We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Exceptional”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #7 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost Exceptional”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our Family stay from 6'20 through 6'27/2013 was "Almost Exceptional".

Exceptional sides of the Fairmont Mayakoba
1. Staff, Staff, Staff, from our greeter, Roger to our house keeper Maria. The Fairmont Mayakoba is a place to be pampered. From every staff member greeting you pleasantly, to the Starter in the El Cameleon GC and Caddies they really know how to make you feel appreciated as a guest. The Fairmont "Bigwigs" should be proud.
2. Spacious room, extremely comfortable beds, beautiful beach front and pool areas, No screaming kids/teens, loud music, nor extra-curricular activities that make your skin crawl, just good old R&R.
3. Clean, beautiful property and what you would expect from a "Classy Hotel".

Almost Exceptional
1. I have learned how to deal with the "Airlines" that nickel and dime you for every little item, but not from a hotel family that is of this caliber. From the $20 a day to access the internet (for each computer), to a $5 a minute phone call to the U.S. or to the $15 a day surcharge per adult. (Why can't they just add this to the cost of the room per night?)
2. Food - Somewhat better than the "all Inclusive" but nothing to write home about.
3. The "Lagoon Rooms" are exactly what is labeled, only they forget to mention that if you are allergic to mold like I am it is not a room for you. (They did move us to a second floor room which is spectacular)
4. Though the Staff was exceptional at many things, being on the same page of what the hotel provides differs from everyone staff member you speak too

Room Tip: All rooms are quite, beware of the rooms facing the "Greenery and wet areas" they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonywan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Tonywan1,

First of all, thank you for your compliments on the gracious service received by the staff and for commenting on the relaxed ambiance that can be enjoyed at the hotel. We pride ourselves on offering an experience of luxury in harmony with nature and so, it is always lovely to read that our guests enjoy an exceptional vacation while staying at Fairmont Mayakoba.
I would also like to thank you for your feedback, as it the comments of our guests that allow us to fine tune our services. I have shared your impressions with the management and will be reviewing it internally. I thank you for trusting us with these improvements and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,779
    565
    172
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,328
1,322
50
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just came back from 6days at the Fairmont Mayakoba w/ my wife and son. Have to say was very very satisfied with this resort. we ordered a van service through the hotel which was fantastic as they greeted us a the airport after not needed to deal with the gauntlet of various taxi companies trying to get our biz. it was a bit pricey (~$100) but we had a private van and didn't have to deal with the hassle of renting a car or getting into another cab, not knowing how safe that would be etc. Was by far the most relaxing environment that the wife and i have experienced in quite a long time. I was a bit concerned about keeping my 9yr old entertained but with all the various pools and one waterside for the kids was enough for him to say after a few days that he didn't want to leave!!! The resort wasn't anywhere near capacity, which was fine with us. the resort will be pretty much at capacity in another few weeks and from what i understand, is packed from dec until march. The one thing that impressed me was the level of attentiveness and service from everyone at the resort. Even the housekeeping and groundskeepers were very friendly and conveyed a vibe that they were very passionate about their work and assisting in whatever way possible. The food at the resort was very good; morning breakfast buffet was also good quality. There are 2 other resorts on the Mayakoba property- Banyan Tree and Rosewood. both of these resorts have a few restaurants that again allow you to not have to leave the resort. there is complimentary car service to and from the other neighboring resort restaurants. We had a fabulous meal at Tamarind but have to admit was more expensive than i would have imagined. Was a very quiet restaurant that gave the vibe as if you were eating at a tranquil spa! Our room was a suite, which we decided to splurge a little and go for. Very spacious and clean. the bathrooms were amazing. both showers had glass walls to the outside to give the feeling of an outdoor shower. our balcony looked out onto the river that runs through the resort which gave the feeling as if you were in the jungle. Very very secluded and quiet feel. The beach was also very nice although a bit small but still spent some time there as well. Overall, even though was one of the more expensive trips we have done, we also thought was well worth it and are looking to plan another trip back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear sam j,

Gracias for sharing with us and TripAdvisor the wonderful experience you had at Fairmont Mayakoba. As a family friendly hotel, the Kids Camp always offer different options for our younger guests, some that can also be very entertaining for adults too, like the frogtasting adventure or the pop-up glamping safari night.

As a luxury hotel in Riviera Maya it is lovely to hear that your experience was a pleasant one and that you are looking to visit us again. We will be delighted to be your host and create lasting memories for you and your family.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation with older children. It was a very relaxed, secluded environment. The property is spread over a wide area but the hotel provides multiple means of transportation – including electric carts (that move silently so as not to disturb guests) bikes, and even boats. The large property makes each room feel very private. The service is friendly, sincere, and unpretentious at a consistently high level. The beach is a little rocky, but very calm. There are many pools spread throughout the property, including two infinity pools – one with an ocean view and the other with a beautiful river/mangrove view. The main pool is decorated nicely, and even though it is a large resort-style pool, carefully positioned gardens and palm trees divide the pool into areas perfect for families to feel more private.

The food is fresh, well prepared, and has lots of vegetarian/vegan options. We also dined at the Banyan Tree next door in the Mayakoba complex and the Thai restaurant “Saffron” was delicious and very authentic, with our table situated over the river. The Fairmont provided transportation complimentary.
We also participated in a private beer tasting one afternoon with Luis. Luis was clearly very dedicated and knowledgeable. He introduced us to many different types of artesian beers, and worked hard to create special food pairings to accommodate our dietary restrictions. This was one of the highlights of our trips and I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves good food and drink.

Our Butler (Sal) was courteous and friendly, and always stopped by multiple times each day to make sure our stay was going well and arrange for anything we needed.
Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brookfieldd1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear brookfieldd1976,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba, and particularly for complimenting the serviced provided by our staff. I have shared them with our team, particularly with Luis and Salvador, as your testimonial is an inspiration to continue turning moments into memories for our guests.

I would also like to thank you for recommending the Craft Mexican Beer Tasting to travelers considering visiting Fairmont Mayakoba, we are the only hotel in Mexico offering such an experience and as you mentioned Luis is very passionate about the subject, making it equally fun and interesting. I will also share your comments to our culinary team who make sure the Lifestyle Cuisine menus offer different vegan options at each of the restaurants.

We hope to welcome you back to our secluded paradise en Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for a conference and found it an excellent venue. Staff were always delightful, pools and beach well maintained, only a small gripe ....the Bambu pool had no waiter service, or any other service, something which could be easily rectified.

If you don't like walking and the resort is large, the golf buggy's pick you up & I rarely waited more than 5 minutes for one, in either direction. The resort was host to a fair sized convention and a fair sized wedding as well as other guests, yet it never felt crowded or full. I particularly liked that there are pools for adults only. The room was clean and well cared for, and the concierge staff, particularly Marco, were super helpful and knowledgeable.

I also like that one could eat at the other restaurants in Mayakoba, and that the hotel provided transport to both the Banyan Tree & the Rosewood, which had a brilliant Asian Fusion restaurant, pricey, but worth it. Book the boat trip (around the resort) as you arrive, as it does get busy & booked up, but is very enjoyable and interesting. All in all it was well picked by the organisers of the conference.

Room Tip: Casita rooms are lovely in mid rain forest or on the river, but not in mosquito season if you are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear 81Val,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba. It is always delightful to read comments of our guests and particularly those who even when staying for business got the time to enjoy the hotel’s facilities and services.
I agree with you, the boat tour is a memorable experience as it gives you a different perspective of the hotel and the green efforts in place; but it is also a unique opportunity to see up close some of the 250 species that live in Mayakoba. As you well point it out, best is to reserve it before your arrival or on the very first day because even when we offer the tour every hour at daylight on a daily basis, it is one of the most requested activities.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. the room was very clean and centrally located. once you get a handle on the property its easy to get around by walking, taking one of the bikes at the bike stands, or catching shuttle. the staff is very accommodating and their English was impeccable. I was in a casita, and the landscaping around it was perfect. the room itself was huge and the bath area was like being outdoors but with complete privacy. Gym was great, although I thought the Spa prices were exhorbitant. meeting facilities were clean, well stocked and very open. beach is a bit small, but the pools more than made up for that. food was very good at all restaurants, and the hotel is about 20 minute cab ride into Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Casitas in the 500 range are close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A gorgeous and breath taking hotel. The staff were so attentive and kind and were at your service 24/7. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever seen in my life, with such an incredible selection of food. The pool area by the beach was lovely and relaxing. Having the luxury of carts to escort you around the stunning grounds made you feel like a vip. My only negative point was that you could not order sushi by the pool as they only had it at the main lobby restaurant. The bedrooms were like paradise with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. I would definitely go back to stay at this hotel. I visited the spa to have my hair put up for a wedding and she was spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Anouska M,
Reading your comment make me smile and remember how lovely is to stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. I will pass on your compliments to the management as it is a testimonial of the attention to detail that all of the hotel’s colleagues have to create a memorable experience for our guests.
I’m also happy to know that you visited the resort for a Wedding, and we hope to welcome you back for another special occasion or a relaxing beach vacation.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this resort at the last minute due to change in travel plans. Exceptional property, good service/friendly staff, nice beach, good food... If you plan to drink/eat at the resort every day consider an all inclusive option, otherwise rent a car and you will have various options in Playa and Puerto Morelos. We will be back.

Room Tip: Casita deluxe units are quite nice, ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,525 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing