We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #8 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had the lovely experience of spending a week here, 5 nights with a corporate group of over 250 and 2 nights on our own. Customer service was exceptional, all staff I encountered was friendly and helpful. Our first night we enjoyed dinner at El Puerto, our dinner was quite good, though expensive. With our group we enjoyed dinners at MK Blue at the Banyan Tree, Rosewood on the beach,& on the Isla Lawn. With such a large group the service & food was very well done, kudos! La Laguna was wonderful for breakfast, sometimes a bit of a wait, but with the resort being full that was to be expected. Breakfast buffet was very diverse, bland scrambled eggs so I'd stick to the omelette bar. Eggs Benedict was very good and relatively inexpensive.
Las Brisas for lunch was excellent, didn't make it there for dinner though. Room service was great, they said 45 minute for delivery and it made it there in 40. :) When it did, our server set up the table perfectly, a lovely private dining room.

We were fortunate enough to have a 2nd floor room overlooking the canal which was very private & relaxing. It was cool to watch the resident iguana across the way sunning herself daily, many different birds singing in the trees, squirrels jumping from tree to tree, the turtle that swam by regularly, many fish and even a crocodile swam by. We even had a Coati come visit us, was very cute to see him peek over the roof while we sat on the balcony.

The selection of pools are great, didn't make it to all of them, but the adult one at the back was the best, great to overlook the 'lake', though not as quiet as I thought it would be as you could hear a lot from the diners at La Laguna.

The grounds are exceptionally well kept, there is a lot to do and we didn't get anywhere near all of it done. Would have liked to do the nature trail but we had a lot of other group functions and didn't have time. The massage at the spa was wonderful, though we didn't take in all the spa offered.

I didn't give it top rating only because I want to see and hear the ocean from my room, that is just not possible at this resort unless you can afford the beach casitas, I can't! The beach is quite narrow at this resort but still beautiful white sand & I enjoyed a fantastic long 4 km walk along it. It is such a long way to the beach, biking or taking the carts is the best way to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room if you want to see anything other than jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omanaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Jessica R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Reading your review made me smile and remember what a beautiful property the resort is and how gracious the service provided by our colleagues is. And our bathrooms, definitely my favorites too!
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,632
    544
    166
    93
    51
See reviews for
1,243
1,271
48
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at the resort. It was truly outstanding. The room was spacious with a wonderful soaking tub an separate shower. Every staff member, regardless of funtion, was gracious and helpful. There is clearly a "customer service culture" at this property. The pools were great and the three restaurants on property were very good too. The location is convenient to wonderful golf (right on the resort grounds) and it was a very quick cab ride to Play del Carmen. All I can say is that it's not inexpensive but to me it was well worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Jeff K,
We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel, and even more when those visits are turn into lifetime memories for our guests.
Thank you for all your compliments on the rooms, food and golf facilities, but most of all for recognizing the service provided by our colleagues. It is testimonies such as yours that continue inspiring to proving the best spoke service that Fairmont Mayakoba is well known for.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! The staff were wonderful, the gounds are beautiful and our room was beautiful. The food was good but expensive. The spa was very pretty. I wish they were more informative though. It is isolated, but that is what makes it unique.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Kathi N,
Thank you for your comments; it is lovely to know that you had a wonderful time at Fairmont Mayakoba. We look forward to welcome you back to the beautiful Mexican Caribbean.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent a week there Dec 5th to 12th, very nice property, well kept, pools exceptionally clean, staff amazing. We were on a company sponsored trip with about 200 in the group, had several dinners and the service was second to none even with such a larger group to serve. We had a room on the canal, pretty cool to watch all the fish, birds and even a crocodile swim by. Service at the adult pool was very slow even though the place was almost deserted, guy brought me a menu and disappeared, not the end of the world, I just walked over to the La Laguna restaurant 100 feet away and had lunch. The quisedias were huge and very tasty! Eggs Benny for breakfast at 14.00 was great too, better and much more hollandaise sauce than most Canadian restaurants. We used USA Transfers from the airport and were very pleased with the service, will write a review for them in another post. I was a little disappointed that it was so far to the beach, you should take a golf cart or bike if it's really hot out. The boat tour (free) of the entire canal and lagoon was great and informative, guide was excellent, pointed out the many species of birds, reptiles and even got up close to an 8 ft croc for pictures. The only reason I would probably stay elsewhere is we prefer an ocean view room and although they do offer oceanfront casitas I was told they are extremely expensive.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room overlooking the canal as some rooms are jungle view only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear dantanman,
Thank you for considering Fairmont Mayakoba a wonderful property, it was a pleasure to read your review, particularly where you mention the service received is second to none as it is a great recognition to our staff who always strive to turn moments into memories for all our guests (including group guests such as you).
Thank you also for your compliments on the food and the boat tour; it is indeed one of the highlights of the property, thank you for recommending it to other guests.
We look forward to say “bienvenido” to you again on your next visit to Mexico.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My fiance` and I just stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba over Thanksgiving for a wedding. When we first arrived, we were treated like royalty, but as the days passed, the quality of service went down very quickly. The last day we were there was by far the worst. I waited 15 minutes to get towels because the person working the station appeared to be working a side deal with one of the guests and ignored me. When he finally finished speaking with her, he walked away even though he had seen me standing there. Then they ran out of strawberry mix for a Miami Vice I ordered; they brought some kind of Kahlua drink, but instead of giving it to us on the house, they still charged us. Dinner at La Laguna was by far the worst part of our trip along with friends of ours. We had 6:45 reservations and waited an HOUR before anyone took our drink orders. There were two kids (3 and 5) that were getting cranky from being hungry; one of the kids actually fell asleep without dinner. It took another half hour to get our orders. Since we were all staying in separate rooms and were a large party, we told the waiter our room numbers prior to ordering. It took another 30 minutes for our food to come out. By this time, another waiter was coming by to check on us. He apologized and offered shots to us - we all assumed it was on the house since we were waiting so long - WRONG. He suggested top shelf tequila and charged us for it. THEN, he came back and asked us several questions about which guests ordered what and what rooms he should charge it to when we made sure to take care of that 2.5 hours ago.

When we got back home, I emailed corporate about the experience wanting some reassurance that the issues would be addressed. I also emailed them because my fiance` and I were considering getting married at the Fairmont in Maui, but that last day left a sour taste in our mouths, as well as our friends (who would also be coming to our wedding). None of us mind paying 5 star money for accommodations as long as we are getting 5 star treatment throughout the entire stay. We all felt that after our friends' wedding took place, the staff knew we would be checking out soon and paid less attention to detail with our group (who brought in a ridiculous amount of money for the resort). That sentiment has only been solidified with the fact that it's been 2 weeks since I sent the email to corporate with no response.

It is really a shame because had there been 5 star treatment through and through and a follow-up, we would all definitely not only go back to Fairmont Mayakoba, we'd also get married at one in Maui.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mae H,
We thank you for your feedback as it is only by welcoming the comments of our guests that we can improve. Please receive my sincere apologies for not getting back to you on a timely manner. The service experience you described comes to a surprise to me and therefore I am conducting an internal investigation; I will be contacting you directly as to address all of your concerns.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba. We are extremely disappointed with the quality of the accommodations. Fairmont has a name and this resort definitely is not up to standards. The areas were nice, nothing special, the restaurants were ok. Although it is not the "prime resort" it is supposed to be, I would have been ok with it, except that the ROOM, which is the most important place (as you SLEEP there) was horrible. I have allergic asthma and I requested the hotel at the time of reservation to make sure that there is was no humidity or mold and that the air conditioning of the room where I would be staying had to be perfect, as I reacted very negatively to spores. I even reiterated this to the front desk at check in and they told me that they selected a room which was personally checked by the manager to make sure it was to my satisfaction and acknowledged they had my special request. Oh surprise, the moment we walked in, although a/c was on, the humidity made the room stink. I told them it was not acceptable, but they had no other accommodations available. They sent someone to "clean the room again" as I also found dust on the desk and the nightstands and the offered a dehumidifier. They brought a small dehumidifier that was noisy and getting rusty! The dehumidified did absorb some of the water in the room (we were emptying the container every 6 to 8 hours in the shower because it filled up with water). Although the room felt somewhat dry and cool, the temperature in the bathroom was different because the ac vents were not open and they were very narrow. To make it short, from night 1, I started having a sore throat which continued throughout my stay, tried to get the medication that I could, including taking inhalers, etc., but nothing work, because the "allergens" were there! I returned home with asthma related bronchitis which has kept me out of commission for 2 weeks. My partner, who is not allergic to anything also developed eye irritation that first night, and this irritation turned into an eye and respiratory infection. Obviously the spores in the air conditioning vents were there and the hurt us very badly. How can they call this a 5 Star hotel. this is amazing. It is a shame because Mayakoba is a beautiful place. We visited the other hotels, and the only one that seemed to standard was the Banyan Tree (but was also totally booked so we couldn't go anywhere). We went to a wedding and the trip turned into a nightmare because of the substandard accommodations at the Fairmont Mayakoba.

Room Tip: Have no comments. Make sure there is no mold or humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMiamiSun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear RMiamiSun18,
First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at Fairmont Mayakoba. I’ve been informed that all precautions were taken into consideration before your arrival based on the information you provided at the time of booking.
The safety and comfort of our guests is a top priority; I’ve been informed that you are already in communication with my team, and so I will follow up internally.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I would be happy to make your reservation and room assignment personally so that your future stay is a seamless one.
Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good time this resort is for families with enough outdoor activities to keep all ages busy. The staff is accommodating and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean with maid services twice a day. The resort is safe and well maintained. We purchased the meal plan and most meals for our family of 3 was $100.00 plus so it's worth the money. We used the fitness center, spa services, nature trails, nature boat tour, bikes, beach, pool, kids club, golf and cart transportation and was pleased with all. The resort retail stores are over priced so don't forget to bring bug spray, sunblock, float & beach toys. The only issue was not having enough bikes for the amount of users we were only able to secure bikes a couple of times during our 6 days at the resort. Also the bikes should have baskets.

Room Tip: 2nd floor end unit rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Braxton2013,
Reading your review was lovely as it is a nice testimony of the many entertainment options that the resort offers for guests of all ages. Thank you for trying them all.
Regarding your comment about the boutiques, please note that they have been shared with the correspondent department along with those of the bikes, which as you know already are for use of all of our guests and are not personalized, however we have taken note and will review internally.
Thank you again for staying at Fairmont Mayakoba. We look forward to welcome you and your family back.
Happy holidays,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,193 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing