We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 15, 2014

pool setting is amazing, each family gets their own pool lounging area and pool entrance, service is good and quick, staff is friendly, however if you are looking to wake up and see the ocean out your window, thats not the place (unless you have the beach villas) otherwise you're pretty far away from the beach, there are no sounds of waves throughout the resort, there isn't even any waves by the beach. if its beach you want, go to cancun, if its resort, go here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank m0ishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear m0ishy,

Thank you for your review and for your comments. We are pleased to hear you had a great vacation at Fairmont Mayakoba. Our beach is tranquil and peaceful; it is a great place to relax but it is also ideal for more active pursuits with our watersports.

Fairmont Mayakoba offers a selection of room types and views. Most of our rooms are Casita style, providing privacy and an opportunity to truly experience nature. We do have oceanfront Casitas and Suites for those who prefer to be on the beach.

We hope you visit us again in the near future for another great vacation!

Regards,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 4,288 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

I visited the Mayakoba for a work conference. The property is beautiful, with spacious rooms and villas. I loved the jacuzzi tubbed bathroom, with extra large walk in shower. The french press coffee maker in each room was great!
The enormous property has continuous trolly service to get you from place to place, Beautiful beach with ready waiter service to enjoy oceanside food and cocktails.
I've read the previous negative critique of the food, and found my experience to be different.
For the most part, we had buffets, due to the nature of the trip, but did enjoy an excellent dinner at the oceanside restaurant. I loved the tapas sized appetizers, and delicious salmon entree.
I would gladly return again!

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room in the 4000 building that had walk out access to the pool, which was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Maria J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,

Beatriz Fuentes
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed for 10 days the end of June, beginning of July. From the moment we landed at the airport and were greeted by transportation, we were treated like royalty. Check in was flawless with chilled towels and welcome drinks. We were then whisked away to our beach front casita where we would spend the next week. Extraordinary accommodations, luxurious bathrooms, private pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico all surrounded by perfectly manicured tropical forests and gardens. We were fortunate enough to have Butler service included and that was the cherry on the cake. Christian made our time at the Fairmont perfectly seamless. He is a true professional in every way. He not only made sure that our every whim was taken care of, he anticipated our every need all week. From treats for the kids, boogie boards, restaurant reservations, spa appointments, you name it he took care of it. But every department operated in this manner. Housekeeping and room service were so friendly and accommodating. We ordered room service almost daily and got to know the servers. They were so gracious and hospitable. Terrific.
Our experiences in the restaurants was equally as wonderful. We are definitely not foodies nor allow an average meal to derail our experiences. But we found the food delicious and fresh with enough variety to keep it interesting. It was all served with the same amazing service with no detail being overlooked. They even got to know our kids and knew what to bring them before they even ordered.
While we were staying at the resort both our kids developed sever ear infections. We were able to take advantage of their on-property medical facility which enabled us to visit the emergency room without having any issues. Upon returning to our hotel, the kids were given special treatment everywhere we went, including the restaurants. Waiters asked how the kids were feeling. That is perfectly executed service. My son ended up not being able to fly home on our departure date, so the hotel put us up in a beachside casita which was equally as wonderful, towering three stories over the jungle with a rooftop pool with views of the blue waters. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. I highly recommend the beachfront or beachside areas, but all the accommodations seemed great and they came with that Fairmont Service. And the beach in front of the Fairmont is FAR superior to that of Rosewood and Banyan Tree.
Of note and a true sign of superb service, after we returned I needed help with the medical forms provided to us from the on site clinic, and our Butler Christian has helped me through the process which has been quite involved. He is a true asset to this property! We are not ones to return to hotels as we like to experience different resorts and areas, but we would definitely make a point of returning to the Fairmont Mayakoba!

Room Tip: Beach front casitas with private pool are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BB30A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear BB30A,

Gracias for your comments and for such a detailed review. We are happy to hear Christian made your stay extra special and assisted you with everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to Fairmont Mayakoba.

Sincerely,

Beatriz Fuentes
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was our third time back to Mayakoba and this time we took our 3 teens to the Fairmont. We had some problems on check in. We knew ahead of time that they would not allow more that four in a Villa, so we had to settle for two rooms in the main building. (The 3 room villas were sold out) This was a miss as our rooms were on different floors and opposite ends of building. Took some time and a conversation with the manager to get us up to the same floor, still opposite ends of complex even though they offered adjoining rooms.

Bikes...what bikes? We tried to ride the bikes but always came across the youth bikes. It is a total hit or miss. We found ourselves taking the carts quite often, and never rode a bike.

The food (lunch service) was average and expensive. Service on the beach was slow. Chicken tenders were like rocks. Soft drinks average about $4 and mixed drinks $12-$17. Drinks were watered down like you would expect at an all inclusive hotel. The best food was at the gift shop, Lattes and a berry muffins in the morning. Also, they offer a food service plan, we were not on that as we wanted to enjoy the restaurants in Playa de Carmen.

Kids loved the main pool, and the service was excellent at the pool. I preferred the beach. Good luck getting a seat at the beach unless you arrive before 10am. Even then, you have to scout one that has not been reserved by the book, flip flop, or bottle of sunblock. They have guys to help with towels, but were very understaffed so we did it ourselves for three days.

The grounds are beautiful, relaxing and well planned. Unfortunately, there was a corporate event going on while we visited and you could tell the hotel was understaffed and overwhelmed. If you can rent a villa on the beach, they are the way to go...you get your own private cabana and beach service.

Also note, to get into town from the Fairmont cost a set cab fee of $40. We always negotiated the rides back and paid not more than $25 for 5 people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank julesrules1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Julesrules1082,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your loyalty. We truly appreciate your comments and have taken note of all the areas of improvement you have noted. We have purchased additional bikes to meet demand during busy periods. Our Executive Chef has received a copy of your review so he can take a look at the recipes to make sure all our menu items are prepared according to our high standards.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A/C did not work, room was hot and humid...service was terrible, waited 2 hours on many occasions for food/service...food quality at hotel is terrible, plan to go to Playa del Carmen to eat. Bring snacks from home to keep you occupied until meal time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Laura G,

We are sorry to hear about the problem you encountered with the A/C. Our maintenance team works diligently to ensure all equipment works properly, but it can happen that an A/C unit fails. When that occurs we work fast to correct the problem. We are also sorry to hear your experience at our restaurants was not to your satisfaction, please accept our apologies.

We hope you give us a chance to earn back your trust.

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Huge resort well run..terrible food. Mainly dinners. Had dinner at flagship Del Puerto.."black" shrimp covered with tar-like substance that was totally in edible. One bite, sent back to chef. I requested that he try the shrimp.. No comment. Dinner at another restaurant on property, tuna too dry to eat..sent back. Ordered steak.. Too tough and dry to eat...sent back. Even server said steak looked awful!! Too bad, food ruined a great vacation. Staff excellent and very attentive!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Eric S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on your stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. I regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback internally, as it is the comments of our guests what allows us to improve our service. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We hope to welcome again in the near future to make your stay with us an exceptional one.

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A total disgrace to the hotel chain. Food and beverage was terrible. I've had better meals a 7-eleven. Room service was pathetic (all meals)...they overcharged on every single bill. Its a game for staff (and management) to see if they can rip-you-off as much as possible. They know perfectly well that you are relaxed on vacation and when check-out day comes you are in a hurry and no way you are going to check every charge. Watch out for Service charge and a Tip which is always added to total. Why bother complaining to General Manager of resort if its his job to make sure the high standards are maintained and the are Not. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY....THEY ARE EXPERTS AT RIPPING OFF PEOPLE.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JasonBdesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear JasonBdesm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is our goal to provide all our guests with an exemplary level of service, each and every time they visit us. Information about charges and cost is always noted on all menus and bills. The charges are always explained to guests and we are always available to answer any questions our guests have during the reservation process, prior to arrival, while at the hotel, and after departure. We apologize if the explanation was not clear enough when you visited us. Please contact us so we can discuss in greater detail.

Sincerely,

Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,326 reviews
9.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,455 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $259 - $1,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing