We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay - Good Service - a bit short on dining choices”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Queretaro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - Good Service - a bit short on dining choices”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 6 relaxing days with our 3 young kids at the Fairmont Mayakoba. The service was very good and the rooms where what you would expect for this class of hotel - very nice, spacious and comfortable. The property, which is shared with the Rosewood and the Banyan Tree, is very large and can be explored by bicycle or jogging (if you can stand the heat) through their nature trail. You can also take a one hour tour on their small boats exploring the system of rivers and cenotes that weave throughout the property - something I would highly recommend especially with little ones. The golf course looks challenging and beautifully kept, but I did not get to play since we were with our little ones. The spa also looks to be up to par for this very nice resort. The only criticism I would have is the property is short on dining choices and pools given the size of the resort. By the third day we were growing tired of the 3 only restaurants - 2 of which are the only breakfast options. The Laguna pool is also crowded every day since it has a slide which was a big hit with our kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,921
    592
    182
    96
    54
See reviews for
1,419
1,383
51
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The service of waiters, housekeeping, in room dining, concierge, and spa staff was just marvelous. The rooms are comfortable and big, with a mini fridge and safe. The beach is clean and there was always a spot available in the shade.
Food in all restaurants is almost always good. I loved that they have bikes available to access the beach and different pools.

I recommend it for couples or family trips. It is worth the stay for more than 3 nights, less would just be a shame. Golf club is amazing!
The afternoon courtesy service to the rooms is just delightful, they close the shades, open your bed, dim the lights and tidy up.
I got the mumps while i stayed there and the doctor wasn't so helpful, taking into account that it was $150.00 USD just for visiting. Don't get sick and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear marisalo,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba. Making our guests feel at home is what we strive for, and so, when reading that you “did not want to leave” made me believe that you did get to enjoy the gracious and warm hospitality Fairmont Mayakoba is known for.
Thank you also for the nice compliments about the staff, particularly the waiters, housekeepers, concierge and spa attendants; they have been pass on to all the departments to continue inspiring our colleagues to turn moments into memories for our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back for a couples getaway or for a next family vacation.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this on the plane so will add more.  We just returned from 4 days at the Fairmont Mayakoba in beautiful Riveria Maya.  This was my 3rd time to the area having stayed at the Rosewood property within the complex twice before and my wife's first trip. 

First and foremost I would like to thank the staff at the fairmont mayakoba for making our trip even better with warm hospitality and friendly service.  Specifically I would like to thank Yuki of the concierge
staff and Jorge at las brisas. Two great people!

As many have written in previous reviews the property is quite large but not large enough it couldn't be navigated by foot.  We walked to and from the beach daily from our room (roughly 3/4 of a mile).  They do have electronic carts all over the place eager to take you anywhere you would like to go as well.  They also offer BMW crafted bicycles you can ride as well.
Room -
We stayed in room 114 which was a signature casita.  The room was furnished with a king bed, small sitting area and lavish bathroom with soaking tub and rain shower.   The finishes are well appointed with warm woods and marble floors and vanity.  Another plus was the Samsung smart TV which easily accepted my phone and allowed for a larger work space when reviewing emails etc.  The balcony was huge; at least 15x10 overlooking the lagoon and a waking bridge.  Our room was centered between El Puerto and La Laguna.

Restaurants -

We visited all 4 restaurants on our trip.

Cafe maya - more or less their version of a general store/coffee shop.  They offer a wide variety of goods and standard gift shop items as well as fresh sandwiches and pastry items. One of the best lattes we have ever had.
Las brisas - the restaurant is located right on the ocean and is a quaint lunch spot by day and a fine dining restaurant by night.  all items we tried were great!  for lunch I recommend the grouper sandwich, quesadilla or the club sandwich.  all were very good. We also ate their for dinner one of the nighrs ; my wife had the special which was filet with a red wine demi sauce and scalloped potatoes. I had rack of lamb and fresh green beans.  all and all a great eating spot.
El Puerto - it is their AAA restaurant,  in my opinion the other on property options out weighed our experience here especially for the price.  we each had the filet;  myself with Chipotle aoli which was very watery and my wife with peppercorn which again lacked consistency.  the truffle mac and cheese was simply pasta with a white queso and butter sauce which lacked flavor; the baked potatoes and corn succatash were just middle of the road.  I felt our server could have been more in tune with the menu but it could have been a simple language barrier issue.
La laguna - as others have said this is the breakfast mecca of the resort.  they offer ala carte and a full breakfast buffet.  we opted for the ala carte ; I had the best enchiladas at 7:30 am I have probably ever had in my life.  yes it sounds odd for breakfast but they were amazing.  we ate dinner there last night and opted for the buffet.  great idea ! Fish, steak, pork, antipasta and desserts.  wow! This was one of the better meals while there.  Don't let the buffet through you off, it was amazing!
Pools - there are 5 pools on property.   we only visited 3 - the main pool at la Laguna is geared towards kids and looked like alot of fun for families.  we opted for the adults only infinity pool behind la Laguna which over looks the lagoon.  so peaceful and quiet.  a true hidden gem on the property.   The pool at las brisas over looks the ocean and is very relaxing but got very busy and congested very quickly.

My only qualm is the fact that no one recognized our anniversary
even though I made it known prior to the trip.  no worries though - Yuki came through in a pinch to help out.

All and all a great trip - in fact we are already planning a 2nd one before the year is out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCFWTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear GCFWTX,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Knowing that you have stayed at other Mayakoba properties in the past, it is a very nice compliment to know that you continue to come back to our stretch of paradise in Mexico’s Riviera Maya, and that this time around our attentive staff make you feel at home. I have personally written a special note to Yuki and Jorge to thank you on your behalf for their contributions to make yours, a memorable stay.
Your comment regarding El Puerto comes to a surprise, as it is the hotel’s signature restaurant due to its tantalizing menu, impeccable service and ambiance; therefore your impressions have been share with the culinary team to review accordingly.
As we look forward to welcome you back before the year ends, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to help you plan a wonderful visit to Fairmont Mayakoba.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, TX
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This spot is my go to place to escape and relax. I find that the property offers one of the best off peak values in North America. I've been frequenting The Fairmont Mayakoba for years and spent 10 days on this last visit celebrating our anniversary.

On this trip we particularly enjoyed the spa area and visited every day of the trip. We had the spa completely to ourselves as I think we only saw one guest there during our shoulder season stay.

Although it is a large resort the bikes were a blast to ride around and golf carts are always available. Don't miss the golf course which is quite a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba during the week of July 8, and our experience was outstanding. One of our primary reasons for choosing the Fairmont was because of their ability to accommodate our son’s peanut allergy. I cannot say enough about the support we received from the Fairmont’s executive chef Richard Silvester and his staff. We dined at all the restaurants at the Mayakoba, and at each one, the staff was fully aware of our sons allergy and worked with us to make sure the meals were safe. Additionally, Chef Silvester arranged for special expedition lunches for our son that we took with us for our various day-trips, and these expedition lunches were not you regular “sandwich and chips variety” – think lobster ceviche, Chiabatta with smoked duck breast and sun dried tomato Aioli, and Coconut Sushi with tropical fruits and cherry sauce!

The service at the Mayakoba was excellent. Our two Signature Casitas were roomy and the baths were large with plenty of light. The rooms were serviced each morning, and I only wish I remembered the name of the lady that made-up our rooms – she always did a great job.

So, the Fairmont was not only a great place for us to stay and dine, but the culinary team made it possible for us to safely make the side trips that wanted to take. I highly recommend the Mayakoba and would gladly stay there in the future.

Room Tip: We used two connected Signature Casitas and they offered plenty of room for our family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful place with amazing setup. Staff was very helpfull, the place is very well run and the reception alone is breathtaking. I recommend it for families with kids that don't like "all inclusive" type hotels. The property is huge however there are always golf karts ready to take you around and you can take any of the available bikes to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laisidoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Laisidoro,
As a family friendly hotel, it s a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba and that your toddlers did too.
Thank you for all your compliments. We look forward to welcome you back for another memorable family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, very well run, very good service without the hard sell or overbearing, and very friendly in a polished way. Clientele were probably ~85% wellheeled and fit Mexicans/Latins. This is a safe place, and overall Playa Del Carmen area felt safe as well. Breakfast buffet is very good and extensive. In La Laguna dinner is subtely shifted to a buffet, we ordered off the menu but service a bit slow for this - they hope you order the buffet. For about same price Las Brisas probably the better bet for dinner. Of note dinner in Playa Del Carmen can be pricier than we would have thought. Mentioned on website some restuarants dress is slacks but a nice pair of shorts and polo shirt seems to fit in well - it is the tropics. They stock the room twice a day with bottled water, and also at the lobby if you run the trails, go on an excursion, etc.

For my take if traveling with families this is the best of the 3 connected sister resorts of Fairmont/Rosewood/Banyan. Quite a few families here. Nice atmosphere but not stuffy.

A bit expensive, but the $18 hamburger is the best I have ever had, and can easily feed 2 people (well, not 2 teenage boys).

A large property, many posts on where to get a room, but the shuttle service is so good it really does not matter and the shuttle drive is nice in of itself. Quite a bit of wild life on the propoerty - take the complimentary boat tour around the 3 properties - it's worth it.Mosquitos are out everywhere at dusk and dawn.The signature casitas are nice.

The beach is quite nice but not wide in this general area. Water is not clear near the beach - there is not a reef anywher near offshore - but colors are vibrant. For really nice clear water beachs will have to stay north around Secrets/Maroma or south near Playacar. Not too much problem in getting a beach or pool spot if you get there by 9:00 am.

A very nice place with very good service that is laid back, a nice respectful crowd, and with the specials I think good value.

A cab drive to town is $23 for 1-4 people but also 230 pesos. Get and pay in pesos, exchange is about 12.3 pesos to dollar, so 230 pesos is about $18.50. The Fairmont gives a pretty good exchange rate, and definitely better than anything in town.Pesos also for dinner, etc. - will come out ahead in US $$.

In town always check price conversion, on restaurant they priced outside in dollars, and then inside in pesos. When they quoted exchange rate of say 11.5 the dinner was about 10-12% more expensive in US $$ than quoted on sidewalk menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgurutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear travelgurutx,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. It was a pleasure to read that you feel safe not only on property but in Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya too, as the destination itself enjoys of a peaceful ambiance.
As a family friendly resort we cannot be more grateful to read that you all enjoyed a memorable vacation and that you rated Fairmont the best for family travel within Mayakoba.
Thank you for your compliments on our restaurants, spacious rooms and service, I’ll be sure to pass them on to the management. Along with your comments on the boat tour, we are glad to know you took the ride as it is one of the highlights of the property.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,051 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,671 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,897 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing