We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #13 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I spent five days at the Fairmont mayakoba from 8/29-9/3. Upon arrival in to the Cancun airport we were able to get through customs very quickly, when walking to the airpot exact be sure to bypass all of the time share people, they can be a bit overwhelming after a long day of traveling. We were able to secure a shuttle to the resort for $32 a person. It took about an hour to get there since we had to drop off a few other people at various resorts along the way.

When we reached mayakoba checkin was a breeze, they gave us some ice tea to drink and cold towels to wipe hands, very nice after traveling!

Rooms:

We had a casita in the 700's which is about as close as you can get to the beach without paying a crazy amount per night.. It is still about a 10-15 min walk though...the rooms are gorgeous, covered in marble with a huge bathroom, tub, and rain fall shower! Our balcony faced the jungle, beautiful scenery for your morning coffee!

Beach:

Their beach is beautiful, there were plenty of chairs open and it was not too crowded! However, I will say the service can be a bit slow at times but it was never really a problem. Very clean and soft sand!

Food:

Breakfast: We had breakfast each morning at La Laguna, they have a very extensive buffet every morning with pretty much everything you could ever want! I loved the fresh juice bar and omelet station!

La Brisas: We ate lunch here pretty much everyday, it is the restaurant that services the beach and the oceanside pool! Favorites were the cheeseburger, jumbo shrimp, tuna sandwhich, spring rolls, ceviche and much more! We also had dinner here one night and loved it!

El Puerto: We had dinner here one night and while it was great I really wish they would dim the lights a little bit... It is a bit odd having an elegant dinner with the lights on full blast!

*Be aware that drinks are pretty expensive and can definitley add up if you are not on the all inclusive package!

Getting around: I would not reccommend booking this resort of you do not like to walk. My husband and I would normally just start walking in whatever direction we were planning on going and about 80% of the time a golf cart would come by to pick us up. For us it did not really bother us that much since we enjoy walking and looking at the wildlife!

Spa and golf: Spa was amazing! I could have spent all say there! My husband loved the golf, he said it was the most beautiful course he had every played at!

Staff: There are no words that can accurately describe how amazing the staff is! You are treated like kings and they seem to truly enjoy their jobs. On our last day there it rained pretty much all day, in lieu of being stuck in our rooms all day my husband and I, along with a couple of friends we traveled with spent all day in the lobby eating and drinking! Much to our delight the staff brought us Jenga, which kept us amused for hours until the rain stopped!

Room Tip: If you have children you might want to be closer to La Isla; the kids center, La Laguna, Cafe Maya a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ww31256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear ww31256,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and pleasant review on TripAdvisor. Reading that you enjoyed your stay with us greatly is a testimony of the warm and personalized service provided by our Fairmont Colleagues.
We will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,094)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Mayakoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,153 - 2,159 of 4,094 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I can't say enough about this resort. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in thus far in my life! The seafood was truly outstanding and the beach was very lovely. It's great to be able to go to the other resorts for meals (Banyan Tree and Rosewood), but we honestly loved the Fairmont's restaurants more. The grounds of the property were lush and well maintained, and the golf cart service was really handy. The ferry ride on the canal between the resorts was pretty and the wildlife around the resort is beautiful. I would highly recommend this place for an upscale getaway!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RaRa829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Reading your review was a true pleasure, thank you for your wonderful comments on the resort facilities and grounds. I agree with you, the beds and the entire setting of our rooms makes for the most restful and pleasant sleep! I’ll pass on your comments to the culinary team who will be delighted to learn how much you like our restaurants.
Thank you again RaRa829 for recommending Fairmont Mayakoba to your friends and family. We look forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Fairmont Mayakoba and we enjoyed very much our stay. The resort is huge, the wildlife is fantastic, you can watch the beautiful and unique birds while you have a wonderful breakfast, just watch out! If you don't pay attention, they will steal your food :))))
The beach is beautiful and never crowded, the staff is friendly and attentive. We loved the mexican food!!!! You have to try the speciality of worms and bugs in La Laguna :))))) Yummmmmyyyy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Edi F,
Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Mayakoba and for recommending us on TripAdivsor.
It is lovely to hear that you reconnected with nature while staying with us and that you enjoyed the culinary offerings, particularly the insects as they are a true Mexican delicacy and a dish that I’m sure whenever you think about it will bring back fond memories of your time in Mexico.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcome you back on your next vacations in Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night getaway at the Fairmont Mayakoba and it was fantastic. We traveled with our two children (3.5 and 1 years old). The resort is beautiful, well maintained and totally relaxing. We were looking for a luxurious resort that was kid friendly and it was just that. The staff was one of the highlights. They were not only accommodating, but also incredibly friendly and kind. By the end of the trip they knew our kids names! The property is huge and there are large golf carts that take you around... this could seem worrisome, but it was so great. There was ALWAYS a golf cart ready for us and if we waited it was for less than a couple minutes. Also, the kids loved riding on the carts, it was a major highlight. The pools were beautiful and the lagoons around the property were magical. The beach is lovely as well, the water was a little rough (but the weather was a tad stormy so maybe that was why). We did the all-inclusive meal plan and it was a dream. FAR exceeded our expectations. We live in New York City and have high standards for food and this certainly was on point. The breakfast buffet was incredible. We hope to return. If you want to see pictures from our trip visit our family travel blog, Lady and Prince: http://ladyandprince.com/2013/09/mexico-part-one/
and http://ladyandprince.com/2013/09/mexico-part-2/

Room Tip: We had a fairmont room first, which was really lovely, but we decided to upgrade to a signature casi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marissakrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear marissakrax,
Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Mayakoba on your recent visit to Mexico. Reading your review reminded me of how beautiful the resort is and how many family friendly options we do offer, it even made me want to have five years again to sign up for some Kids Camp fun!
Your comments regarding the service and the food are much appreciated; they have been shared with the management (along with your blog post) as reading that we were successful in turning moments into memories for our guests is a true inspiration to all of us.
We look forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our room on the lagoon was spectacular. We sat on our porch watching the birds for hours. Mayakoba ownership has done a phenomenal job with the ecosystem. The wildlife is fantastic. The nature trails are wonderful. The ecotours are ally helpful. I love the water ferry between resorts. It is a beautiful place to spend a week without all the crowds of the typical Mexico.

We did a cooking class at the Fairmont that was fantastic. Just two of us with our personal chef learning how to make amazing food. Awesome experience.

The only downside is that they don't enforce the 'adult only' pool. This was unfortunate some days. There are lots of kid pools that they should be at.

I would highly recommend the meal package. We got an amazing deal on it!

Room Tip: The lagoon facing rooms were peaceful and a treat to look out and see the wildlife. Hours of entert...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Jacquie S,
Thank you for all your nice compliments. I agree with you in regards to the phenomenal work that has been done to preserve Mayakoba as natural sanctuary for many species, it is a great compliment for all the efforts done by our Sustainability Team which are lead by the hotel’s Ecology Manager therefore your review has been share with them.
Regarding your comment on the adults-only pool, it has been shared with the appropriate department as to preserve its serene ambiance.
We hope to welcome you back at “the Venice of the Caribbean” on your next visit to Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great resort with excellent facilities. Golf course was very interesting.
Food and restaurant on beach excellent atmosphere.
They resort is huge and walking not really an option unless you are going for exercise so you have to wait for shuttles to get around. Rooms were clean and very nice

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracker196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Tracker196,
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Australia and for selecting our resort when in Rivera Maya. We appreciate your comments and thank you for your compliments on the grounds, the facilities and the food.
We hope that if you ever make it back to Mexico you stay with us once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The resort is situated within a manglar which makes it special, it is not as a luxury as other fairmonts as you may expect, but the installations are nice and the food and restaurantes are good quality. If you like quiet resorts, nature and want to rest for some days, I definetely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PEsteban1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear PEsteban1976,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for recommending Fairmont Mayakoba on TripAdvisor.
Offering an experience that allows our guests to reconnect with nature is one of the highlights of the resort and I’m happy to read you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcome you back to Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,113 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,227 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $214 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing