We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #7 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The resort is fantastic . The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful . The food at the restaurants was excellent . The location of the resort was great . The resort is located 20 minutes from La 5ta Avenida , which is an area of stores and restaurants . The beach left me a little bit disappointed , but the pools were very nice . This hotel was an overall great experience .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ERICMIAMI61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear EricaMiami61,

We sincerely appreciate your preference and the time you took to write a review and share your experience.


Regards,


Sven Richter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,781
    566
    173
    95
    52
See reviews for
1,328
1,326
50
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here as a couple at the end of February for a week and have nothing bad to say. The staff were excellent, and the grounds were immaculate. The food was great for someone that wanted something different on each occasion, and they made every effort to accommodate my gluten allergy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at FM from April 6 to 13 and loved it. Considering the number of suites that the resort has, it is designed very well so you can only see a few at a time. The bikes and shuttles really help you get around the resort, which is important because it covers a huge area. The food was better than I expected from the reviews, and the service was great.
I would highly recommend taking the boat tour to the other resorts early during your stay, as it gives you a great perspective on the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just visited last week and had an amazing time! I highly recommend the rooms that are adjacent to the beach (ours were the category just below the private pool villas), within 1-2 minutes walking to the best ocean view pool and the beach. The rest of the property is set further back (inland) within lush tropical rainforest type environment..we wanted the tropical ocean breezes and we got them! The resort provides 24 hour golf cart transport, since it is about a mile from the beach area back to the lobby-- or bikes! which was a fun option.

Room Tip: As I mentioned above, we felt the best rooms were near the beach and we were glad we paid extra to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ive had the fortune to visit many different hotels in the Cancun to Tulum area and even though this one is extremely beautiful and with a very well trained and service-oriented staff there are some key elements that are making me think twice before going back.

PROs:
- If you are a golf player, you will love it.
- Property is impressive, huge and beautiful in every ways
- Service is really good (kinda expected for the prices)
- The food is really good and even though its pricey it is worth it
- Bikes to ride around the property (until sunset)
- Perfect mix with Nature, you'll see Iguanas, Birds and other animals around
- Pools are GREAT (only outdoors)


CONs
- Beach, is SMALL and if you plan to swim get ready to hit some HARD rocks in the bottom, overall the beach is a 4 out of 10... that bad
- Expensive, its kinda obvious for a high end hotel but Ive stayed in other that are not as overpriced as this one.
+ 20 USD for 24 internet that is NOT very reliable
+ 15 USD resort fee per day per person
+ 12 USD per day for Valet (this is 90% of times free at any other hotel)
So for 5 days (2 peeps) you are looking at a 325 USD in additional fees.
(to avoid most of this fees read the advice at the end of the review)
- Everything is dead after sunset, no pool no bikes no rides... so you either have to go to Playa del Carmen or go to bed at 9:00 pm after dinner...
- Lack of an indoor pool

Here is an small incident that happened to us.
My wife decided to set up a romantic surprise for me by decorating the room with flowers and balloons and a cake (for my birthday), everything looked nice but in order to get that set up in our "casita" she had to go thru a long process with not-so-Royal Service, she asked for roses a cake and balloons, we got rose-petals, a bucket of flowers and strawberries covered in chocolate.. super nice, that was not the problem when she asked for the flowers and the cake she was (obviously) overcharged and then she was told that the "set up" was going to be for free.. but go figure, at checkout they charged me a -very- expensive setup for this.

Also we had a romantic private ride thru the internal river (AMAZING) with a bottle of Moet and some strawberries, the aftermath 300 USD, the ride is 40 min long Not insanely expensive, but you are better off to go to an all inclusive all day tour to Xcaret for the same amount.

Advice:
For free Valet and free WiFi join their "Presidents Club" at fairmont.com BEFORE checking in and get this free perks.

Overall this was a great stay but compared to other high-end hotels this one falls short, the only thing where Mayakoba stands out above every other Hotel is the beauty of the property its something really cool.

Room Tip: For free Valet and free WiFi join their "Presidents Club" at fairmont.com BEFORE checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming , Ga.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent hotel and beautiful grounds. Our room was amazing and it was one of the lesser priced rooms available. Property is very large and spread out so bicycles were our preferred mode of transport most of the time in the day. At night we rode the tram cars which come by regularly. All the pools were very nice and we ate at all of the restaurants which were delicious.
I WANT TO ESPECIALLY COMPLIMENT THE STAFF HERE. Even though we were in a foreign country the staff greets you every time and mostly by name...simply amazing.
Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it then get a beach cabana to avoid the long trip to the beach. If we go back we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keo1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here back in October of 2013 and absolutely loved this resort. It's definitely more of a calm resort focused on nature and wildlife-- not the cheesy entertainers etc. that you'd find at a lot of the other all inclusive resorts in Mexico. The adult pool overlooking the lagoon is absolutely beautiful. We also really enjoyed riding the bikes around the resort. I also have celiac disease so found the gluten free options at all of the restaurants a HUGE bonus and also the main reason we chose to stay at this resort. The boat tour is also beautiful. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,547 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing