We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, awesome beach and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #40 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, awesome beach and location!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort 10-22-2012 through 10-27-2012 and had a great time to say the least. The resort is well maintained and beautiful and the staff is really great. Everyone is always smiling and friendly from the moment you are dropped off at the entrance to when you step up to the lobby bar to grab a Don Julio margarita (which I highly recommend). I recommend spending the few extra bucks and upgrading your package to a superior room which gives you a garden view instead of an outside room. We were in in room 2103 and had a great view of the ocean and the beautiful gardens and fountains. The food was pretty good compared to most other all- inclusives we have stayed at. Main dining buffet had a good selection of dishes to choose from even for the picky eaters. We loved the Krystal fusion restaurant and also the Japanese restaurant. Make sure to make your reservations early because they fill up fast.
I have to say my wife and i have traveled all over the Caribbean and the beach at this resort, entire area in general, is spectacular. The ocean is turquoise blue and great for swimming. You can walk 40 yards off shore and the ocean is still only waist deep. We also liked that you could walk the beach in either direction and the ocean doesn't change. Head south and hit up the Riu Yucatan for a drink or use their pool. Fifth Ave. shopping is only a short distance away as well.
If you are having second thoughts about this hotel have no fear, you should book it for the location and beach alone. Halfway through our week's stay we were already planning our next trip back in the spring to bring some family along and stay even longer. This was our first time at a Riu hotel and definitely won't be the last thanks to the great staff and wonderful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clandestinetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,389
    1,331
    411
    160
    107
See reviews for
1,495
2,668
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned home yesterday after 10days in this wonderful hotel. The hotel is stunning and very well looked after. The staff are cleaning constantly and are always happy as are all the waiters and animation team. The food is wonderful with so much choice and you've also gt yr speciality resturants. I am well travelled and anyone complaining abt this hotel obviously has a problem. I wd say this hotel is on par with some hotels in Dubai, so if yr thinking of booking id go for it....we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jbarnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is my thrird trip to Playacar and my second to this hotel. I have nothing but praise for everything The trip went smoothly and was return visit.

The thing that always hits me is the entusiasm and friendlynes of all the staff from the waiters round the pool "Another drink sir?" every 30 minutes is very refreshing to the different Towel Animals by the room staff every day - evrything from an elephant to a mermaid complete with stick on faces. - brilliant.

Food is plentyfull and very varied with themed nights most evenings. There are a number of specialist restaurants a s well Try the Steakhouse Grill Chillies - The Suf and Turf is to die for.

Typical Riu entertainment every Evening with prsentations of certificates to the winners of the events that happened throughout the day from Rifle Shooting to Bingo followed by a show put on by the animation staff.

Would I go back again - you bet - Also the sister hotel just a couple of hundred yards up the beasch The Riu Palace Mexici is closed for six months and is being fully refurbished and the plans look very interesting.

We trvelled independently asI used to work in the Travel trade and have some consessions, But check out Thomson Holidays who have some good pacages.

There is only one slight downfall and that is the rooms have hard tiled floors and the noise from above or next door, although not excessive can be distracting Moving beds and what I can only describe as the 4AM fornication (in and out in 10 minutes) frpm the room next door did make me smile.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a Courtyard view and a jacuzzi bath - cost was an extra $5USD per night pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

No issue with hall noise since resort was not overbooked and our suite had two doors, one into small entry, then another to suite. Blocks noise from hallway. Not all rooms have two doors.

Liked that hallways are open to outside, environmentally conscious liked this very much since it always seemed a waste to AC the hallways.

loved palm trees between hotel and beach. Provides nice shade and you don't feel exposed to too much baking sun.

Beach sand and water was lovely.

Yummy chocolate martini

Checkout was easy and casual. They allowed us to keep our inclusive arm band which meant we could casually enjoy a few more drinks and lunch before departing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dm3019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just spent an amazing 2 weeks here, the hotel, staff, food, entertainment was great and can not be faulted at all. The beach was beautiful and the gardens in the hotel are all kept very well. We met lots of lovely people from all over the world and can not wait to go back. Would like to say a special thank you to Shwemie, who always made sure we had a lovely cocktail when we were sat by the pool.

Room Tip: Try the Vision bar in Plays Del Carmen, nice cocktails served on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MandyBro21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing my boyfriend and I spent two weeks, could not find fault, spoiled for choice for food. Staff so friendly, drinks served at pool they knew what you liked and were always bringing you fresh drink. Even took part in activities, beach was bliss, rooms cleaned daily and fresh towels twice a day. Had towel shaped animals every day, chocolates and turn down service. Hotel area was always spotless, pool area, staff were on hand 24/7. Nice location can walk to main resort, would recommend ferry trip to gozemel. Only little complaint, I am g&t girl, and mini bar had everything but, oh well small price to pay for wonderful time. And entertainment staff brill, bobby joe not sure if his name funny, and best bar staff David in sports bar and suemi at pool.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to this hotel because the Palace was under construction. The rooms smelt of damp & so did our clothes by the end of our 2 week stay. Rooms were clean , & hotel areas was too, Pool could have been cleaned a lot more, people that was in the swim up bar never came out of the pool or should i say toilet , so you had to be careful you didnt get a mouth full of water , i think i only saw it been cleaned once & that was a guy throwing somethink out of a bucket into the pool at night .The beer & spritits was like drinking pop, think i had 20 shorts one night & never felt drunk at all.Very weak alcohol.And my main concern was that there were no hand gel to use on your hands before you entered any restaurant,so lacking in that area big time.Tippin got on our nerves too, you pay for everything up front & still you have to tip everyone who does something for you.Weather was very hot which was a bonus for us ,still rained in the evening but that didnt matter, lack of entertainment, too late in the evening , not much for us to do & there is nothing to do at this hotel for kids.

Room Tip: we had room 2071 it has a large balocny on floor 2 , but it was above the theatre & it was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julievern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.4 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,449 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
13.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing