We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for vacation, not that great for business”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for vacation, not that great for business”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to be in thos hotel for business purposes, with a group of about 350 people. The hotel has great locations, with a big lagoon where you can have a tour by boat. The swimming pools are very nice as well as the beach.
The meeting rooms are ok, but it seems that the staff is not very experienced in dealing with such big groups. The food was great for individual guests but not for the group.
The spa is very nice, great service there and as a plus it has two small but secluded swimming pools on the roof.
Will go back but not for business

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arielnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear arielnala,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Though we noticed that you really enjoyed the hotel facilities and culinary offering, we feel sorry that we could not meet your expectations as a group client. We sincerely hope that you give us the opportunity to learn more about this matter and see how we can remove that bad impression as to be your hotel of choice either for business or pleasure. Please email me at paulina.feltrin@fairmont.com.
Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,841
    576
    175
    96
    53
See reviews for
1,356
1,354
51
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We live in Mexico an just stayed for a third time in the Mayakoba complex. This time at the Fairmont. We spent a wonderful weekend with great service, very nice value room, fantastic food and fabulous surroundings. After having stayed a numerous hotels at the Mayan riviera, this complex is by far the best in this category and price. The golf course is fantastic, the boat tour early in the morning a must, and the SPA is very reasonably priced for the quality. If you are looking at this level, look no more, the fairmont for a moderate price or rosewood and banyan tree for great luxury. I would not recommend it with children.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the lobby are nice just a little noisy when people walk on heels in the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Hank1962,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba with the readers of TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful time at the resort and was able to enjoy the activities and services offered on property. We agree with you, the bird watching bout tour is a highlight of the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back at Mayakoba.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed the best vacation ever at this Fairmont property. I have been to several '5 star' resorts in Cancun and the Dominican but the Fairmont was the best. With all the residence buildings surrounded by natural flora and fauna, it makes you feel you are living in a special place. The food, staff, drinks (not watered down like some 5 stars) pools and beach are without compare. An additional word about the staff, from housekeeping to dining to pool/beach, everyone was so courteous and caring. If you have a choice of where to vacation this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Richard W,
Thank you for your wonderful compliments about the hotel’s facilities and especially for those related to the staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Fairmont service and the warmth of the Mexican hospitality that is provided by our colleagues.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexoco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice
the down side:
1 the bath tub was full of hairs
2 the restaurant brings the food differently than ordered, after ordering a spinach salad and chicken breast with mole, the waiter brings out a chicken thigh and a salad with no spinach.
3 the beach staff doesn't bring towels, after more than 60 minutes after asking the waiter for a clean set of towels, i gave up and went for the towels and covers myself.
had to walk from the end of the beach to the towel hut and back.

Please check on your kitchen and pool, beach staff.

everything else very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertsafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Albertsafa:

First of all I want to thank you for your feedback. While I was surprised by reading your comment and I wish you had a better experience with us, it is the feedback of our guests that allow us to improve.
We work hard to deliver exceptional guest experience and I apologize that in this case we fell short. Your comments have been shared with the departments involved and actions have been taken to prevent from happening again.

I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back and so, for that I ask you to please contact me in advance at paulina.feltrin@fairmont.com as I would be happy to make your reservation personally and assist in any way possible making sure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

First and foremost the staff is SO friendly and helpful, we did not encounter one person who wasn't happy.

Pro's- amazing staff, willing to upgrade the room if there is availability, beautiful private beach, live relaxing music at night, beautiful, well kept grounds, good food, great options for people with special food needs (gluten, etc..), rooms are beautiful and immaculate, beds super comfortable

Con's - very large resort that you need to either ride a bike or catch a golf cart (which they charge you $15 per person each day as a "resort fee", or else you are walking 20 minutes from the lobby to the ocean

This didn't bother us as we enjoyed the 5 min bike rides and there is always a golf cart coming or going - you don't need to wait long. Overall this resort was great, my advice is to allow yourself the opportunity to eat off of the resort and don't be so quick to choose all inclusive. If you don't drink, you can eat for cheaper than the inclusive option.

Room Tip: It costs extra but if you can swing it DEFINITELY get a casita beach suite if you love the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Jordan P,
Thank you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It was a delight reading that you found all of our staff to be friendly and attentive, as you mentioned all of us are happy making our guests happy.
Indeed, golf carts and bicycles are available to move around the property, but the resort fee also include other entertaining activities such as boat tour through the water canals, sea kayaking and 3 hours daily of complimentary kids camp.
During your next visit, please contact us in advance so that we can help you plan another memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Fairmont Mayakoba was an absolutely wonderful experience! Having worked for the Fairmont for a two years a few years ago, I can honestly say that this property embodies the true spirit of the brand. The staff provide top notch customer service and everybody I encountered was truly engaging and welcoming. I have visited many Fairmont hotels and I can say that the Mayakoba property was the absolute best I have visited so far (although all the others are quite outstanding).

The level of service was absolutely remarkable without being intrusive. The attention to little details and touches made me feel like a truly valued guest. The room was incredible comfortable and I was delighted to have been upgraded to a garden patio room.

The staff truly went above and beyond, whether it was the wonderful golf cart driver, Hugo, who sent a map and customized brochure to my room with his suggestions of restaurants and shops in Playa del Carmen when I expressed a desire to visit the town or to Victor, the fantastic bartender at La Laguna, who remembered my favorite drink each night and chatted me up as a single traveler at the bar to all the wonderful members of the pool staff who brought around sunscreen, water, towels and complementary cold treats that made the stay truly memorable.

Don't miss the breakfast buffet! For $25 it is an absolute bargain for all the treats they lay out. The omelet station alone is worth the price but it is absolutely worth the money (... and I don't say this lightly having worked for hotels)

I hope that you enjoy your stay as much as I did!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I have been guests at the Fairmont at Mayakoba four years in a row. It keeps getting better and better. Everything about this property amazes us. Starting with the service and hospitality of the staff. We were recognized by long term employees when we moved about the grounds – and it made us feel like we were really at a home away from home. Our room was incredible, we enjoyed a beautiful view of the golf course and water ways. The pools are lovely, the spa is spectacular, with lovely and relaxing services and amenities. The bikes which are available are a lot of fun. We love eating breakfast near the main pool – and the consistently delicious buffet is a wonderful way to start the day. Lunch we ate by the ocean – at the lovely restaurant there – which is casual – but upscale and delicious. Again, wonderful service. We always take advantage of the concierge to make reservations at some really nice restaurants in Playa Del Carmen – which is close by – and easy to get back and forth to from the hotel. When we return home, we have the pleasure of looking back at a relaxing, comfortable, luxurious vacation where we were treated like royalty. Thank you to everyone who works there! You make our vacation even more special. We are looking forward to our fifth visit already!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Daryl D:
First of all I want to thank you, on behalf of all the colleagues at Fairmont Mayakoba, for your loyalty and preference. We are thrilled to welcome all of our guests, but we get particularly emotional when we recognize repetitive “friends” and so, we very much look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mexico.
Reading your review was a special reminder of how beautiful the resort is, the way the water ways have made it be fondly called the “Venice of the Caribbean”, the spectacular view of our oceanfront restaurant Las Brisas, the pampering service and amenities of the spa, the fun bicycle rides… it was like by reading your comment I get to experience how an amazing vacation you had with us.
During your next vacation, please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,991 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,641 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,722 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing