We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations & poor service in restaurants”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #9 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First impressions are everything and the Fairmont Mayakoba did not meet them and continued to disappoint, especially as we have stayed at other Fairmont resorts and always been satisfied. I am a member of their Presidents club and I am not sure that counts for much other than free WiFi which I feel should be included In high standard hotels. The resort is generally tired apart from the lobby area and the restaurants are very dark and dingy with very poor and slow service. We were immediately made aware of a 15 dollar a day mandatory service charge and there are charges for other services such as the use of the Spa. The first room we were given was vey dark and not nice with 2 beds when we specified 1 double. We requested to change which they did. This is a case of not as good as described when you read up on the Fairmont Mayakoba.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSalPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear MarkSalPortugal,

First of all, thank you for your loyalty when selecting the resort for you past visit to Mexico. I was impressed to read your review as providing warm, personalized service is what all of us at Fairmont Mayakoba strive for. I apologized if you felt that you were not recognized properly as an FPC member, therefore our FPC manager will contact you to learn more about your stay with us and explain properly the inclusions of the resort fee which range from water sports, kids camp use and guided boat tours, etc.

I hope that you give us an opportunity to turn this experience into a memorable one by allowing us to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,411 - 2,417 of 4,489 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

a disappointing experience. when we booked this, we were waiting for a 5 diamond experience. Instead we encountered something much different. Since we bought the "food and drink Package", we believed all of it would be included; however, some items on the menu were not included and would have to be charged extra. The wine menu that was included was nothing more than low quality wine by the glass. There were 3 restaurants, one of which we had to pay 25 more per adult since it too was not included in "food and drink package". The staff was very kind and helpful but since they were understaffed (and probably under paid), the service was not up to par. They did the best they could under the circumstances. The food was very good although although our favorite meal was outside of the hotel in a typical local town. Too many rules on the premises - pool, towels, bikes, reservations, beach. The staff is well trained to say NO due to a rule. I travel 50% of the year and this is the first time i take the time to write a review due to my strong feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Neil305,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. For that I apologize. The Appetite for Luxury package you booked, is indeed one with a comprehensive food and beverage plan which includes options for breakfast, lunch, dinner and stacks & drinks throughout the day, however as the resort is not an all-inclusive property some surcharges do apply and those are stated on the package policies that are listed on the package page on the website and should also have been explained to you at the time of check-in. If that was not the case, please accept my apologies.
If you give an opportunity to earn back your trust, I would be happy to make your reservation personally and look after your stay so that you get to experience the service that many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful property and they do their best to take care of you. If you can get one, I'd recommend one of the ocean front suites. Food is great and the property is immaculately maintained. Everyone speaks English, although they are happy to speak Spanish with you if you'd like.

Room Tip: Splurge for beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hola Deana M,
Thank you for all your wonderful comments about the hotel’s facilities, rooms, culinary offerings, but most of all for recognizing the personalized service provided by our colleagues. We are very honored to know that you felt at home during your stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back “home” on your next visit to Mexico.
Kind regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Upon arrival we were impressed by the porter that used our name straight away and knew that it was our honeymoon. The berry juice and the fresh towel were a nice touch.
We were located by the main building . The room was nice and specious however the view was looking over the construction and no amenities were placed for our special occasion. A room with a better view would have been appreciated!
The tea and coffee facilities in the room were poor quality.(kettle broken)
On the first night we had dinner at el puerto. As our journey was long (11 hours) we were a bit tired and decided to head to the restaurant a bit earlier.7.30 pm instead of 8 pm. The hostess was extremely rude and told us we had to come back at 8 pm even if the restaurant was empty...
We also had few issues with the concierge . Asked for a booking at one of the other hotel in the resort but never told us if it was done. Even though we came to see then few times!
Overall the food is ok but nothing special for a 5 star hotel.
Good choice for breakfast.
The boat tour was fabulous and the porters are really friendly.
The grounds are nice.
The stay was ok just wished there was a bit more wow factor especially for a honeymoon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amoradell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Amoradell,
First of all, congratulations on your marriage. On behalf of all the family of Fairmont Mayakoba receive our warmest best wishes as you start your life together.
Thank you for selecting the resort for this special celebration and please, receive my sincere apologies for not celebrating with you during your stay with us. Upgrades are not always possible, but the service you describe is not up to our standards, therefore your review has been shared with the Rooms Division as to take immediate action.
We hope that we could have the pleasure of your visit on your next visit to Mexico and again, congratulations!
Kind regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family stayed at the Mayakoba the week before Thanksgiving. We upgraded to a signature Casita for a lagoon view but our view consisted of looking at the corner of the lagoon covered by trees and bushes that we can barely can see any water. Not worth the upgrade.
When we arrived the service was excellent. We were greeted before we even entered the lobby with warm towels. Then we were offered a refreshing drink before we were escorted to our room. The room is very nice and the bathroom is better than what we have at home with two sinks, a rain shower, and a tub too. The evening turn down service is very nice with slippers placed by your bedside, water and ice delivery, and organization of your room for bed time. Unfortunately we only enjoyed that service once for they come by after 9pm and our kids are usually sleeping by then.
The pools are organized in many small pools all next to each other with one waterslide that adults can not go on. The kids however loved it. The pool water must be heated b/c it felt too warm like bath water or the indoor swimming pool my kids take lessons in which heats up to 92 degrees. It is nice to swim there early or during evening time but in the middle of the day, it is too warm and not refreshing. There are mildews on the walls in many places including the pools and stairs which is surprising given the quality of this hotel.
The beach is very nice b/c there are never that many people and plenty of palabas spaced out such that you have some privacy. The sand is fine but nobody ever comes to clean the beach much. I see seaweeds scattered about and I would expect someone to comb the beach in such a fine resort, but that is not the case. The waves were somewhat rough that we had to be very careful with our kids in the water. There is complimentary one sailboat and 2-3 canoes that we saw. My husband did the sail and he enjoyed it very much.
The beach and the pools have towel stations and the service is very excellent. They will bring the towels to you and set up your chaises before you sit down. I've not seen this kind of service before.
The food. We only tried two restaurants La Brisa and Laguna. The Puerto was too expensive for us so we did not go. Kids under 5 eats free but not during lunch time. The lunch varied from sandwiches, quesadillas, to hamburgers. We usually order a one person pizza, a burger, and a sandwich which will costs us $50 US dollars without drinks or tips. Dinner is even more expensive and two adults buffets costed $90. I'm used to eat out but rarely had to pay this kind of money for a burger or pizza. The little Mayan market next door has very few food items but if you want to pay $4 for a small bag of chip or $3 for one cookie, then that is the place for you. I feel like the resort is so tucked away from everything that the hotel guests don't have many choices when it comes to food so they can charge whatever they want.
The kids club is a joke. The hotel guests can only get 3 hours of kids club a day and it has to be all in one block either in the early morning of late evening. All the fun activities start at 12 noon to 5pm and you have to pay $10 an hour to participate during these hours. My kids did not want to go back on the 3rd day and they are used to various kids clubs b/c we travel often and they typically will stay all day not wanting to come back. My little one actually cried and ran out when we tried to drop him off the last time.
The boat ride around the lagoon was very educational and interesting. We did not know this but you have to make an appt for the boat ride b/c it is all booked up and can only sit 6 passengers at once. I have only seen one boat going around so don't depend on it being a great transportation around the resort. The best transportation is the small shuttle going around which are plenty but they drive so fast on such a narrow road that we literally had to step to the side and stop walking to let them go by.
This place is luxurious for sure b/c of the quality of service. The public areas can be cleaner since it is an eye sore to see mildews everywhere. This is a fine place to visit if you have plenty of money to splurge. Everything costs extra money. But I feel like we can spent the same amount of money on similar luxury with a lot more included in the Mayan Riviera.

Room Tip: lower the number, the further away from the lobby but better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shareair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear shareair,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. We thank you for your nice compliments on the service provide by all our colleagues as it is what we strive for, to turn moments into memories for our guests.
I have shared your review with the departments involved as to review in details what would have cause for certain things to happen as to prevent from repeating in the future. In regards of your comments to the culinary prices, we are committed to offer premium produce; however, all comments of guest are taken into consideration as we set up those of the next year.
In regards of the boat tour, allow me to mention that the “lanchas” are not used for internal transportation, however I do agree with you that it is definitely a highlight of the guest experience, we hope many visitors will take your advice on making advanced reservations for this complimentary activity.
We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Fairmont team is committed to making your visit a memorable holiday! All restaurants are very good, with the Fine Dinning in the Lobby area, being excellent. Christopher in the front office and Salvador in the Service Mgr. team were outstanding! Great location with adjecent hotels offering great options for meals and drinks.

Room Tip: Check all web sites for special pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Saburns,

Thank you for considering Fairmont Mayakoba the resort offering the best customer service in Mexico. This is a remarkable testimony of how passionate all our colleagues are. I have passed on your compliments to Christopher, Salvador and the management team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I and two friends stayed at the Fairmont for 4 nights recently and had a fabulous experience. We were greeted with delicious berry tea at check-in. Our room was spacious and gorgeous and the housekeeping staff did a great job every day (even organizing our shoes)! I was a little nervous about the beach not being easily accessible from the main resort, but the carts ran every 5-10 minutes and were very easy to use. We also used the BMW bikes a few times. I actually enjoyed a morning walk to the beach everyday as my form of exercise. When I did use the fitness center the desk staff was also warm and welcoming and the facilities were great. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was courteous and helpful. The food at the restaurants was very good (although a little pricey if you don't do the all-inclusive option, but we were expecting this). I eat a very restricted diet (gluten-free and vegan) so I always get nervous about eating while traveling, but the lifestyle cuisine plus menus at all the restaurtants made this very easy for me. I would highly recommend this resort and would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimnichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,249 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Ma...
#16 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $258 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing