything anyway.
Our weather has been up and down and things get really damp here when it rains! Some rooms flooded but our weather was particularly bad and the staff worked relentlessly to sort things out. It's tropical here! Overall we have had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel for all ages. The entertainment team are great ! They never stop and work so hard -thanks especially to Diego who was great with my son and his friends keeping them entertained!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at a Riu palace and first time in Mexico, and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya did not disappoint.

Check in was ok - after a ten hour flight and 45 minute transfer the fact our room key didn't work at first and we had to walk to and fro between reception and the room was not great. Reception said there wasn't a problem with the key but we still couldn't get in. Thankfully they sent someone quickly to look at the door, and while waiting outside the room any staff who walked by offered to help and assist. The staff at the hotel really are AMAZING - nothing is ever too much trouble.

Our room was nice - we were on the left side as you look at the beach, with a room facing a neatly manicured garden and another hotel. We preferred this to a courtyard view as we felt we had more privacy. The rooms were on the cusp of being tired - the bathroom wasn't great, the picture was glued to the wall in a wonky way and a couple of scuff marks by where the suitcases are kept. But they were very clean, the maids work so hard and left us several towel animals! We also had a turn down service, though this was more hit and miss. The coffee machine and minibar was another big plus for us. Aircon wasn't great, though did the job along with a ceiling fan.

We spent most days by the beach, and took advantage of the free kayaking a couple of times. Drinks service to the beach was very handy and not something we had at the previous Riu we had stopped at in Aruba. We also could get loungers by the beach and pool every day no problem, which was good. Hate having to rush in the morning as I'm thinking we won't get anywhere to set up for the day!

Usually we hate hotel entertainment, but we did catch a couple of evening shows and quite enjoyed ourselves. The great bar service certainly helped.

We walked down to Playa most nights, in a brisk 20 minute walk to try burn off the plentiful and tasty food in the restaurants. We only ate at the buffet as could never drag ourselves from the amazing beach to go book, and all the things on the speciality menus that we liked appeared at some point in the main buffet. 

We'll definitely be back at a Riu again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charljayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,271 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,601 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing